We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful and Nice Place to Spend 'at Work'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airlie
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Nice Place to Spend 'at Work'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My work held a conference here. The grounds were beautiful - it was a very relaxing area.

I stayed in the Silo building. At the time, there was a stink bug infestation and despite the best efforts of the staff, I ended up killing about a dozen of them before going to bed (I didn't feel like bothering housekeeping when I had a nice magazine that worked just fine). The bedroom was large and overlooked the pool, while the bathroom was nicely redone. The free WiFi worked great as well. I liked that the building wasn't a typical 'high-rise' hotel with a huge parking lot. There were bicycles available to bike between the Silo building and the main building, although it was not a far walk. The walls weren't extremely thin, but I could still hear some people enjoying watching a football game in another room.

I cut through the English garden at one point and was dismayed that it was full of spider webs and overgrown greenery. It's beautiful to look at, but it seems as though it wasn't very well kept up.

The room we held our conference in had some temperature difficulties - the cold air blew right on me in one corner of the room, but the room was a bit warm on the other side.

The food was good - a decent variety of foods that were all organic and some made from the manor's own garden. I especially liked the honey butter - I could have eaten that for a meal itself.

From what I overheard, the conference was a bit expensive (and they charged something like $100 to add a guest speaker for dinner), but I think the quality was very good.

I enjoyed having our work conference here and think if you're looking for a beautiful spot for a wedding, this should be a place to check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymacb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
61
1
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

First, yes there are bugs in the rooms here. That being said, a notice is posted in every room alerting guests. I also never saw them anywhere except the window and one or two on the air conditioner. I had a second floor room in the Silo house and others in my conference said they didn't see any bugs in their first floor rooms. The downside of the first floor rooms is noise from the pub. Aside from that, the room was great - bed was comfortable, everything was clean, and the shower was fairly small.

Now, on to the good stuff -- what an astounding piece of property. The grounds are impeccably maintained, the buildings and facilities are great, and there are miles of walking trails for guests to use. The smoke house offers conference guests a chance to have a private dinner; otherwise you eat in a large dining hall with buffet-style food. The food is great and there's a wide variety. There's a pub in the Silo House that has darts, pool, crokinole, foosball, and a decent selection of drinks/snacks (popcorn, nuts, mix).

The staff was very helpful when anyone had questions. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volyblmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our work group stayed overnight and had a one day working retreat the next day. The setting is beautiful - peaceful and pastoral - great for walks any time of day. One of the reasons we chose to get away from the office to Airlie was that we had heard about the food - most of which is locally sourced and much actually from the garden grounds. The food did not disappoint and perhaps because we were a small group of 10 and had chosen what time we wanted our meals, we were able to avoid the problem of a previous reviewer of food not being replenished quickly enough. But from the breakfast to desserts, Airlie is worth a visit just to try the food - oh and the peaceful grounds. The rooms are great, simple, but very comfortable and the bathroom sink and vanity was quite nice.

Room Tip: Great for working retreats or relaxing retreats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

You could not ask for a lovelier setting than this facility in rural Virginia. The buildings were all attractive, the conference facilities were exceptional and spacious. Delightful pub. The staff was uniformly excellent; friendly and accomodating. Flaws: the room was comfortably furnished and spacious but had some problems with the temperatures and many of my colleagues reported bugs in their rooms (management warns you about them, kudos for that.) The reason I had to give an average rating was quite frankly the food. It is buffet stayle and unless you go early or are visiting during low occupancy, expect to find items missing and infrequently replenished. The staff tried to keep up with the demand but the kitchen was just not up to it so if you had your eye on a particular dish, you had to visit the buffet several times in the hopes of getting it. And at the cost of the buffet (lunch was $25 I think) you naturally expect more. Quality of food was adequate, it is buffet after all so not cooked to order. But the setting and the staff were exceptional, so if you have an event in this area, Airlie is worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My family and I attended a wedding rehearsal dinner at this location, and it was beautiful. The food was delicious. The setting was great, with manicured gardens and Virginia magnificence all conveniently located to Warrenton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
484 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a great place to ride and hike and a wonderful place to relax. Rooms are a bit Spartan, but the grounds are spectacular. The food is good, but buffet style and thus encourages overeating, but you catwalk it off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My first trip to a conference center, my company picked a wonderful location. I read that the service here was awful in one review last year, but we were pleased - the staff attended to our every need - their IT guy helped solve a last minute problem that came up - and saved the day. Everyone else was helpful and friendly.
My room was comfy, but it was the grounds - away from it ALL - green lawns, lovely trails and trees - the most beautiful countryside!! We biked, and walked and it balanced the time we spent "working" to make it the most restful business trip we have ever taken.
Lastly, the food was unbelievable - we all agreed even if the bikes were not such a pleasure we would need to use them after the delicious meals we were served.
Overall experience was amazing - we recommend Airlie - * * * * * !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novatraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
10.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#2 of 2 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie

Property: Airlie
Address: 6809 Airlie Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-7110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie is a secluded destination for meetings, weddings, and romantic getaways in the Northern Virginia countryside. Located in Warrenton, Airlie is just a 50-minute drive from the center of Washington, D.C. yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of the District. The historic manor house and village of guest rooms are set on 300 acres of verdant Virginia landscape featuring pastoral, lake, and wildlife views. We take pride in our commitment to farm-to-table dining. Airlie's Culinary team sources ingredients from a network of thirty local farms in addition to our own four-acre organic garden. Make a reservation at Garden Bistro and experience a culinary adventure to the best in seasonal flavor. Whether you're here for leisure, business, or a noteworthy occasion - we're glad you landed at Airlie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Airlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Hotel Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing