We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around, much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Second time around, much better!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on a cold evening in January 2012 and had a wonderful time! We had stayed here several years ago, and encountered some issues, however, I believe the Inn is under new ownership and we've seen marked improvements in cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We rented a room in the Miller House and everything was spotless. The bathroom was huge and we had the place to ourselves. The bed was comfortable and everything was very peaceful and quiet during the night. We had dinner at the Waterwheel restaurant and had a lovely meal by candlelight. The food was so good that we decided to have brunch in the restaurant the next morning (brunch is only served on Sundays), otherwise, a basket of goodies will be delivered to your room in the mornings, along with coffee and juice. We hope to return in the summer so we can sit by the pool and enjoy the place during the warmer months.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are pleased to know that you didn't encounter any of the issues you did on your previous stay. It will be nice to have you back in the warmer months. Spring and summer are both wonderful seasons to visit the inn, and the pool is definitely a nice summer amenity. If we can assist you with a future stay please let us know. Kind Regards, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    53
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
133
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A group of old friends, including me, met for a long cold winter weekend in Bath County at the Gristmil. We had an entire house on the property to ourselves, the Steele House, complete with living room, fireplaces, and beautiful bedrooms. It felt very much like being at home which made the Inn experience so nice. We had amazing dinners in the candlelit restuarant, complete with a true wine cellar. Breakfast served to the rooms in baskets in the morning. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: every room is unique and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent girlfriend's getaway. Having the entire Steele House to yourselves was perfect and gave you the space to spread out, yet gather together comfortably. It seemed like you all had a perfect weekend. We hope that you will consider visiting the inn again sometime. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After staying at the Homestead for a few days we needed to stay an extra night to avoid a snowstorm. Luckily there was room at the Inn. :) We stayed there with our two children in the two bedroom apartment. It was incredibly spacious and so comfortable. We loved the fact that the wood was already placed in the fireplace and just needed to be lit for a cozy fire. The heated floors in the living room were awesome on a cold morning. We had already been to the restaurant earlier in the week so knew we'd get fantastic service and great food. He and I walked over while the kids were finishing up a movie in the room. We had some wine and appetizers and were joined by the kids right when the main courses arrived. So perfect. We were impressed by the food, service, and prices. We loved the delivered breakfast - plenty of food, very tasty, and so quaint! Our room was a bit musty when we first arrived and yes, the decor needs updating but for the price, space, location, and homeyness, we can easily overlook those details. If we go back to Hot Springs for skiing, fishing, or other outdoor experiences, it's likely we'll be back to the Inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iushad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad that you opted to stay another night in the area and chose our inn. It was nice to meet you and your family. We are glad you enjoyed the Tower Apt even though some of the furnishings are a bit out of date. We upgraded the living room furniture recently, but still need to tackle the beds and dressers in the two bedrooms. At least everything is comfortable, even if the furniture is vintage. We hope that you and your family will return to the inn one day. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The inn is a collection of historic buildings around a mill with water wheel over a warm water creek. The restaurant and bar have great atmosphere and good food. We rented 3 of 4 bedrooms in one old house...very homey. The pool behind it was kept warm. It's in a beautiful area for motorcycle ride.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
MissAgain, thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. You must have visited us over the summer when the pool was open. We are glad to hear that your group had a nice time in the Steele House. Both and Steele and Miller Houses are great for groups who want their rooms clustered together. We hope that if you are in the area again you stop by and see us. Happy Holidays, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Inn at Gristmill Square has a decent restaurant and very lively bar, populated nightly by locals who truly enjoy more than a wee dram. The bar and restaurant alone are sufficient to keep the place jumping. There is, however, a disconnect between the restaurant and bar and the traveler's experience in the expensive rooms. I had a room that was about $149 per night that did not have heat. they didn't tell me that, they just placed me there. hey had placed an electric heater in the room and despite the snow on the ground, I thought it was a little cool. Plus, I could hear the conversations and phone conversations on the phone in the lobby. Sound is a major issue here. Also, since they promote a breakfast served in a basket was appealing, I assumed it would arrive at my door in the morning. It did not. I inquired about it and after going to the kitchen myself, the basket was finally delivered to the lobby of the house where I stayed. I ate it in the lobby. Bath County is gorgeous. However, the Inn at Gristmill Square is overpriced and underserved by the staff and owners. It is a tavern, serving drinks to the locals......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgarBralley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the inn. We are seriously concerned by your review and want to make sure we rectify the issues that you had. We are unable to determine where you were staying, but assume it was either in the Steele or Miller house (although those rooms only range from $110-$125 per night). Both have central heat and tend to be on the hot side for most guests. We have added electric heaters to guest rooms upon request and are always happy to adjust the heat up for down for any guest that requests we do so. Since everyone has such different temperature tolerances it can sometimes be hard to make everyone comfortable, but we do our best by adjust thermostats, adding personal heaters, and even leaving A/C units in rooms for those folks that get too hot.

As for the breakfast, it doesn't sit at your doorstep in the morning since the items in the basket would get cold. Instead we bring it to you when you request it, either by phone or stopping by the office or kitchen as some guests do. Most call when it's convenient for them. We are sorry if that wasn't clearly communicated to you at check-in, or from the literature in your guest room.

Lastly, we want to address the sound issues you experienced. Sound can be an issue if there is a particularly loud guest staying in the vicinity of your room. Both the Steele and Miller houses were built in the late 1800s and therefore are much like staying in your own home where noise from other rooms is unavoidable. We are sorry if your stay was negatively impacted by the voices of others. That is not something that guests complain about, so we think in general most guests are not so loud that it bothers another guest's stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the Simon Kenton Pub and hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever traveling though this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful restaurant but the room was sadly lacking in so many ways. The sheets and blankets should have been donated to Goodwill. There were holes in the sheets and the comforter was ancient. The mattress was sagging in the middle and very uncomfortable. The stuffing was coming of of a hole in the accent pillows. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was exactly the same two mornings in a row. It would have been nice not to have the same scone twice. All in all, we were very disappointed in the service and the room and certainly will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Ruby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
FarmerRuby, thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and write an honest review of your stay. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make the necessary changes and improve the stay of our future guests. We were deeply disappointed to learn that your room was not up to par, and even more disappointed to not learn which room you were in. We hope that you will respond to our private message requesting your room name so we can rectify the issues immediately. We will note that all the bedspreads were bought and replaced within the last year. We constantly review our linen inventory and replace old, tattered, worn, etc., linen with new as soon as we become aware of an issue. Additionally, throw pillows are easy to replace, and we will make sure to do so once we find the pillows you speak of.

We are constantly trying to improve our property and have made great strides since purchasing this wonderful inn in 2011. We can't stress enough how much we hope to learn the name of your room so we can address the issues you experienced and make it right for all future guests. We know that you indicated your position to never return, but should you change your mind please contact us as we will happily compliment another stay in hopes of changing your mind about our inn. Happy holidays to you and your family. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster, md
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife took me the the Inn for the first night of a birthday weekend on Saturday, 11/3/12. We stayed in the Silo Room, which is round, and it was superb. We also had dinner at the Water Wheel Restaurant, which is part of the Inn complex and it to was superb. Why go to the Homestead when this great place is a few miles away. Total winner.

Room Tip: Silo was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainLar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
54 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
187 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Property: Inn at Gristmill Square
Address: 118 Old Germantown Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing