We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting facility - check out the wine cellar”

Waterwheel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterwheel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Radford, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting facility - check out the wine cellar”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Restaurant is an old grain mill converted to the current purpose; many examples of the previous use remain.

Service friendly and efficient. A very tasty offering of food choices. All at our table (8) were very pleased with their meals. Prices consistent with quality of the food and facility.

Will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope that you have another opportunity to dine with us sometime. All the best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    65
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
POOLESVILLE
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dinner Spot”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

While staying at The Homestead Resort (with, alas, its dining room closed Mon - Thurs), we heard about this restaurant down the road about 5 miles. The Waterwheel Restaurant is in the mill building of a complex that includes rooms to let and a few shops. The restaurant is fairly small, so weekends and nicer times of the year would necessitate reservations. The service was quite good and the food exceptional. One caution is that the wine list included on the menu lists only 4 or 5 wines by the glass or bottle for red and white. The server we had mentioned the wine cellar in passing and I wish I had been playing closer attention. She said we could tour it, so I did after I ordered a glass of red. Although the cellar is rather small, it holds a very nice and wide-ranging collection of full bottles and some splits. All the wines are priced. All you have to do is take your bottle upstairs to be served. That is the way I would have gone - a split - rather than two glasses. So, in addition to the food, the wine cellar is worth a visit, too. At the end of the meal, the owner stopped by the table to greet us and shook our hands in farewell. A nice touch. We highly recommend this little place if you are anywhere around The Homestead Resort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rowerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank so you much for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We are sorry that we didn't do a better job of pointing out the wine cellar to you. We will do our best to make sure all future tables are well aware. It is a great experience to visit the cellar and pick out a special bottle of wine to compliment your meal. We hope that, although you ended up with one of our by the glass wines, you weren't disappointed,. We look forward to seeing you again if you are even in the area. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My husband liked it, I was disappointed.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

For over $100 for a dinner for two, I expect better. The menu made big promises that were not delivered. Everything was just ok & way over priced. $4.50 for a cappuccino served in a tea cup. $19.99 for hand made pasta that was over worked and tough. My pasta was supposed to be filled with mushrooms, but had no mushroom flavor. The dessert was even a disappointment, my walnut tourte was way too sweet & was like eating fudge. The best thing I had was the fried kale. I don't mind paying $$$ for a good meal. I hate paying lots of $$$ for a disappointing meal. We we're planning on going back for brunch, but we'll definitely be making other plans. Maybe if you're not a Foodie or have a less extensive palette....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMT23831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Oh no! We are terribly sorry to learn that your experience didn't mirror your husband's or the countless other guests who have dined with us. We have addressed your menu concerns with our chef. We haven't changed the way we have been making the walnut torte and can't find any change the mushroom agnolotti either, both of which are well-liked by many. We are sorry that you feel we are overpriced. True our prices are higher than the country cooking restaurants in our area, but we feel that there is great value in our menu and we are always sensitive of pricing and charge what we feel is appropriate even when it is lower than would be found at many other establishments. In fact, compare us to restaurants in Charlottesville, for example, and we are a steal! Regardless, we are sorry to know that you didn't enjoy your meal. Sincerely, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The atmosphere and staff are welcoming and inviting. Perfect spot for a romantic dinner by candlelight. The private underground wine cellar was stocked with numerous wines and "true" champagnes from around the world, just bring the bottle to the table with you and let the experience begin. Our waitress gave impeccable service with a smile. Our meals were delicious as well as sufficient portions, rivaling any 5 star restaurant, in a cozy small town setting. Although we loved the chocolate cake, the bread pudding was bland. Our waitress removed the fee from our check, just by noticing that we had not eaten more than a taste of the dessert. The prices were reasonable, and in line with that of the Homesteads meals, but for a much better value. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through the Warm Springs area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are sorry that you didn't love the bread pudding, but glad to hear the chocolate cake was pleasing to your palate. We appreciate very much that you took the time to write a review, and hope that if you visit the area again you will stop by and see us. Kind Regards, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, atmosphere and personable staff”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Waterwheel while staying at the Homestead. We had a great meal and the restaurant staff was very personable as it is run by its two owners in an old mill. The wine cellar in the basement is next to the wheel used in the mill and worth seeing. Their wine is reasonably priced and their owner John was very knowledgeable about the wine as well as the vineyard it came from. The Homestead (they don’t advertise it) provides transportation for its guest to and from the restaurant for a small fee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner and visit to our wine cellar. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider dining with us again. All the best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing