We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping the husband happy”

Pho 78 Vietamese Restaurant
Ranked #399 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Safety Harbor, FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Keeping the husband happy”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Here we are in Virginia Beach--husband wants to eat seafood, but he also wanted something light (big dinner tonite).

Pho 78 was the answer. Pho with calamari, fish balls, shrimp and krab. Bountiful bowls with appropriate side of mung beans, cilantro, lime. Also had a side of egg rolls--husband is happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pho Bien Vietnamese Restaurant next to Dollar Store!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When Ling and I were looking for a Great Restaurant for Dim Sum Chinese food the lines were out the door and in to the Parking lot. Ergo, quick thinking got us to try the Vietamese Restaurant
in the Shopping Center near the strip mall whiel we were driving through Virginia Beach. My relatives were a Celt tribe that came to Scotland around 700AD. So to me great food exsits and your first chore is to find your niche' which is not being dominated by others. So for Chinese New YearI prefer an Extra large of spicy Rice noodle and although price inflation has reared its ugly head, the largest size is under $10.... Once upon a time you oculd get it for $7! Which is fine with me because i absolutely adore Rice noodle, but my wife is more Traditional than me and she ordered a Combination Meat platter and we really enjoyed the additional selection by combining our choices. We really enjoy traveling to great places and stopping for a great meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I ordered the pho and it was not up to standard. The pho was diluted with water. Very disappointed after I had read all the previous reviews. My boyfriend ordered the Hu Tieu which is the clear glass noodles with pork and shrimp. That was even worse, tasted full of MSG.
The service was quick. However, a restaurant is not a daycare. Their child was running around the restaurant being loud and obnoxious while the owner and his family had a loudly discussion..really ????

WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY !!!!!
I

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceT602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hot soup on a cold day.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Pho is delicious. I have never tried anything else other than the spring rolls which are some of the best around. The service is fast and the Pho is flavorful and filling.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Pho”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband loves Pho and goes to the Pho restaurants around NoVA. We searched for a place in VA Beach and found this one.
The aroma of the broth cooking filled the restaurant. The Pho choices were huge. My husband was very pleased with his meal.
I asked for the vermicelli with tofu which wasn't a menu choice. It was no problem and the tofu was very well presented.
All the food was very fresh and very well seasoned. The location was easy to find with the GPS but is not in an area where a tourist would happen on it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho 78 Vietamese Restaurant also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Pho 78 Vietamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing