We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterwheel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had brunch here, wonderful cream cheese pancakes and mineral water. Great service, food, and atmosphere!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us during your visit to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    58
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When in Warm Springs, this is the place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We learned that we should make reservations well in advance as this restaurant is worthy of its reputation.

From the moment we arrived, the experience was nice. We were greeted and shown our table quickly. The décor was eclectic and charming as the building was an old mill with a waterwheel; hence the name.

The sommelier, Steve, showed us around the wine cellar which was in the old mill room. It was charming and had a wonderful selection of wine from $20 to several hundred dollars. They had an outstanding collection which included French Bordeaux blends as well as Chateauneuf du Pape, which I loved. Steve was especially knowledgeable about pair wine with the dishes upon which we decided.

If beef is your thing, the filet with mushrooms and asparagus was outstanding. The duck was another dish that the chef prepared perfectly.

Desert, coffee, after dinner cordials, everything was perfect and we would definitely go back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Salomon297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you had a nice time dining with us. We are passionate about food and wine and it is nice when guests recognize that. If we can ever assist in making your future dining experience more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. All the best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went for dinner based on reviews while at Homestead Resort. Good food Great service. Reserve in advance which we found out when got there. But they accomodated us. good atmosphere and 1/3rd the price compared to homestead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the Homestead for 5 days. We ate brunch (eggs benedict), and two dinners (eggplant parmesan and trout) at the Waterwheel. I loved the quaintness of the mill, white walls, rustic, candle light, little spaces. For me, that is the main attraction. The food was delicious and service warm/friendly. Make sure you try the sour cream maple cake! Also, visit the wine cellar even if you are not having wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us during your visit to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming old mill with great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic value compared to the restaurants at Homestead - it is a quick 10 min drive just down from the Jefferson Pools.The service was excellent, food delicious and the restaurant so quaint. I had the cheddar and ale soup (still dreaming of seconds), salmondt and it was perfection and my wife had the filet and it was equally as good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing