We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Gristmill Square
Nearby Hotels
The Inn At Warm Springs(Warm Springs)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$290
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robert E Lee Hotel(Lexington)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
153
56
14
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
56
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterwheel restaurantbreakfast in bedyogurthot springshardware storejefferson poolsbasket of goodiesloft roomgrist millmiller houseeach morningtroutwater wheelbabbling brookworking fireplacemason jarbarley room
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 232 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn many times and just returned. This time we stayed up the road, however we enjoyed the BEST meal of our visit at the Gristmill. TERRIFIC food and even better service. Prices about 25% less than Homestead for much better food and service. Well cared for property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindacrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us and making us a regular stop during your visits to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Tower Apartment with another couple for 3 nights. It was very spacious, clean and well maintained. The breakfast each morning was delightful. We ate in the courtyard or on our private balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were driving to the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament each day so did not enjoy the restaurant except for delicious desserts one evening. We would highly recommend The Inn at Gristmill Square to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We called the Inn a few days before we were coming to Warm Springs, and luckily were able to get the last available room. I was a little concerned as it was the 'last room', however it was wonderful (and really reasonably priced). We stayed one night in the Wheat Room. Our friends had the Barley Room. They were identical, except the Barley has a little porch, which was a wonderful spot for our morning coffee and breakfast. The service could not have been better. April checked us in and could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. The Inn was the town square and each building was once a business: Hardware store, Miller, Blacksmith, etc. There are cute little seating areas around every corner. The pool is small, but quiet, attractive and adequate. The morning breakfast is really a wonderful touch. We called at 6:45 and our basket arrived by 7. Tiny quiches, a fresh made donut, fruit, juice and coffee. We had a lovely, quick breakfast on the front porch of the Barley Room. I will most definitely return to the charming hotel and will highly recommend to anyone. Don't miss the fabulous restaurant!!!

Room Tip: You can look at the rooms online. Next time we will book earlier and try for a room with a king size bed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Neslted in the gorgeous countryside, the Inn at Gristmill Square is a truly remarkable place. Very large a spacious rooms, with classic charm, and well-picked decor that fits with the theme. It is nearly impossible not to find complete relaxation while staying in this special place. The dining room absolutely exceeds expectations. Being welcomed at the door by the innkeepers who ensure that every detail is looked after. The food, in a word, delicious. Elegantly prepared, and very reasonably priced. Take a trip down to the wine cellar to pick out a perfect pairing to your meal. Stop in at the quaint little pub for a cozy after dinner drink. Then wake up to a country breakfast basket brought right to your room. We can't wait to return. It is truly worth the trip.

Room Tip: Just relax and put yourself in the hands of the very capable innkeepers!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just finished a 6 night stay at the Inn, and am totally refreshed. My main reason for coming here was the Jefferson Pools, less than a mile away, but there is so much more to see and do in this area. Douthat State park offers hiking and swimming, see the alpaca at the Diamond Triple C Ranch and shop in their Echo Fiber store, or just relax by the pool. The Waterwheel Restaurant was outstanding, and if you enjoy a glass of wine, go to their wine cellar and pick out your own bottle! I also thoroughly enjoyed having my breakfast brought to my room in a basket. Each day the breakfast was different, sometimes yogurt and granola with fresh fruit along with a scone, and other times, a warm breakfast sandwich, and a bowl of cut up fruit. It was always great. If you don't want to eat breakfast in your room, there are plenty of places to sit outside and enjoy the meal.
I hope to come back again soon with my husband. Thanks John and Kate for an extremely relaxing vacation.

Joan Markey

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to review our inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of the surroundings as much as we do. It's nice to hear that to took advantage of getting out and seeing the area. We hope to see you again sometime. Best, John and Kate Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews