We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Gristmill Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
151
56
13
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
56
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterwheel restaurantbreakfast in bedyogurthot springshardware storejefferson poolsbasket of goodiesloft roomgrist millmiller houseeach morningtroutwater wheelvirginia roombabbling brookworking fireplacemason jar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 229 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this based on the online reviews and am delighted to say we were not disappointed. Travelling as a couple with 2 friends we found they have a Tower Apt with a double and a twin which was perfect and meant we could socialise together in the lounge as well as the onsite restaurant/bar. Upon arrival we checked in at the restaurant and were shown to our apartment by the owner (who was very hands on through out our stay) who showed us the Tower's facilities and then headed back to the Waterwheel Restaurant for dinner. It's lovely inside, very romantic setting, candles on the tables, beautifully laid tables and good service. The steak was cooked exactly to our requests and the desserts were yummy. There is a great wine choice and a cellar you take a look in. There is small bar area - The Simon Kenton pub with additional seatig outside in the courtyard. You can also take your drinks back to your rooms. The food is quite expensive and you would need to consider this if staying multiple nights but the apartment had a fridge and microwave and toaster and we ate there the second night after a few drinks in the bar. the grounds are very well looked after with a lovely courtyard. The tennis court and swimming are just over the road from the main house as are some of the accommodations.
The Tower Apartment itself, aside from the 2 bedrooms had 2 bathrooms (1 with shower), the lounge and kitchen, with access to the outside balcony. The bedrooms have a very comfy country look with soft chairs and pillows and nice decor. The bedrooms and lounge had ac units. The property is navigable for people with disabilities.
The Jefferson pools are just a handful of minutes away and so is Hot Springs, where it seemed everyone knew this property and it's lovely owners.
Would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nestled in a scenic and historic area of Virginia, providing you with many opportunities of adventure. We reservered a room (Bromley Room) for a getaway to a part of Virginia, we had never adventured to before. Our mini vacation was graced by rain and storms creating a muggy atmosphere for our adventure. No worries, the trip was filled with great memories, and the Gristmill Square Inn was a great find. Our room was a large King suite with a fireplace and a small balcony overlooking a view of the street and the Miller's House. Just across from our room, the Waterwheel Restaurant & Pub proved to be another pleasant part of our getaway. The pool, tennis courts, and a spa grace the property for your relaxation. Enjoy a morning basket of fresh baked pastries, and jar of fruit and yogurt, along with juice, coffee/tea delivered to your room. Loved it ...will be back for more, Bravo to the Gristmill Square Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whetzelclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's a classic little bed and breakfast, but with a local pool across the road one can use (and virtually deserted 24/7), and a surprisingly lavish restaurant next door. The room was cosy, all carpeted floor and very low ceilings - I appreciate could be an inconvenience for some - but if you're not freakishly tall you can't help but love it. Wifi too! The staff are all a family and very friendly and eager to help. The restaurant continues the homely feel of the accommodation, everyone is friendly and create a great atmosphere. The food is surprisingly good and there's something there for everyone. A very happy place with little to complain about, it really helps you enjoy whatever you're doing in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: None to report.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped here as a last minute reservation after our wedding on our way to Maryland. The Silo room was the only available room, but it was an amazing one, converted out of an old silo. The room was very much like stepping into a very loved older home, so much character and charm. The tub was huge, with an additional walk in shower. Breakfast came in a picnic basket delivered to our room full of goodies: scones, coffee, yogurt with granola and blueberries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housenickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Grist Mill for 3 days a few weeks ago. Coming from Australia, it was my first taste of the South and the qualities that you hear about this part of the US (welcoming, friendly, relaxed people; beautiful scenery, unpretentiousness) were evident with the Gristmill.
The owners John and Katherine are a young married couple that bought the property and are the perfect hosts. They have a great passion for hospitality and their property, and seem to be there from when a beautiful breakfast is brought to you in the morning till the last drinks in the cozy little bar at night.
What makes the Gristmill unique are the different rooms you can stay in; the property is a loose collection of buildings, all with a different character. and each is lovingly looked after so and faithful to its origins.

Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs apartment, this was used as a storage silo for the mill so the lounge has a fanastic, cone-shaped double-height ceiling
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brock F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews