We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Diner”

Northside 29 Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 86 Restaurants in Warrenton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is exactly what you would expect from a country-style diner-good food, inexpensive and friendly staff. There's something about Sunday brunch at a diner that's always fantastic. We had a group of about 14 and not a single problem. We showed up without calling ahead or giving them any warning, but were seated and served promptly. I had a hot roast beef sandwich that was served up perfectly. Nothing fancy and no frills, but a perfect diner experience. They were also very attentive about us having two young children in our group and brought out crackers to hold them over until the good came out. I will definitely be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More like 2.5 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This joint is owned and operated by the same family that owns the pizza place next door. If you have ever been disappointed in Spitony's, you can expect the same at Northside, but with table service. The food seems, honestly, to be cooked by the wait staff; consistency is 100-percent non-existent. Even breakfast, eggs and toast for heaven's sake, lacks sparkle or a sense of freshness. That said, it is frequently very busy and I have never had an awful experience; just marginal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aBOGUSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went there for breakfast and was disappointed with the meals we were served. I was expecting an old-time diner experience, and was disappointed. Slow service, food was only "ok".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sokoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catlett, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our family has been visiting the resturant since it was opened & have never been disappointed. Have 4 kids we have tried about everything on the menu & always left , full, happy & felt like we received a great vaule ! A great little gem if you are traveling thru or just in the neighborhood & dont feel like cooking, Let Northside 29 do it for you !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food is not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went to this place for breakfast one weekend and was not impressed with the quality of food. The place was pretty full of locals though, so I guess it just depends on your standards. Coffee was watered down and pancakes nothing special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northside 29 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Northside 29 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing