We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stayed here twelve years ago and came back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stayed here twelve years ago and came back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

First, Anderson Cottage is pet-friendly. Part of the charm for me is sitting on the hammock and throwing a stick for my border collie and knowing he can step into the burbling stream behind me and get cool. Then I dry him off and we go upstairs in the Kitchen Cottage to our bedroom, sitting room and kitchen which is closed off from the rest of the little cottage by a gate so that when we walk down the road to eat at the Waterwheel we can leave the pooch safely ensconced and happy. Breakfast was a prepared put in the oven and cook casserole (lovely French Toast this time) with a loaf of banana or some type of bread, fruit and this time, sausage. The coffee maker is there for you as is tea and all the accoutrements. We only stayed overnight (they would prefer two nights but accommodated us) and I wish we had stayed longer. It is a lovely setting, quiet, convenient to the restaurant we like and close to the Jefferson Pools and simply, totally, a delightful place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kitchen Cottage of the Anderson Cottage while attending a conference in nearby Hot Springs (5 mi.) The Kitchen Cottage is detached from the main house, but is right next door as it was the original kitchen for the main house. It easily sleeps 4-6 with two baths and a comfortable seating area. The downstairs is a bit rustic, but comfortable and the upstairs is very nice, with a full kitchen, bedroom and bath. We were provided with a basic continental breakfast to get us going, really totally adequate. There is a grocery store nearby to stock up on other essentials, and a couple of very good restaurants. The Waterwheel is just around the corner in this fascinating historic village. I would love to come back and spend a couple of days just wandering the area, reading up on Bath County and enjoying the cozy comfort of the Anderson Cottage Kitchen. Thank you Jean for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcline82055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Anderson Cottage for a weekend getaway a few years ago. We found Jean, our host, to be engaging and knowledgeable of the area and local history/lore. Growing up as a local to the area, I have always admired Anderson Cottage and its rich history, and thoroughly enjoyed staying there with my husband on this visit. We stayed in an upstairs bedroom, and enjoyed the antiques throughout the house, as well as the scenery from our bedroom window. The steam that rises off the warm spring running along the back of the property made for some incredible pictures. Though my husband and I don't frequent bed and breakfasts, we thoroughly enjoyed the warm and friendly chat in Jean's kitchen while getting our morning coffee, and her delicious southern breakfast made me feel as if I were a child again. While there, we were permitted to explore the kitchen cottage in hopes of returning with our family one day. Currently, we're planning a weekend there with our kids and dogs to take advantage of the Homestead's ski slopes and outdoor ice skating rink. On our first visit we enjoyed a magnificent meal at the Waterwheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, a local restaurant also steeped in history and delicious entrees. I look forward to returning to Bath County for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekendwarriors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We loved this place. It reminded me of many of the old tudor farmhouses I stayed at in England as a child, from the wide beamed oak floor boards to the antique chests, cozy hallways & copies of Nature Conservancy on our bedroom endtable. Relaxing & in a very peaceful setting. Our hostess joined us for breakfast, a nice touch we don't always see in B&Bs these days. Note - our cast iron bathtub had a shower wand & hose attached directly to the tub faucet (as opposed to wall mounting), but it's fine if you don't mind sitdown showers. The location is convenient - it's a 2 minute walk to the great little tavern & restaurant at the Gristmill, & 10-15 min. walk to the (fabulous) Jefferson Baths.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayseeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed in the suite on the first floor for my husband's birthday weekend. The antiques were beautiful in it and the place had a very relaxed feel. The bed could've been more comfortable and the bathroom a bit more up to date, but the overall atmosphere of the place more than made up for it. The breakfasts were so very yummy and the warmness of our hostess could not have been outdone. We also really enjoyed just sitting on the bridge over the stream behind the house and just taking in the beauty of the place. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hulk_smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2005

As a New Englander, the discovery of Bath County, VA gives a whole new meaning to Spring. We discovered Warm/Hot Springs several years ago, and return every April. The trees are dripping with flowers and the tiny, new green leaves which fill me of hope.
This time we stayed at Anderson Cottage with our old Golden Retriever for 2 nights. Anderson Cottage was at one time a tavern, a girls' school and now an inn. The main building was full of interesting objects: beautiful, old oil paintings by Porte Crayon, Jean's fathers collection of birds' eggs, antique furniture, books and more. Due to the dog, we stayed in the Kitchen Cottage which is an older outbuilding. It was a charming brick structure with a deep fireplace, small upstairs deck and kitchen which was equipped with coffee, tea and real cream (I despise fake creamer), among other dry goods. There are 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Since we were a party of 2, we stayed in the upstairs room which by far was the most comfortable. The antique bed was made with mismatched cotton sheets and warm blankets. A warm spring runs behind the property. We left the window opened a crack at night to enjoy the gurgling of the stream. In the morning the mist drifts off of the water into the cool air. There is a picnic table in the yard for al fresco lunches. Walking around the village takes only a few minutes but I enjoyed it every morning. You can walk to the Jefferson Pools for a 1 hour soak in the "waters" for $15.
Our hostess, Jean Bruns was a font of local history and lore. She made a fantastic breakfast both mornings. It was served in the dining room with the table set with gorgeous old family silver before a roaring fire. Breakfast was served at 9 AM so the coffee in the cottage was much appreciated. Nearby there are a few restaurants for dinner: Inn at Gristmill Square (order smoked trout and duck), Elliot's in Hot Springs, take out gourmet at the Homestead Market, and the Varsity if you have kids. Gristmill is 3 doors away and they have a small pub attached to the restaurant.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and visit with Jean. She provided privacy as well as good company; not an easy balance to strike.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank linilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2004

This is a charming place, in a beautiful and historic area. It's not luxury lodging, but it's homelike -- if your home is surrounded by beautiful rolling hills and a lovely garden with a swiftly running stream behind it.

The main building has been a lodging place for many decades, and the warm springs where Jefferson took his pleasure are very nearby, not to mention Lake Moomaw, one of Virginia's best secrets.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Maurerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
21.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
4.2 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 208 Old Germantown Road, PO Box 176, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Bath County's oldest buildings, Anderson Cottage has been in the present owner's family since the 1870s. The 1820 brick kitchen is now a separate guest cottage. Kitchen Cottage: Three bedrooms and two baths. Two with queen-size beds, and one with two singles. Full kitchen/dining/sitting room with working fireplace; living room with sleep sofa. Available year-round. Maid service and breakfast supplies provided. Anderson Cottage is a short walk from the famous Warm Springs pools. Fine restaurants are nearby. Sports facilities nearby include riding lessons; fishing in local streams; and lake sports at Douthat Park and Lake Moomaw. The area abounds in natural beauty and there are miles of walking trails and scenic drives. Shopping is available at craft, antique, and specialty shops in Warm Springs, Hot Springs, and Monterey. In the summer months and on special occasions during the year chamber music of high quality is offered at Garth Newel Music Center. Warm Springs is a a good base for day trips to Lexington and Staunton, home of the Museum of American Frontier Culture, to Pocahontas County, West Virginia, to the west, and Highland County, to the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing