We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Definitely recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

In town for work. Stayed 3 nights in the Virginia room. The property has several houses. I was in the one across from the restaurant while some of my companions were a few doors down. All of the rooms were warm and inviting. Breakfast is brought to your room at your request in a basket. Home made breads, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. with a different menu each day. The Inn had all of the ammenities of a large chain with the feel of a B&B. The staff is very friendly. If you're ever in the area, I definitely recommend staying at the Inn at Gristmill Square.

Room Tip: The Virginia room has a high bed with steps to get into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    45
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
117
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for three nights. We weren't too sure what to expect as we had booked purely for location and were very pleasantly surprised at what we found. We stayed in The Quilt Room (in Steele House) over the road from the main hotel reception/restaurant but this was never an issue. We loved the fact that we could have breakfast in our room, especially as The Quilt Room has a large separate lounge. Breakfast was always plentiful - we ended up taking a bun with us to eat whilst we were out! The food in the restaurant was very good, however after staying for three nights we may have exhausted the menu. Especially loved the salad course which was delivered before the main course - I've never seen salad served in such a pretty way before. We weren't the only ones considering the number of people taking photos of their salad before eating it! Liked the wine cellar idea, and loved the cosy little bar which if I recall correctly sits about eight people. Great selection of beers! There are some good hikes in the area and we saw some beautiful countryside and we certainly enjoyed returning to the Inn each evening.

Room Tip: The Quilt Room has a separate lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner upstairs in the Trophy Room, and thank you for your understanding. We appreciate you noting your experience with the local vet for pet boarding. It is a great service they provide, at such an affordable rate. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chose this location because of its close proximity to the Jefferson Pools and the restaurant menu listed on their website. I have never been more impressed with a location, treatment by staff for our nightly accommodations or a restaurant.
The night we had dinner there the main dining room was reserved by a private party but we were served in an upstairs dining room for in-house guests. THE DUCK IS AMAZING! Choosing your own wine bottle from the cellar is great. Our room had a private patio which we made use of with a couple of cocktails. Also, the "courtyard" on the property has several cozy spots to do the same throughout.
Breakfast was a mere phone call away and shortly after a big basket was delivered to our door. It had wonderful treats and homemade savory pastries. It was a wonderful compliment to our stay.
We were traveling with our dog who we boarded at the vet down the road, as their website suggested. Even that was fantastic, especially priced at $15/ day for an early drop and early pick up.

Fantastic accommodations, service, food and staff!
(GPS on phone spotty but free, easily-accessible WIFI throughout property)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webeckop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exquisite experience on the whole. Thoroughly professional service, delicious and well presented food, and a rustic, extremely well stocked wine cellar in which you make your own choice of wine and bring the bottle back to the table. How neat can that be?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope that you will give our inn a try sometime. We think you'll find it is a great compliment to the entire Bath County experience. Thank you for visiting the area. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Gristmill over the Labor Day 2013 weekend and we were absolutely impressed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our continental breakfast was brought to our room each morning with coffee and it was delicious each time. They even made changes to what they brought us based on my wife's food allergies with zero grief. We ate dinner twice at their onsite restaurant and it was some of the best food we've ever had. We also had brunch and it was fantastic....possibly the best omlette ever! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu and you'll pay less than at the Homestead. Our room was clean and well decorated and exactly what you'd want in bed and breakfast. Don't waste your money at the overpriced, overrated Homestead.....you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Singapore room. Keep in mind that this room is ground level and next to a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z1lawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We love the Singapore room too. It was one of the first to be redecorated. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on July 19 while passing through to Chesapeake. My wife and I stayed in the virginia room and my daughter and family were in the board room. We loved every minute of our stay. The rooms were just as I expected fo the age of the buildings but were very well kept. We arrived too late for dinner but found Cuccis Pizzeria just down the road. Breakfast was a true treat. The scones were the best we have had anywhere! Sitting on the upper porch at the Steele house enjoying what had to be fresh squeezed orange juice made us wish we were staying a little longer. I've read some of the past reviews and it seems the new owners are making every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would highly recommend the Inn at Gristmill Square to anyone. Just make plans to stay more than one night!

Room Tip: For families with kids I would recommend the board room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know how we are doing. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gristmill for three nights in July. On balance, we were very pleased with our stay. The Gristmill is a cross between a B&B and small boutique hotel. I describe it as "eclectic" because the properly is a collection of connected buildings, the main portion of which is a "U" shaped area anchored by a turn of the (20th) century gristmill. As one would expect, the buildings that comprise the property are older with all the good things (character) and bad things (window air conditioner, odd smell in our room) that come with age. Still, we were quite comfortable.

A Principle draw for the Gristmill comes from its location (lovely spot in Warm Springs), and the relaxing (read a book), cultural (Garth Newel Music Festival) and recreational (hiking, etc.) activities available in the area. The second draw from the Gristmill is the quality of its restaurant. Simply, GM restaurant is exceptionally good. Indeed, some dishes (for me, the French Onion Soup) are among the best I have ever enjoyed. The wine cellar invites one to linger to the point of missing courses as these are served. The restaurant's very small bar is quite friendly and provided the opportunity to chat with a couple of locals who offered great suggestions on area "see and do".

Recognizing the GM is a bit eclectic and a bit old (both characteristics in good and bad ways), I highly recommend the properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hook'emMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
21.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Property: Inn at Gristmill Square
Address: 124 Old Mill Rd, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing