We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Mexican Restaurant”
Review of La Herradura

La Herradura
Ranked #249 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is one of our favorite local places to go when we do not want to cook. They are located in a non-descript strip center. The prices, like most Mexican restaurants are quite reasonable ($10+/-). While they can have off nights, generally their service is very quick. The salsa they give you with tortilla chips is wonderful with a fair amount of cilantro and a bit of spiciness. The entrees are fairly typical for a Mexican place, but always fresh and well prepared. If you order fajitas for two ($22), you will either be stuffed, or have enough left over for another meal. The decor is Mexican; not over gaudy, which is nice. It is also very clean. While quite popular and busy, we have never had a long wait for a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rfinklegal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprised, .. in a good way.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I expected this place to be eh ... not so good. I braced to be disappointed and only stopped in because my husband insisted. It was surprisingly okay.
I liked the interior. the colors were nice and the bar was well stocked.
The chips and red salsa were good. Not too salty and just enough spicy-ness.
The rice was good too, the beans were average.
I had the Diabla Shrimp, and apart from the small size, i ate it all. It was not what I'm used too, but its good.
I do not recommend the chicken wings as an appetizer.
The kids meal of chicken tenders and FF was okay. Its what my kids like to eat, and enjoyed it more because they were in dinosaur shapes...

Overall, it was okay. Enjoyable.. The staff was great, quick service and nothing missing. I wouldn't make it a favorite but it'll do, i would recommend it if in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secretfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Hidden In A Strip Mall”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited La Herradura quite a while ago and decided to give it another try. It's in a strip mall on Shore Drive near Chic's Beach. The food was good and appetizing and the service was prompt. I don't know why we ever stopped going there. We'll go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VABTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Mex food”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

La Herradura is a great little Mexican restaurant at Pleasure House and Shore. You get a lot of food for not a lot of money--most of the entrees are under $10. If you like good margaritas, splurge for the good stuff (not that swill Cuervo--I'll recommend Jimeador) and get a jumbo. Dos Equis dark is also on tap with the standard Budweiser level beers. Service is good, it's clean, and has enough of that Mexican kitsch (bright walls, wall sconces) to make you know you're in a Mexican restaurant (even though the great family that owns it is El Sal).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CHXBeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“College kids and noise, ok food.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is your basic Mexican restaurant. Some days food is better than others. Prices and portions are decent. We keep coming back due to convenience. The place sometimes gets loud and crowded, so they must be doing something right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itismelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Herradura also viewed

 

Been to La Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing