We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Cellars

Mediterranean Cellars
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Warrenton
Attraction details
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great place to taste/ buy great wine. There is outdoor seating for warmer weather and inside seating for when its chilly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Run Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Mediterranean Cellars for wine tasting. We tasted three whites, one rose, five reds and two dessert wines. Sara took excellent care of us, explaining each wine. We were given some Asiago cheese cubes and crackers to accompany our tasting. Wine prices are $5.00 - $11.50 per glass or $16.00 - $45.00 per bottle. The winery is fairly small with a very nice view, and tables and chairs inside and outside. They have a barrel room for parties. We met the owner who is from Greece. My husband spent a lot of time there when he was in the Navy, so they had a nice time talking about Greece. She took us into the barrel room where we tasted an array of olive oils. They were wonderful. We purchased a bottle of the garlic olive oil for $18.90 and were told if we bring back the empty bottle for refill there would be a $2.00 discount. We didn't picnic there because of the weather, but will return as it would be a lovely place for a picnic. Be sure to pick up The Fauquier Wine Trail brochure and have each winery you visit in Fauquier County stamp it for a chance to win prizes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Time Travel to Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a great surprise. Yes, its small, Yes, the winery is boutique, Yes, the tables are even small to sit at, and Yes, the parking lot is very small too.

However, things in small packages are often the best surprises! So I suggest you stop in. The family that owns this winery is so wonderful and they provided the warmest of hospitality to our group.

We all felt like we were in Tuscany while sitting outside on the bistro tables overlooking their beautiful vineyards.

Thanks for the great experience and lovely wines.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Louis and Kate Papadoupolis' Greek Winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friendly people and great wines. Louis learned wine-making over there and brought his expertise and personality here on a wooded hillside in Northern Virginia.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLouise45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Retsina in America”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great views - Unique Greek wine (Retsina). Their other wines are also very good

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gho4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Mediterranean Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing