We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un inspiring”
Review of El Agave

El Agave
Ranked #19 of 86 Restaurants in Warrenton
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Un inspiring”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Your typical bland Mexican food. I only went again after 3 years hoping something had change but nothing is different. I gave 3 stars because they do have excellent Margaritas.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank vacationgwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Salsa and large portions”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Never had a bad meal or bad service. The pricing is fair, service is fast as long as they have a table available. They do offer their chips and salsa for take out. Great for football Sunday.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Colfax80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived at El Agave about 7:40 p.m. on a Friday, with a fairly long line of people ahead of us. It did not take long to be seated at a table for two (rather cramped). Service was surprisingly quick for such a busy evening. The tortilla chips were fresh and delicious, as was the moderately spicy salsa.
The red mole chicken ranchero was tender, and coated red from the sauce, but the restaurant was quite skimpy with the mole sauce. We would have preferred much more sauce and thus more flavor. The steak fajitas was a tasty dish with green peppers and onions. The beef was somewhat chewy. Our dessert flan had ample caramel sauce. Delicious! The menu is very extensive. We wished we had had the time to carefully look at their menu on their website before coming to the restaurant. The food was good but not excellent. We have sometimes had better Mexican food (with a wider variety of regional fare and more imaginative preparation) here in the U.S. and in Mexico. Beverages were standard. No non-alcoholic Mexican beverages like atole, tamarindo, or horchata were on the menu

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldbrdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Large portions. Lovely wait staff. Very popular on Sundays...families are welcome. Also good place for workday lunch.

FYI if you have hungry teenagers this is a perfect place to eat---they won't leave hungry.

Because it's popular you may have to wait for a table, especially at lunch and on Sundays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast, good, deal”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Lots on the menu
Free chips and salsa
Food is served within 10 minutes, sometimes within 5 minutes.
Dinner for two under $20

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CritterVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing