We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Good Meal (at a price)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claire's at the Depot

Claire's at the Depot
Reserve with OpenTable
Claire's at the Depot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Warrenton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lee Street
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Good Meal (at a price)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A very nice place to eat - open at select times (11:30 - 2:30 for lunch and 5:00-9:00 for dinner) - closed on Monday's. Upscale decor although you don't have to dress upscale. The service was timely and polite. The She Crab soup and Tuna Wontons were great. The steak quesadilla was fantastic while the steak sandwich was one of the best ever. Will definitely go back. Not a cheap place to eat but value is comparable to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nimbus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    93
    24
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast place to go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Recently, I went to Claire's for Sunday breakfast. I had been under the impression that it was a set price menu for brunch. It's not! We had a very nice brunch and only got what we wanted. The monte cristo was good, as we're the mimosas and fresh oj.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazywolf701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“always a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love Claire's, the french dip sandwich for lunch makes my mouth water, the wife enjoys the burger and we always split the beet and goat cheese salad. Pricey for the kids, but for a great lunch or dinner I would not hesitate to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mzap444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been here multiple times with my wife and friends and always come away with an extremely full stomach as I enjoy the food very much. Staff in general are very friendly and helpful. It can be a bit loud if you are seated near the bar area and occasionally the food comes across as a bit over salted, but no other complaints! I would recommend trying them out and definitely make reservations on Friday / Saturday.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The restaurant in Warrenton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I live near Warrenton. This is the place I take all my out-of-town visitors and where all my local friends and I meet on special occasions. The food it out of this world, perfectly served in a delightfully warm, beautifully restored local landmark -- a pre-Civil War train depot. Try Claire's justifiably famous she-crab soup. It's so thick, you could eat it with a fork, and it really is yummy. Everything at Claire's is tasty and thoughtfully prepared for people with a range of dining preferences. Even skinny *itches who go to restaurants just to be seen and smell their salads will find something to love (and perhaps actually eat) on the menu. But really now, come hungry and be prepared to indulge yourself. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claire's at the Depot also viewed

 

Been to Claire's at the Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing