We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful winter get away could not be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A group of old friends, including me, met for a long cold winter weekend in Bath County at the Gristmil. We had an entire house on the property to ourselves, the Steele House, complete with living room, fireplaces, and beautiful bedrooms. It felt very much like being at home which made the Inn experience so nice. We had amazing dinners in the candlelit restuarant, complete with a true wine cellar. Breakfast served to the rooms in baskets in the morning. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: every room is unique and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent girlfriend's getaway. Having the entire Steele House to yourselves was perfect and gave you the space to spread out, yet gather together comfortably. It seemed like you all had a perfect weekend. We hope that you will consider visiting the inn again sometime. Best, Kate and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

After staying at the Homestead for a few days we needed to stay an extra night to avoid a snowstorm. Luckily there was room at the Inn. :) We stayed there with our two children in the two bedroom apartment. It was incredibly spacious and so comfortable. We loved the fact that the wood was already placed in the fireplace and just needed to be lit for a cozy fire. The heated floors in the living room were awesome on a cold morning. We had already been to the restaurant earlier in the week so knew we'd get fantastic service and great food. He and I walked over while the kids were finishing up a movie in the room. We had some wine and appetizers and were joined by the kids right when the main courses arrived. So perfect. We were impressed by the food, service, and prices. We loved the delivered breakfast - plenty of food, very tasty, and so quaint! Our room was a bit musty when we first arrived and yes, the decor needs updating but for the price, space, location, and homeyness, we can easily overlook those details. If we go back to Hot Springs for skiing, fishing, or other outdoor experiences, it's likely we'll be back to the Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iushad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are so glad that you opted to stay another night in the area and chose our inn. It was nice to meet you and your family. We are glad you enjoyed the Tower Apt even though some of the furnishings are a bit out of date. We upgraded the living room furniture recently, but still need to tackle the beds and dressers in the two bedrooms. At least everything is comfortable, even if the furniture is vintage. We hope that you and your family will return to the inn one day. Best, Kate and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The inn is a collection of historic buildings around a mill with water wheel over a warm water creek. The restaurant and bar have great atmosphere and good food. We rented 3 of 4 bedrooms in one old house...very homey. The pool behind it was kept warm. It's in a beautiful area for motorcycle ride.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

MissAgain, thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. You must have visited us over the summer when the pool was open. We are glad to hear that your group had a nice time in the Steele House. Both and Steele and Miller Houses are great for groups who want their rooms clustered together. We hope that if you are in the area again you stop by and see us. Happy Holidays, Kate and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Inn at Gristmill Square has a decent restaurant and very lively bar, populated nightly by locals who truly enjoy more than a wee dram. The bar and restaurant alone are sufficient to keep the place jumping. There is, however, a disconnect between the restaurant and bar and the traveler's experience in the expensive rooms. I had a room that was about $149 per night that did not have heat. they didn't tell me that, they just placed me there. hey had placed an electric heater in the room and despite the snow on the ground, I thought it was a little cool. Plus, I could hear the conversations and phone conversations on the phone in the lobby. Sound is a major issue here. Also, since they promote a breakfast served in a basket was appealing, I assumed it would arrive at my door in the morning. It did not. I inquired about it and after going to the kitchen myself, the basket was finally delivered to the lobby of the house where I stayed. I ate it in the lobby. Bath County is gorgeous. However, the Inn at Gristmill Square is overpriced and underserved by the staff and owners. It is a tavern, serving drinks to the locals......

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgarBralley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the inn. We are seriously concerned by your review and want to make sure we rectify the issues that you had. We are unable to determine where you were staying, but assume it was either in the Steele or Miller house (although those rooms only range from $110-$125 per night). Both have central heat and tend to be on the hot side for most guests. We have added electric heaters to guest rooms upon request and are always happy to adjust the heat up for down for any guest that requests we do so. Since everyone has such different temperature tolerances it can sometimes be hard to make everyone comfortable, but we do our best by adjust thermostats, adding personal heaters, and even leaving A/C units in rooms for those folks that get too hot.

As for the breakfast, it doesn't sit at your doorstep in the morning since the items in the basket would get cold. Instead we bring it to you when you request it, either by phone or stopping by the office or kitchen as some guests do. Most call when it's convenient for them. We are sorry if that wasn't clearly communicated to you at check-in, or from the literature in your guest room.

Lastly, we want to address the sound issues you experienced. Sound can be an issue if there is a particularly loud guest staying in the vicinity of your room. Both the Steele and Miller houses were built in the late 1800s and therefore are much like staying in your own home where noise from other rooms is unavoidable. We are sorry if your stay was negatively impacted by the voices of others. That is not something that guests complain about, so we think in general most guests are not so loud that it bothers another guest's stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the Simon Kenton Pub and hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever traveling though this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful restaurant but the room was sadly lacking in so many ways. The sheets and blankets should have been donated to Goodwill. There were holes in the sheets and the comforter was ancient. The mattress was sagging in the middle and very uncomfortable. The stuffing was coming of of a hole in the accent pillows. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was exactly the same two mornings in a row. It would have been nice not to have the same scone twice. All in all, we were very disappointed in the service and the room and certainly will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9Ruby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

FarmerRuby, thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and write an honest review of your stay. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make the necessary changes and improve the stay of our future guests. We were deeply disappointed to learn that your room was not up to par, and even more disappointed to not learn which room you were in. We hope that you will respond to our private message requesting your room name so we can rectify the issues immediately. We will note that all the bedspreads were bought and replaced within the last year. We constantly review our linen inventory and replace old, tattered, worn, etc., linen with new as soon as we become aware of an issue. Additionally, throw pillows are easy to replace, and we will make sure to do so once we find the pillows you speak of.

We are constantly trying to improve our property and have made great strides since purchasing this wonderful inn in 2011. We can't stress enough how much we hope to learn the name of your room so we can address the issues you experienced and make it right for all future guests. We know that you indicated your position to never return, but should you change your mind please contact us as we will happily compliment another stay in hopes of changing your mind about our inn. Happy holidays to you and your family. Best, John and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife took me the the Inn for the first night of a birthday weekend on Saturday, 11/3/12. We stayed in the Silo Room, which is round, and it was superb. We also had dinner at the Water Wheel Restaurant, which is part of the Inn complex and it to was superb. Why go to the Homestead when this great place is a few miles away. Total winner.

Room Tip: Silo was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainLar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn at Grist Mill several times. This time my husband and I made a pact not to leave our room. We really needed a chance to relax. We love the Dinwiddie room. It has a lovely fireplace which we used the entire time and a large soaking tub. The bed is huge and so warm and comfy! The only hitch was dinner. The website and brochure does not mention room service so we weren't sure what we were going to do. At 5pm my husband went over to the restaurant and they were so amazingly accommodating and agreed to deliver to us!!! It made our night and honestly our stay.

Of course breakfast is lovely. I can't add anything to what anyone has already said. It's yummy and the perfect amount and lite. And you can eat it in bed! We never left our room and that was our goal! Our trip was everything we wanted it to be. The Inn is a lovely place. The food is "top chef " in a tiny town. The hosts are graciously accommodating. And the rooms and very well appointed!

Needless to say we will be back!
Lacy and Jason

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacy1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Lacy and Jason, thank you so much for your recent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed room service. As we don't have a formal or traditional way of doing room service it isn't something we advertise, but we are more than happy to accommodate those requests we we get them. We look forward to having you back during your next visit to the area. Best, John and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
24 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
57 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 118 Old Germantown Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range: $130 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing