We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Little Washington
Ranked #3 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Inn, and enjoyed our first trip to this part of Virginia. The welcoming, the gardens, our balcony - well-appointed and relaxing. The staff offers little touches that make the visit special. We ate in the restaurant two nights; one would have been sufficient. We found the restaurant service to be fine, not remarkable. All but one of the many dishes we sampled over the course of our stay were fantastic, both in terms of presentation and taste.

While you're in the area, you may enjoy checking out the nearby towns of Sperryville and Culpepper. Beautiful hikes in Shenandoah National Park are within easy driving distance. We did one to Mary's Rock that was lovely.

We also found the purveyors we met to be friendly and warm. Particular stops worth mentioning are Haley Fine Art in Sperryville, It's About Thyme in Culpepper and Chris Goodine's Designs In Gold and Silver, a few steps down from the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmag234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
When visiting Virginia, you have made it very easy for our future guests to get the most out of the surrounding area, and we’re very grateful for your suggestions. We’re thrilled that your visit to the Inn at Little Washington included so many memorable stops along the way. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our staff and cuisine and we look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    53
    20
    19
    5
See reviews for
34
369
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our overall experience at The Inn was superb. Let's get with the pro's first.
1. Check in and orientation of property given by Jess, who also served as our head waiter, and Neil, the dining room manager was superb. Nice little touches after driving such as having a wonderful cocktail waiting for us, luggage handling, and just being nice and gracious. Before you leave, probably at dinner, but we had the experience at tea, was to get some cheese from the Moo Cow tended by Cameron who is a walking encyclopedia on cheeses and their origins. One might help if you know about the dining experience - on the left side of the menu is the Ala Carte one which has 4 courses, and added ones which enhance the experience. This side is $168++++. The right side is the tasting menu which consists of 12-15 mini courses and is $218++++. Wine is reasonably priced. For everything on the left side, we spent $560.00 (more than the room).
couple of deficiencies
1. If you do not have Sprint, forget your cell phone. It won't work.
2. ONE master switch controls all the lights and ELECTRICAL OUTLETS in your room. Therefore, if you have a CPap, such as I have to use, it won't work until you screw all the light bulbs out of their sockets, and leave the switch on.
3. Our bathroom door would not close (due to moisture expansion in the wood), and the sink drain would slowly drain unless you pulled the drain plug out of the sink, which we did. Reported the door, but not the sink.
Even, after all these thoughts, one ought to do it before you go to never never land.

Room Tip: bring checkbook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We can’t thank you enough for the time you spend on this detailed and thoughtful review. With our very rural Virginia location, you are correct, we have very limited cell service, but we are very happy to help with any transference of calls to your guestroom. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered in your guestroom and we will be sure to have both issues you mentioned taken care of immediately. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the experience from our ‘Cheese Wiz’ and that you shared your appreciation for his knowledge. We look forward to having you join us again at the Inn at Little Washington and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

- Best hotel we've ever visited-- we were treated like royalty
- Staff gracious and welcoming
- Fresh flowers everywhere, decor like out of a fairy tale
- The foods is out of this world (we had tea, dinner and breakfast... Each meal amazed us)
- We were invited to the kitchen to meet Patrick O'Connell -- I couldn't believe he stopped what he was doing to talk to us for approx 5 minutes and let us take our picture with him!!
- They put bottled water for us in our car before we left
- Expect to pay top dollar but it is worth every penny
- I will always treasure my memories of our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Each of your statements have fully captured the essence of what makes the Inn at Little Washington such an exceptional place to stay and we thank you for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay. Knowing that we created lasting memories for you makes us very happy and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the time we pulled up, til the time my boyfriend and I left this property, we were completely pampered. You walk in, get the grand tour of this amazing house, taking in the detail of the restoration as you enjoy a champagne cocktail. We were shown to our room and, like magic, our luggage was waiting for us, our jackets hung neatly in the closet. We were so impressed with this hotel. The staff is top notch, and they really do go above and beyond to make you feel special. Every time we left the room, someone came in and straightened things up, making sure we had fresh water, towels, etc. They have set the bar ridiculously high for service, and unfortunately for other hotels, the Inn at Little Washington is my new standard for service.

Room Tip: Being that this is an old house, we were able to hear every noise. I would recommend a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Your experience perfectly describes just what we want each of our guests to enjoy when they stay at the Inn at Little Washington. From start to finish, a stay at our Inn should leave you feeling extra special and even a bit over indulgent. We are so pleased that you fully enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best hotel in which we ever stayed, including London, Paris, Rome, Florence, Vancouver, etc. The establishment is elegant and sophisticated. The room (Daniel Trotter room) was spacious and very comfortable. Staff was attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are absolutely honored to be considered your favorite place to stay worldwide. The impression that we leave upon our guests is very important to us and we are thrilled to read that our dedicated staff and luxurious accommodations made your stay memorable. It would be our pleasure to have you visit with us again soon and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at TILW and found it a magical experience. The accommodations were five-star and the restaurant ranks as one of our memorable dining experiences of our life ! The rooms are elegant with all the right amenities(thanks for the fresh baked cookies the second day ), and service standards are beyond compare. The restaurant is a blend of the dining room at "The Herbfarm" and the culinary talents of "The French Laundry" . Amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for the "Gary Danko" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Little Washington. We are so pleased to hear that we created wonderful memories for both you and your husband. It is quite an honor to be compared to such illustrious establishments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is a Michelin 2 stars restaurant located in the middle of nowhere. But worth the drive and worth every penny. Everything is impeccable: food, service, decor, atmosphere. Been there twice and each time is memorable. We didn't stay at the inn, but wish we did so we could pair the wine. It's like a once a lifetime experience. Dine here, and you can say 'been there, done that'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It’s an honor to hear that each time you’ve dined with us your expectations have been exceeded. We enjoy making you happy with our cooking and hospitality and are pleased to have you take away fond memories. Please consider staying at the Inn during your next visit. We know you will not be disappointed. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
286 reviews
14.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,242 reviews
8.0 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Property: The Inn at Little Washington
Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Little Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing