We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romantic, unusual, and remote in beautiful Bath county” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic, unusual, and remote in beautiful Bath county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The new owners took over a year ago and are adding a flavor all their own. Bruce the former owner is in an office behind the B&B as supervisor of Bath County. The omnipresent old lab died but Kate assures me the two adult water turtles are still in the stream on the property. The Singapore room is newly redone in Eastern Zen Chinese motif and mood and is lovely. Still a good value for the money and a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    48
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
121
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Close proximity to Hot Springs to the south and Monterrey to the north. We stay here prior to 1-2 bike races/tours in the area each year, traveling from Ohio. The breakfast delivered to your room is a big plus, the restaurant and tavern are fantastic and there are several good off site restaurants to try too, along with the resort to the south and Sam Sneads Tavern. Spacious and comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived for Memorial Day weekend 2012 (Saturday/Sunday night stay). It was a getaway with old friends and both of us were fortunate to have family members watch our kids to allow us this treat. We stayed in the Craven Suite, which overlooks the square. The room is bright with lots of natural light and had plenty of space to allow for entertaining, separate from the bedroom. The square allows you to meet many of the other guests in a beautiful setting. The service by the staff is first rate. All requests are attended to timely, even by the owners. We were impressed by their attentiveness to ensure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast each morning consisted of a pastry of some sort, yogurt with fruit & granola, orange juice and your choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. The presentation is very creative and the meal is delicious. While at the Inn we enjoyed the many sitting areas (the sound of flowing water is a pleasant constant) & the pool. We enjoyed two delicious meals at the Water Wheel Restaurant of the Inn. The Sunday brunch was spectacular on the outside deck and our dinner was also first rate. It is a nice touch to take a trip to the wine cellar and choose a bottle to go w/your meal. While in the area we hiked in Hidden Valley & the Ingalls Overlook, soaked in the Jefferson Pools & toured the Warm Springs Art gallery. This is our second trip to the Inn &we plan to return annually w/more friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was our 4th stay and it is always a joy. Excellelnt accomodations,clean,quiet,spacious,well appointed,comfortable. Delicious breakfast served to the room. Setting in a very small town in the mountains of western Virginia.Lots of great golf courses nearby,plus a spa and a place to "take the waters"--two covered pools (one of each sex) with water at about 98 degrees.
overall,the makings of special experience.

Room Tip: Corner room-The Singapore Room--was big and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryHA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

A group of us "bikers" rode up to Warm Springs for the weekend. Other than the weather not fully cooperating, it was wonderful. The Gristmill Inn was a great place to stay for the evening. Prices are reasonable, decor is nice, and location is spectacular. There is a creek which runs next to the property, and hearing that and the birds only in the morning was very relaxing. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful. The waitress was spectacular, especially since she was dealing with 11 of us!! Breakfast the next morning was delivered by basket outside of our door. We had yogurt with granola, OJ, coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Loft", secluded and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleghany, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Who could ask for more than an absolutely scrumptious dinner (best steak I have had in ages), delectable wine (from the privately stocked wine cellar), country, elegant dining room....and then the most charming accommodations one could imagine! All of that on top of 5 star service and the breathtaking beauty of the mountains...This was my first over night experience at The Gristmill....I can assure you that it will not be my last. It has to be the best kept secret in Bath County.

Room Tip: The Silo...a two bedroom "apartment"...perfect for girls trip or couples....loved it....pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Last year my boyfriend planned a Valentine's Day getaway all on his own and found this place. The drive to the Inn at Gristmill Square was beautiful and the town was gorgeous, quiet and peaceful. When we arrived I told him, "This is my favorite place"! He chuckled because we weren't even out of the car yet.

Overall, I've never seen a place like the Inn at Gristmill. We went in February and it was freezing so there wasn't much to do but sit around the fireplace, read magazines, eat at the Waterwheel tavern and soak in the Jefferson Pools (another special and unique experience). It was a nice quiet, getaway from the hustle and bustle of the D.C. metro area.

This past February, I took a friend to the Inn to experience the place. We ate at the Waterwheel Restaurant and both the food and service were spectacular. The lighting at the restaurant is dim and calming and the setting is very relaxing. There is the Simon Kenton pub within the restaurant, which is a small little bar that doesn't fit a whole lot of people but it is very cozy. The atmosphere is very unique. They even have their own little wine cellar in the basement that you can freely visit to pick out a bottle of wine (check out the pictures that I took). Also in the basement, you can see the old waterwheel. Within the restaurant, you can see the flour mill where grain was turned into flour.

The first time that I stayed at the inn, we stayed in the Jennie Payne room, which was charming but had a unique set-up with a separate room with a shower/bathtub and another separate room for the bathroom. The set-up was kind of awkward but it was on the second floor so we couldn't hear noises from people above. The fireplace kept us warm as did the heater in the room. By the end of the night, we were roasting!

The second time that I stayed at the inn (this past February in 2012), we stayed in the Croft room, which also had a fireplace. The room was beautiful and it seemed to have new linens and couches. I heard that the inn was taken over by new owners as of February of last year, so it's quite possible that all of the rooms have been updated with new things. It appears that the new owners have step up the game of this place with new additions to the room and upgraded breakfast. Last year when I came breakfast, which was brought to your room consisted on coffee, juice, croissant with jam and butter. This was fine for me as I don't like to be too full for breakfast. This past February when I went, they also delivered breakfast to our room; however, breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, yogurt with granola and blueberries, chocolate croissants and blueberry muffins! It was a really beautiful breakfast with plenty to eat.

Pros: Unique, quaint, quiet getaway; terrific food; great service at the restaurant; new owners seemed to have updated the rooms with new furniture and linens

Cons: I asked for wood to be delivered twice to our room and it was never delivered. I suspect that the staff was too busy since the restaurant was packed.

Overall Conclusions/Recommendations: I would definitely recommend a stay at the Inn at Gristmill, and I will try to visit every chance I get. It truly is a nice, peaceful getaway in a sleepy town. I've never experienced a place quite like the Gristmill. This is best for a romantic getaway but it is also good for a weekend with the girls. Can't wait to visit soon!

Also, eat at the Waterwheel Restaurant at Gristmill for a very unique experience; however, make reservations prior to showing up since they always seem to be very busy (even at 9PM).

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor may be a little noisy, but still bearable when people start to go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
25.0 mi away
Kingston Inn & Suites
Kingston Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Property: Inn at Gristmill Square
Address: 124 Old Mill Rd, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing