We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DPMAKP
Boston, Massachusetts

Tropical Paradise-great diving-excellent service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 30, 2019via mobile
I found this resort online and was a bit worried until we got there, but what a paradise! We love the place. Clean, comfortable, amazing food every meal, beautiful place!! Highly recommend for divers. Just watch out for monkeys! (But so much fun watching them). Island hopping was great. Even snorkeling in front of resort was amazing. Sunset kayaking, hot spring... plenty to do if you like nature!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sangatking, Guest Relations Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this review
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear DPMAKP,

Thank you for choosing Sangat Island Dive Resort as your Coron holiday destination. We appreciate your high rating and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It puts a smile on our faces that we met your standards and expectations. Thank you for recommending us to divers and your lovely feedback regarding the activities. We take pride in the natural beauty of our location and it is great to hear that you appreciate nature.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Tania Pownall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$200
  • Expedia.com
    $226
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $226
0.0 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $265
  • Trip.com
3.1 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
$19
Easy and fast booking
    4.3 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $21
      4.3 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Free Wifi
      $50
      • Priceline
        $39
      • Agoda.com
        $37
      • Expedia.com
        $48
      7.3 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Pool
      Restaurant
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
        $93
      • Trip.com
        $76
      • Hotels.com
      7.4 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $64
      Fully refundable
      • Expedia.com
        $65
      • Vio.com
        $45
      • Hotels.com
        $65
      7.5 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
        $99
      • Priceline
      7.6 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      8.7 miles from Sangat Island Dive Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Sangat Island
      Reviews (586)
      Filter reviews
      586 results
      Traveler rating
      424
      111
      23
      18
      10
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      424
      111
      23
      18
      10
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews hot springs great diving eco tourism rainy season fresh fish meal times no air conditioning white sand beach minute boat ride mango rice coron bay beach bungalow rock bar chalet reef hammocks
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      98 - 103 of 586 reviews
      Reviewed March 22, 2019

      I stayed here for 3 nights as a solo non diving female and loved it! Alhough very tempted to learn to dive here (what better place) due to my short stay I wanted to just enjoy the surroundings..maybe next time with my partner! I enjoyed the quiet laid back atmosphere to read, swim or explore. I quickly made friends and we hired kayaks to explore the surrounds. We paddled to the mangrove hot springs which were ok but the highlight for me was the coral and marine life on the way there- aMazing! We were able to 'hitch' the kayaks at various points along the way and snorkel privately without the crowds of the island tours which was blissful to say the least.
      I also joined a dive group one day out to Lusong Gunboat shallow and easily accessible ship wreck to snorkel while they dived. Sangat offers many boat tours, walking tour and kayak/mask/flipper/jetski/catarmaran hire. Boat tours are expensive just for one (understandably) but better if join a group. Maybe they could start a notice board for people to add names for interested tours... to see who will join in. They have a small gift shop selling a few wooden gifts, lanterns, bracelets, stubby holders, t-shirts, sarongs, chocolate, sunscreen, condoms and sanitary pads.
      The chalet had 2 queen beds, wardrobe to keep items protected (in case door left open when monkeys around) and ensuite bathroom with cold water shower. Rustic feel but clean and tidy-perfect! Only 10-15 chalets on island in two rows beachfront or set back against rock face behind them. I had beachfront "Pandan" near pandanus tree which seems to attract afternoon monkey feeding of its fruit- wasn't an issue really....but i kept a good distance from them.
      The recommended meal package was perfect. Each meal was a plentiful buffet showcasing Philippino cuisine but also included western options. You won't go hungry!
      Everyone gathered for pre dinner drinks at the bar to watch the sunset before wandering to the main hut for meals.
      The dive hut set up looked professional- neat and tidy and well organised
      I thoroughly enjoyed my time here and could easily return. Well done guys!

      Room tip: If stay again I would prefer far end away from main hut and passers by..but further to walk for meals (only a few minutes)
      Date of stay: March 2019
      • Trip type: Traveled solo
        • Service
      Thank Earthwalker5
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      sangatking, Guest Relations Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

      Dear Earthwalker5,

      Thank you for detailing your experience with Sangat Island Dive Resort to the TripAdvisor community. It sounds like you indulged yourself in the island life, Sangat style!

      It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular our location, wide range of activities, accommodation, facilities, food, and service. Your kind words serve great motivation to us and we cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future.

      Once again, we appreciate your positive comments and for choosing to stay with us.

      Sincerely,
      Tania Pownall

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 7, 2019

      Laid back and relaxing atmosphere. The staff could not be better. Super friendly and helpful. The dive shop is the highlight, with an extremely knowledgeable and resourceful staff, make getting a certification easy and fun. The coral right on the beach front is some of the best in the Philippines. This was our favorite resort we stayed at while in the Philippines.

      Thanks Sangat for making our vacation so memorable

      Date of stay: February 2019
      • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank lorie_mike
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      sangatking, Social Media Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

      Dear Lorie_mike,

      Thank you for your wonderful review, this made us all smile!

      We are truly grateful to have a professional dive team who are passionate about what they do. We could not be happier that they made your dive experience fun, comfortable, and memorable.

      We're glad that you enjoyed your Sangat Island life experience. We can't wait to see you again soon!

      Sincerely,
      Tania Pownall

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

      My husband and I loved our stay at Sangat Island Dive Resort.
      - staff was friendly and efficient
      - food was AMAZING
      - we enjoyed kayaking, diving and playing pool
      - the island allows drones
      - the transfers to and from the island were seamless
      - the snorkelling was so special and the best coral is right in front of the resort!
      Even if you don’t dive, this place is worth a visit simply for the absolute peace and relaxation. We have never felt so relaxed!

      Date of stay: March 2019
      Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      Thank lbleasy
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      sangatking, Social Media Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

      Dear lbleasy,

      Thank you for choosing to stay with Sangat island Dive Resort and finding time to give us a high rating.

      We really appreciate your feedback and we are very happy to hear that you had a spectacular experience from start to finish and that our team impressed all around. It is great to read that enjoyed the food, location, activities, and overall service.

      Thank you recommending us to all types of travelers in the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to have you as one of our regulars!

      Best Wishes,
      Tania Pownall

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 2, 2019

      The resort is reached by a transfer from the small,airport, then by fast launch.

      The Island resort is a small area of pristine sand with a jetty and luxury raised local style accomadation. There is a large restuarant area, reception and the dive centre.

      The lodges are on stilts, sympathetically located, most with great sea views.

      They are accessed by a flight of stairs and are simple but clean inside. The ensuite is a wet room and the shower is a cold water system. The toilet is a western style but we could not understand the plumbing unless it's in one of the stilts?

      A ceiling fan is supplemented by portable fans. There are plenty of recharging sockets that provide a good firework display when used! The beds were doubles with mosquito nets.

      Breakfast, lunch and dinner were Buffett style with a good Aisian fusion choice. The staff are lovely and the food fantastic.

      There are various water sports available here but the main focus is diving.

      The resort benefits from the local presence of many Japanese WW11 wrecks in generally good condition. These are in the thirty metre range apart from the Irako sitting at around forty metres.

      The equipment is top class and so are the staff. There is a range of PADI courses available from Open Water if you so wish.

      The diving starts at 8.30 for the morning wreck dive, eleven for the house reef and two pm for the afternoon wreck dive.

      There are also night dive options, hot lake excursions etc.

      Nitrox is available at an extra reasonable cost.

      The dive guides were friendly and in my professional opinion excellent at their job. Attentive, alert and helpful, brilliant.

      At night there are two bars and a good selection of very resonably priced drinks. Three pounds for a double G and T for instance.

      We had a fantastic time for ten nights and for me the diving was a joy.

      However, the lack of variety may be a turn off for some and most people seemed to be visiting for a few days as they passed through.

      Personally, if you love your diving, wreck and reef these waters have an amazing variety of sights.

      I have dived for forty years and the trip to the Black Island wreck was memorable for the massive variety of different sealife as well as a nice ship like wreck.

      The one negative, and bear in mind this is a remote island is the erratic nature of the free wi fi. However, steps were being taken to upgrade it and after all you are trying to get away from it all!

      Highly recommended .

      Date of stay: February 2019
      • Trip type: Traveled with friends
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank Christopher D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 1, 2019

      The diving was amazing with so many wrecks around Coron. There was plenty of diving to do. I didn't manage to get to Barracuda lake.. but heard it is a must! Night dive to see the mandarin fish mate was beautiful.

      The resort has its own private beach, outdoor bar and a bar at the restaurant. All the staff are really friendly and attentive. I had a double room with fan, and a sea view to myself. It was a little pricey but included breakfast and dinner. Wifi was a little shady at times but when you are on such a beautiful island who needs wifi?!

      There are plenty of other activities to do if you are a non diver. The resort can organise day trips for you/group. You can kayak around the island and through the mangrove to a natural rock pool.

      Date of stay: October 2018
      • Trip type: Traveled solo
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank JulesM2288
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      sangatking, Social Media Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

      Dear JulesM2288,

      We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay in Sangat Island Dive Resort! Thank you for writing us a lovely review and outlining the other activities for non-divers.

      It is great to hear that you were pleased by our location, accommodation, and service despite the slow wifi. We truly appreciate your feedback as it serves us great motivation.

      Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we do look forward to your return in the near future.

      Kind Regards,
      Tania Pownall

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews