We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small winery, fun with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Washington Winery

Little Washington Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone's talking about Little Washington winery Tucked right into the sweet spot of Virginia wine country high on the edge of Shenandoah National Park at little Washington Virginia. It's home of 2 of the top rated wines in Virginia and Dirt Road Wine Tour. Every visit is completely different with the Little Washington Winery portfolio of wines + the most incredible wines you'll never find anywhere, typically sold off right on small farms in Virginia and beyond.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small winery, fun with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went to visit after visiting another nearby winery and were absolutely delighted. Carl Henrickson led us through a tasting of his wines and comparable wines from other lands. He sells both his wines and a good selection of wines from grapes he is not yet growing. The property had lots of butterflies (which he tries to attract with appropriate plantings) and that made it even more fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaydeeHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review of Little Washington Winery. Glad you enjoyed Carl's wines and our Dirt Road wine Tour. It's different every day you know so you'll have to escape the city and come out to our little hideaway to relax to the fall foliage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“And a great time was had by all....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We bought a Groupon for a wine Bootcamp, so we had no idea what to expect, but could not be more pleased by what we experienced.
Vintner/owners Carl and Donna Henrickson clearly love what they do and their enthusiasm is contagious!
We spent 2+ hours tasting wines, learning about food and chocolate pairings, what to look for when buying wine in a store and how to order wine in a restaurant. Lots of information, lots of humor (we loved the "joke team" who came in to warm us up) in a pastoral setting. A great way to spend a summer afternoon - who wouldn't love this?
We plan a return trip for a wine tasting or two or more!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fivenewyorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. The joke team are especially excited to have been named in a 5 star review! Hope you enjoyed trying Carl's wines, Andrew's wines and the Dirt Road Wine tour of the day. Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. Fall foliage is starting to happen here ... plan to escape from the city and come hang out with us for awhile. We're having our foliage/harves/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be peak foliage.

Hope to see you again soon,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem in Virginia wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a delightful place to do a wine tasting. Bring a picnic and buy a bottle of a wine--after talking to the owners or a knowledgable staff person--to accompany your meal that you might never find anywhere else. I attended the 2-hour "boot camp" and learned quite a few neat tricks for buying wines in stores and restaurants. After making two tasting stops enroute and having some small sips of a variety of wines during the "boot camp" session, I was not quite ready to do yet another (7 wines/$7) after that. But I know that I'll go back for one. The setting is tranquil, the people there are friendly and welcomng, the selection of wines from around the world is unique, and it's fun and fantastic education.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CookswithpassionVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the 5 star review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. Oh my, you missed trying Carl's and Andrew's wines .... bring a picnic and come back!! We will put your name in our will call box to save you a free tasting for two. Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. We're having our foliage/harvest/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be the peak foliage weekend.

Hope to see you again then,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great concept winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Most of the wineries in this area are chock full of meh to middling to pretty great wines, made in house from grapes all over the region, by folks that loved wine and wanted to produce it.

The difference here is that the owners knew they may not be successful in trying to compete head to head with all those other wineries, so they thought up a plan to be a little bit different.

We visited Little Washington winery to do a Wine Bootcamp where we learned all about how it is made, what it pairs well with, information about the corks used, and even some really helpful buying guides! The class was taught by the owner and winemaker who was exciting, fun, and supremely knowledgeable. You could not help but buy in to his passion about his product and his industry. His wife also came in to talk to us about chocolate pairing and her patented Girl Scout Cookie pairings! Both were a joy to learn from and chat with.

We then went for a tasting as well and loved that since they do small batch wine production and only have a couple to a few of their own wines available at any time, they offer up wines from other craft wineries from around the world in their selection. Stuff that you won't find just anywhere, but after tasting, will search hard to find again.

A white Merlot? What is a real rosé like, and why should you stop passing them up? What is that whole wine ritual about when you order a bottle at a restaurant?

We learned about all of this and much more! Do not miss this gem of a winery!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice 5 star review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. Hope you enjoyed trying Carl's wines, Andrew's wines and the Dirt Road Wine tour of the day. If you missed George while it was sold out, please come back soon ... it was named the #1 red wine in Virginia and we had a rush on it right after that but it is back and it is better than ever! Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. Fall foliage is starting to happen here ... plan to escape from the city and come hang out with us for awhile. We're having our foliage/harves/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be peak foliage weekend.

Hope to see you again soon,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the drive out to Warrenton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Carl and Donna Hendrikson have created a wonderful little oasis just west of Warrenton. We've been to most of the wineries in NoVA and became club members of a select few, including Little Washington. The owners are personally involved and will be there when you go - Donna did our first tasting and helped to educate our palate in a way that few wineries ever do. They do a combination of both wines they make and wines they find. All are excellent. One of the friendliest and most welcoming of NoVA vineyards. Gorgeous views of the Shenandoah from the porch. Today they offered a special "molecular sandwich pairing" where the ingredients of the sandwich (all über fresh) were supposedly matched on a molecular level with the Sauv Blanc that accompanied it. The sandwich was out of this world, bursting with flavors of fennel, caraway seed, cucumber. A gourmet experience at a budget price. Great value, great wine, great hospitality. We come back again and again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterCheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review of Little Washington Winery. Did you get to try Carl's George while you were here? It was sold out for a minute there right after it got named the #1 red wine in Virginia. I am putting your name in the will call box with free tastings next time you come. Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. Fall foliage is starting to happen here ... plan to escape from the city and come hang out with us for awhile. We're having our foliage/harves/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be peak foliage.

Hope to see you again soon,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Washington Winery also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Little Washington Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing