We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B!”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Warrenton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Black Horse Inn in Warrenton was everything I hoped for and much more. The Inn is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are as well. I was amazed at the history of this place and to be able to see trees that have been around for hundreds of years was such an added bonus. All of the rooms have private baths and everything you could ever want. The Inn-keeper is warm, friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. I cannot wait to go back. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. Serenity is the word of the day (at least for my stay). Yet - you are close enough to many attractions if you care to have a bit more action.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell (and I checked out all the rooms) there is not a bad one to be found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
67
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I were married on New Year's Eve and spent the first few days of our marriage, as well as the New Year at this historic and lovely Inn. We headed there from Washington right after our wedding reception and were absolutely delighted with our stay.
For us, the coziness of the fireplace in our room, winter afternoon walks, the charm of the decor and marvelous breakfasts each morning were sublime. We also enjoyed wine and cheese as well as delicious cookies each afternoon. We were seeking a very quiet, private and absolutely non-corporate atmosphere and The Black Horse Inn provided that in every way. The staff there is so personable and professional as well as welcoming. Foremost however, it may be the most special quality of the Inn is its reflection of the engaging and dynamic personality of the owner Lynn. The entire atmosphere of the place is that remarkable
mix of elegance without pretension and luxury that stems from the most classic traditions of caring for guests in a private home of traditional beauty. The Black Horse Inn is a true Virginia treasure and a privilege to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Black Horse in is a fantastic place, i had stayed there with my aunt for a night a few days before christmas and the house was beautifully decorated for christmas. and the house itself is a shining star deep in the heart of hunt country, you feel like you have stepped back in time apon driving through the main gates and seeing the big white house surrounded by gardens and rolling pastures. this is a terrific place to stay and i would recommend it to anyone interested in historic buidings or horses. the staff was very helpful and the owner lynn was just terrific she came strolling into the house in the morning and gave us a warm greeting in full formal hunt attire! it was like something out of gone with the wind. she was late for a fox hunt, but had made a point to come in and thank us for staying at the the Black Horse and told us if there was anything we needed to give her a call. My aunt and i were so touched by this, its so hard to find good customer service anymore but at the black horse inn they know how to treat you not like a guest but like family and that is something truely special. Keep up the good work Lynn!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaa2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding this weekend and we had the inn for the weekend. The B&B isn't marked as well as it could be, however, it wasn't extremely difficult to find. The Inn itself was very well kept, the grounds were beautiful and they were very accommodating. The reception hall area was quite large and was again beautiful. Each room has a theme, we stayed in the "Garden Room" which was very cute. We would definitely recommend this to our friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livefromthelidodeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Black Horse and attended my niece's wedding there this past weekend, and we took over the Inn. The facility where the wedding reception was held is a short stroll from the Inn itself and is a beautiful venue, with a terrific patio adjoining the main room. The owners and housekeeper could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. I would highly recommend the Black Horse for a family celebration. Thank you for your care and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineScarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I were in desperate need of a weekend away from the city, and found the Black Horse Inn online. I am so glad we chose it! Everything about our stay was wonderful- Pam and Joyce were so welcoming (and cook up some amazing breakfasts!) and our room, the Fox and the Grape suite, was clean, cool and lovely. We chose it because of the privacy afforded by the private entrance (its an english basement suite) but also loved the exposed rock walls and in-room kitchen.

We also did quite a bit of exploring in the surrounding towns and found a great lake nearby with canoe rentals, a fantastic restaurant in historic Warrenton- Claire's at the Depot, and had so much fun at all the local wineries!

I would recommend The Black Horse Inn to anyone who is looking for an escape from city life and a little bit of Southern charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

my wife and i stayed here for our anniversary. we arrived just prior to the check-in time of 4pm and wandered the grounds for a bit before checking in. the check-in process was quite personable. beyond that, all amenities within this incredibly old home function properly, the decor is exactly what you'd expect to find in Virginia's hunt country, and the personnel staffing the place were all quite nice and eager to offer up history lessons on the home's and property's history. candidly, aside from the time we spent sleeping, we were probably only on the property for an additional 2-3 hours, as we spent a good deal of time in the town of warrenton walking/shopping/eating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyholbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
5.0 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#2 of 6 in Warrenton
169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
11.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#2 of 3 in Gainesville
63 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 8393 Meetze Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-4340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for romantic get-away's, weddings, business meetings, and revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will provide just what you need to refresh and revitalize! Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing