We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Hampton Roads!”
Review of Jade Villa

Jade Villa
Ranked #238 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Hampton Roads!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Every time I go to Virginia Beach I have to go here. I live in NYC and china town is just a 20 minute subway ride away. BUT I still say this place is top 3 of the best chinese food out there. They have two menus there 'the american' and 'the chinese' one. I always choose the chinese one. They also let you get some dim sum items too on weekdays. (only the popular ones, like the eggplant and shrimp in black bean sauce, shumai, and pork dumplings) My go to items are always pan fried noodles (beef or seafood), salt and spicy pork or shrimp, wonton noodle soup hong kong style, sauteed snow pea leaves (you have to ask its not on the menu), or peking duck. They have not just one kind of tea that have a few, I like either the jasmine tea or chrysanthemum. There is not one thing that I did not like when I have ordered it. You should NEED to go here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spootgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Limited selection”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Anticipating long lines on a Sunday for dim sum,we came around 1030am and surprisingly we were not the first in line. Doors opened 5 minutes earlier due to lines getting long. Drink orders were promptly taken then the carts like on cue started rolling out. The choices are limited meaning only the popular dumplings are available.the pork buns we ordered were dry inside. Taste was ok, wasn't salty at all.Service was attentive even though the place was super busy. 3 people stopped by to ask if we were ok. If you need a dim sum fix here in va beach then this place is for you.

Helpful?
1 Thank PURPLEYAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Paradise”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

JAde Villa offers a Chinese American menu and a traditional Chinese menu. Chuck the Chinese American one. That food isn't bad - but you'll miss the beauty of this place if you ignore the traditional Chinese offerings.

AND THAT AIN'T ALL. HERE'S THE GOOD STUFF!!!!!!!

This place serves dim sum. And a dim sum brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. And it really is a hoot. It's my first choice of places to eat on my birthday or for father's Day. The food is delicious and varied and is served from a number of rolling carts. Just poiint at what looks good. The servers are patient and very friendly. The dishes are modestly priced.

Just go. And eat. And explore. And enjoy.....

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Griller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best dim sum place!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

the best dim sum place in Virginia beach! my husband and I are particular about our dim sum. We've eaten many dim sum places in the States and Jade villa has good dim sum.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tropicalredrose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Everything off the menu is great. No wonder this place is almost always busy. Call before you go especially on weekeneds lunch time. Their dim sum is so popular and people are waiting outside of the restaurante.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pekocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Villa also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Jade Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing