We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
163
57
14
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
57
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterwheel restaurantbreakfast in bedwater wheelyogurthot springshardware storejefferson poolsbasket of goodiesloft roomeach morningtroutbabbling brookwestern virginiaold millnice linensbarley roomvirginia mountains
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 243 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Close proximity to Hot Springs to the south and Monterrey to the north. We stay here prior to 1-2 bike races/tours in the area each year, traveling from Ohio. The breakfast delivered to your room is a big plus, the restaurant and tavern are fantastic and there are several good off site restaurants to try too, along with the resort to the south and Sam Sneads Tavern. Spacious and comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived for Memorial Day weekend 2012 (Saturday/Sunday night stay). It was a getaway with old friends and both of us were fortunate to have family members watch our kids to allow us this treat. We stayed in the Craven Suite, which overlooks the square. The room is bright with lots of natural light and had plenty of space to allow for entertaining, separate from the bedroom. The square allows you to meet many of the other guests in a beautiful setting. The service by the staff is first rate. All requests are attended to timely, even by the owners. We were impressed by their attentiveness to ensure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast each morning consisted of a pastry of some sort, yogurt with fruit & granola, orange juice and your choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. The presentation is very creative and the meal is delicious. While at the Inn we enjoyed the many sitting areas (the sound of flowing water is a pleasant constant) & the pool. We enjoyed two delicious meals at the Water Wheel Restaurant of the Inn. The Sunday brunch was spectacular on the outside deck and our dinner was also first rate. It is a nice touch to take a trip to the wine cellar and choose a bottle to go w/your meal. While in the area we hiked in Hidden Valley & the Ingalls Overlook, soaked in the Jefferson Pools & toured the Warm Springs Art gallery. This is our second trip to the Inn &we plan to return annually w/more friends and family!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was our 4th stay and it is always a joy. Excellelnt accomodations,clean,quiet,spacious,well appointed,comfortable. Delicious breakfast served to the room. Setting in a very small town in the mountains of western Virginia.Lots of great golf courses nearby,plus a spa and a place to "take the waters"--two covered pools (one of each sex) with water at about 98 degrees.
overall,the makings of special experience.

Room Tip: Corner room-The Singapore Room--was big and special.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryHA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A group of us "bikers" rode up to Warm Springs for the weekend. Other than the weather not fully cooperating, it was wonderful. The Gristmill Inn was a great place to stay for the evening. Prices are reasonable, decor is nice, and location is spectacular. There is a creek which runs next to the property, and hearing that and the birds only in the morning was very relaxing. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful. The waitress was spectacular, especially since she was dealing with 11 of us!! Breakfast the next morning was delivered by basket outside of our door. We had yogurt with granola, OJ, coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Loft", secluded and nice!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Who could ask for more than an absolutely scrumptious dinner (best steak I have had in ages), delectable wine (from the privately stocked wine cellar), country, elegant dining room....and then the most charming accommodations one could imagine! All of that on top of 5 star service and the breathtaking beauty of the mountains...This was my first over night experience at The Gristmill....I can assure you that it will not be my last. It has to be the best kept secret in Bath County.

Room Tip: The Silo...a two bedroom "apartment"...perfect for girls trip or couples....loved it....private deck, spacious rooms and a fantastic living room area complete with fireplace.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews