We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Emergency Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
FAYETTEVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Emergency Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had to make an emergency trip because my daughter was rushed for emergency c-section. The lady at check in was so sweet and kind. That same night of the check in, there was an issue with the baby and they were having to transfer to another hospital 70 miles away. I was checked out quickly and credited immediately for the day I had booked but wasn't able to use. Thanks for the understanding. My only lower mark is because the hotel is dated and in need of some updates to be a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank LYDIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    36
    44
    55
See reviews for
54
26
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JULIAN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It was the closest hotel to my job site. It had a bed and a shower and a toilet. The carpet was stained with some unknown fluid. The security latch on the door was broken off. The showerhead dripped all night long. The TV was on it's last legs in both picture quality and sound as well as an unresponsive remote. There were people LIVING out of these rooms, replete with cheap charcoal grills perched upon stacked cinderblocks outside their 1st floor "apartments." Several denizens sat in their rooms with the doors blocked open, staring into hallway at passersby. The interior hallway was not locked in any fashion, anybody could gain entrance to the hotel. And there was no elevator and no handicapped ramps at all.
The terminology of yesteryear would describe this place as a "flop house."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank KEVIN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warrenton hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Did not like location!!!! A complimentary breakfast would have been nice!!!! It would have been nice to have a map for the areas surrounding as to what was in the area for eating or shopping!!!!!! A map to the area would be great and more lighting on the outside also a lock on the entering and exiting would be great as to be able to use your room key!!!! There was police activity in the back parking lot which made us feel unsafe!!!! If there was a complimentary breakfast we were not told about it ! Only a coffee pot in the room ! We would check out others hotels or motels in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I came to Warrenton on business and booked Howard Johnson thinking a name brand hotel would be good. Wrong!! The staff was friendly but the building and hallway leading to the room was dirty and smelled musty. Then I got to the room; the first that I noticed was it stank too. The room looked very old/outdated. The room was very dirty and I felt dirty just staying in it. The locks on the door seemed weak and didnt seem safe. I was not comfortable leaving my personal belongings behind. The side door was standing wide open leaving it accessible to anyone off the street. Some of the rooms that have doors to the outside; have furniture, rubbish and BBQs outside the rooms, it seemed that there are people living there which made me uncomfortable. What kind of people live at a hotel. The breakfast was way below par, weak coffee and donuts, thats it. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone. I looked for another hotel the very next morning. I couldn't stay there for the rest of my stay, no way! Horrible

Room Tip: Hampton inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

clean room, friendly service, great price. had a smoking room - not by choice but wasn't too bad. Mattress a little lumpy. Rooms could stand updating but for the price and the location it was good, no complaints. And Rae at the front desk was wonderful, very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If I wasn't so tired would have never stayed here. Hallways smell like a leaky roof and cigarettes. Looks like it should be a no name brand hotel that charges $40 a night. Front desk check in was very slow and usually eith expedia im already checked in. I kept my sandals on at all times carpets just looks dirty. Would never come back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

this place has a disgusting smell. No wireless.Front desk was incompetent. AC is noisy and blows right on to yout be. Bad parking. Not a nice place to stay. advertise wireless, could not get signal, front desk said too manhy people using...five in the afternoon, useless excuse, not true.

Room Tip: Do not stay, if you must avoid the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwdbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
15.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Manassas
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton
Address: 6 Broadview Avenue, Warrenton, VA 20186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing