We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic dining experience”

Waterwheel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterwheel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food was wonderful,enjoyed the food , the service was great. You can pick your own wine from the wine cellar! Top notch dining

Thank tmb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We couldn't agree more; we think we are the perfect spot for "date night". We hope you will come see us again sometime. Best, John and Kate Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 410 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Attended a conference at The Homestead and decided an offsite dinner would be nice. The Waterwheel Restaurant has historic charm, great service and excellent food. We stared with Pate and I had the Bass entree and my husband had a pasta entree. I think I had the better food, but both were good. The bass was cooked exactly right and served with polenta & seasonal vegetables. I enjoyed every bite! For dessert, we took one back to have later with coffee, we decided on the cheesecake. I am not normally a fan of cheesecake, but this one was light and had cranberries and walnuts instead of the usual too sweet topping, and the portion was just right (a smaller, round portion). We greatly enjoyed our dinner and would recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to simply get out of the hotel, or to escape the diminished quality and higher prices of the food at The Homestead.

Thank Shawn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We are so glad that you opted to dine with us during your recent visit to the area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dinner. We hope that you will visit us again should you ever return to the area. Kind Regards, John and Kate Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Gristmill Inn and eaten at the Waterwheel restaurant for years. The Inn is lovely, the breakfast delivered to your room is usually coffee and juice and a bread or muffin. Dinner is expensive and the waitresses can be a little harried but the food served indoors or on the porch is worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaggieDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit another review of our property. We are sorry that we weren't a 5 star rating this time, but hope that we can learn and improve from your comments. Perhaps it has been a while since your last visit, since breakfast is now way more than just a bread or muffin. In fact it is a savory option (ham biscuit or croissant) AND a sweet option (chocolate croissant, scone or raspberry danish) which vary daily, AND fresh fruit or a yogurt parfait. Dinner is priced fairly for the freshness of the ingredients we use and the fact that we are a scratch kitchen and don't buy pre-portioned or pre-made ingredients. We hope that next time you visit us you will see an improvement in your dining experience as service is a top priority of ours. Making sure that our waitstaff is not overwhelmed is something we try to do, which usually means we, as owners, are clearing tables and assisting as much as possible. Please do come see us again. Best, John and Kate Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was amazing and our server was fantastic. Best caesar salad I have ever had. The rest of the food was amazing. When we arrived they remember my husband mentioned our anniversary we were greeted with Champagne to start our meal.

Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and had a great experience overall! We hope that we are able to celebrate another anniversary with you. Best, Kate and John Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Restaurant is an old grain mill converted to the current purpose; many examples of the previous use remain.

Service friendly and efficient. A very tasty offering of food choices. All at our table (8) were very pleased with their meals. Prices consistent with quality of the food and facility.

Will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pickytraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope that you have another opportunity to dine with us sometime. All the best, Kate and John Loeffler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing