We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is Terrible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Unquestionably one of the worst dining experiences ever. Started with trying to make a reservation – it took 3 days. I called, got voicemail and was instructed to leave a message, which I did. Never got a return call. Called twice more, still got voicemail. Finally sent an email and received a reply 16 hours later. We arrived exactly at the time of our reservation….had to wait almost five minutes for the little blonde hostess to stop her very personal conversation and acknowledge us. After we were seated, it was almost fifteen minutes before our waitress first appeared to offer us water. Let me be clear – we had early reservations (6 pm) – there was only one other table (with two people) being served. It was clear from the start that our waitress had, at best, been trained to wait tables during the breakfast shift at Denny’s…if she had been trained at all. We were a foursome with plenty of room behind the table for proper service. She did not serve; she chose to pass salads, entrees, etc. down the table and asked us to pass her our water and wine glasses so she could fill them, dripping on the end of the table. In a restaurant where the least expensive entrée is $24.95, I certainly expect better. Two in the party had the French onion soup, which they declared to be excellent. I thought perhaps things were taking a turn for the better. The salads, with a grand choice of TWO dressings (blue cheese and a not-delicious creamy vinaigrette), were only a small plate of mediocre mixed greens. The entrees arrived, and even our Denny’s breakfast waitress could tell that the medium rare rib eye ordered by our friend more closely resembled a roofing shingle. She cut into it to check the doneness and was appalled to find it was a very, very, dry, dark brown throughout. She sent it back and told us to go ahead. My husband had a chicken and ham dish which he said was quite good. Our other friend had a pasta dish with chicken and mushrooms, which he said was ok, but was severely lacking in chicken and completely overrun with mushrooms. I had the mountain trout, which considering the area, should have been a signature dish, but wasn’t. The fish had no flavor of its own and was drowning in a greasy, herb butter sauce. We finished our dinners and still our friend had not been served her replacement steak. She managed to get the waitress’ attention to tell her to cancel her order since she had been waiting well over twenty minutes and didn’t want to be eating by herself. The very unprofessional manager, seven days in need of a shave and wearing a brown velour jacket, plaid shirt and jeans stopped by to say he was sorry, but he didn’t really sound or act too concerned. He also reached across us to clear our plates. So now we know who trained the wait staff. Finally desserts were served. I had an apple cinnamon crepe which was delicious. The house Ponga Sauvignon Blanc was very good. The atmosphere was lovely. But the service and attitude was abysmal. We had been to this restaurant about 18 months earlier and had a lovely dinner and evening which was why we made the return trip to share the experience with good friends. I am sad and angry to say the experience was simply terrible. The website says they think they’re running a high-end, quality establishment “in an elegant country setting.” Nope. Never again. Just not so.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dakota2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

We always appreciate all feedback, both good and bad. After reading this review we are so disappointed to learn of the negative experience these guests suffered. We completely agree that the ribeye ordered was completely overcooked due to some service issues. We offered some soup while the new ribeye was being prepared, but due to the fact that it is a thick cut of beef we should have just suggested a different entree that would not have taken so long to prepare. In offering some soup in the interim while we cooked a new steak we hoped that the dining experience would not be a total loss, but we see now that it was. We also hoped that comping the steak and soup, etc. would have been a reasonable course of action, but we can also see from this review that it was simply not enough of a gesture. At any time should you ever want to come back and experience the restaurant again, with our compliments, we would welcome the opportunity and promise to provide you with an excellent dining experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived at Gristmill in a Thursday evening skeptical of what was to come. Accordingly, we checked in for one night, and said that we may stay for an additional night. The room was clean, but was nothing special. After freshening up, we headed to the Gristmill's restaurant, the Waterwheel. We were delighted to find that the Waterwheel had great food and wine, live music, and good service. The next morning, we had a simple breakfast on the porch outside of our room (breakfast is usually a baked good, coffee, juice and fruit). After breakfast, we headed out for a hike, forgetting to tell the front desk that we would be spending another night. When we returned to our room a little bit after 2 pm, all of our belongings were removed and hastily put in another room. We were told that someone else had reserved our room, but that we could stay in another room because others were available. We were shocked. We informed them that we did not wish to stay there at all, and left. The impromptu eviction cast a shadow over an otherwise pleasant experience, such that it ruined our trip. We would never return to this unprofessional and inconsiderate place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

We prefer to see this situation for how it actually was, "relocated while hiking". In an ongoing effort to accommodate the needs of every guest, we relocated your belongings to the unoccupied room next door so that we could prepare your room for the incoming guest who had a reservation (this is common practice as we often have guests who move rooms because they want a second night, but their original room is booked). We waited to do this until 30 minutes prior to check-in for the incoming guest, which was well past the checkout time. We called your cell phone in hopes of reaching you to explain what we needed to do, and also to find out your timeline since we hadn't heard from you all morning. I wish there had been better communication from both us when you checked in (telling you that your room was not open for a second night's stay) and from you in the morning before leaving for your hike. Had we all communicated better I am sure that you would have enjoyed the remainder of your stay and not felt compelled to write this review. Any time we can make it right with a guest we welcome the chance to do so. If you would ever like to come back to the inn to stay for a night with our compliments please do not hesitate to contact us to make arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Just when we thought John's Steakhouse in Warm Springs was a great find, we ate at this jewel and...it's even better. Like John's, it's a bit pricey, but good value.

The former mill is incredibly charming with outstanding food. For wine lovers, ask to visit the wine cellar and choose your own bottle. Or ask the owner/wine expert for advice.
We sat inside but it also has what looks to be nice outdoor tables.

We learned it's been under new ownership since Feb. 2011, so note that when reading older reviews.

We stayed at the Homestead, but ate all our dinners in Warm Springs, about 5 miles from the resort. It was well worth the trip down the windy road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BFRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stopped off at the Gristmill on our way to the Greenbrier for the PGA tournament. When we left DC it was 98 degress when we arrived at 6pm at the Gristmill it was a beautiful 75 degrees in the mountains. The Inn itself is very unique as soon as you pull up and see the still operating Mill and the well maintained grounds, you know its special. When we walked up to check in there was a three piece band playing in the courtyard as guests looked on. It really set a wonderful mood from the very beginning. We had a glass of wine outside and watched the band for a while before dinner. The whole place has a really neat vibe to it, we really enjoyed chatting with the other guests as well, several of whom were locals.

The Innkeepers are very hands on and very friendly. We had a wonderful dinner in the bar area. All of the food seems to be made from scratch with the best of ingredients. Even the salad dressings that are made in house were delcious. Very cool wine cellar in which guests are encouraged to walk in, look around and pick a selection, wines are also well priced.

Our room (cant remember the name of it) was very clean and comfortable as well as spacious. We cant wait to return to this gem of an Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvmtntraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My dad and I take a father-son trip every year, and this year we drove through western Virginia. Well my car had lots of troubles we didn't make it to Inn at Gristmill Square until around 11pm. Our room was waiting for us, and although the restaurant was long closed, they very kindly made us a couple delicious appetizers. My dad and I hadn't had a meal in 14 hours, so the food did us good after a very stressful day. We enjoyed our room a lot and loved the pretty pool (which to my delight was big enough to swim laps in).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanoftennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Inn is very affordable and clean. The decor could use some updating. The picnic basket breakfast is a charming touch if you're not in need of a hefty breakfast. The attached Waterwheel Restaurant is worth the drive alone. The surrounding countryside is some of the most beautiful we've ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clamsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. We loved it. The staff was fantastic and the food was fabulous! It is the perfect place to stay and do as little or as much as you want. We spend a day at the lake close by and relaxed. We ate in the restaurant BOTH nights. The restaurant is a much. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. We definitely plan on going back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeEncantaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
30 reviews
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
58 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
124 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 118 Old Germantown Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range: $131 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing