We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option near the Homestead”

Waterwheel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterwheel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice option near the Homestead”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband visited here years ago and wanted to bring me to try the restaurant. The atmosphere was lovely and cozy. A past reviewer mentioned that she was cold, but I imagine it depends where you sit in this VERY old former mill. I was near a heat source on a chilly night and was quite comfortable...my husband might have been a little hot! We had excellent drinks. My husband had a lamb dish that was delicious. I ordered the trout and felt it was a little underdone for my liking, but my husband thought it was wonderful. I am positive I could have asked for them to give me trout that was more cooked, but it is my own fault that I am shy about being a bother. The service was wonderful and I am sure they would have done anything to improve on the experience. I think this is a good alternative to eating in the Homestead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Angie550, thank you for your feedback. Next time you visit and you find something not quite to your liking please, please, let us know. We always want to make it right, and ensure your enjoyment of the restaurant. We hope that you will be back during another visit to the area. Please make sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your experience. Sincerely, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    63
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious little secret!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just 5 minutes away, reasonably priced, fabulous ambience, and fantastic food! The wine cellar offered both half bottles and hole bottles of wine you could choose with your meal. Not only was our waiter very attentive...he was the owner of the restaurant!! Please don't miss this wonderful dining experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksr121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
ksr121, we love the title of your review! We hope we don't stay too much of a secret. It's true though, that we can be hard to find since we are off the main road and for that reason we tend to be a little secluded. We are so glad you found us, and even better, enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you on your next visit. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good service average food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nothing special .... Ambiance is great but the restaurant is very cold! It was about 40 outside and maybe 55 inside. My spouse actually went out to our car to retrieve his coat and we both wore our coats through the entire meat. Our waitress was attentive, friendly, and refilled our tea without being asked. She was definetly the bright spot of the meal. The complementary consume was a nice thought but too salty to enjoy. The bacon was thick and excessively fatty which did allow it to be trimmed. As the portions at brunch were very meager we both wanted dessert... Unfortunately they only offered three items on the dessert menu - none of which interested us ie.. no chocolate anything. Needless to say, we left still hungry, unsatisfied and agreed it was not somewhere to which we would return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Time-Out007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I decided to try the Waterwheel while we were staying at the Homestead, as some of the dining options on the resort had gotten mixed reviews. It was well worth leaving the resort, as the food was spectacular, the service top-notch, and the prices were more reasonable than the Homestead. I had the butternut squash pasta, and my husband had the ribeye with onion risotto. Every element on our plates tasted divine, and the portions were huge! Our server was extremely attentive, and the owners came to our table to check on us a number of times. If we ever return to the area, we will be sure to visit the Waterwheel again! YUM!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panzergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food for the area”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The menu and wine selection was impressive. Quality food, a bit pricey, but there are very few choices in the area so if you expect to eat while you are staying in the area, you will pay for the privilege in this town. the business owners depend exclusively
On the tourists to support their business
And since there isn't much tourism in this town, they make up for the low numbers by charging outrageous prices for the few that visit the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2zocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are so sorry to learn that you felt the food too pricey. We certainly try to keep our prices low and competitive. We don't over inflate prices, and always maintain a very reasonable mark-up when compared to our food costs. We are far less expensive than some, especially considering that a generous salad comes with each entree, but more expensive that other establishments that are more diner and country cooking. We will chat with the chef and look for ways to add some less expensive entrees without compromising food quality or using a frozen or pre-cooked product. Thank you for your honest review, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing