We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First try, but would go back”

DOC Taylor's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“First try, but would go back”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had the 3 egg, chicken, avacado, bacon and tomato omelet, which sound like a great combo. With all that goodness, I was disappointed in the flavor. It definately needs either cheese or some type of sauce becuase it was pretty dry. Other in my party had different items which were good. The service was great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    219
    80
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great little place. Great food, casual, locals and tourists. Can get breakfast or lunch at any time (no dinner, go next door to Tautogs for that).

Full range of breakfast and lunch choices. Servers are friendly and the food is out quick and hot, made to order. Every day have drink specials, bloody marys for $1.99.

Don't look for a sign, you will not find one, but worth the visit(s).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went to Doc Taylor's for breakfast. What a great meal. The food was excellent, and the service was just as good. Our server did a wonderful job. One of the manager's, Mel, stopped by our table to check on us, and to make sure that we were happy. We definitely were. Good Job Guys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank madeluca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely go!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went on a Wedneday AM and had no wait. I got biscuits and gravy and it was delicious. My husband was not too thrilled with his eggs benedict though as they barely put any gravy on top. The $1.99 mimosas were good.

I definitely would go back, although we tried the Pocohontas pancake house the next day and I wish we would have just gone back to Doc's.

The only thing I did not like was that the food, although cooked quickly, was not served to us because our waitress was nowhere to be seen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snickers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Bloody Mary's.... LONG wait”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Being that we had such a FABULOUS dinner at Tortugas- the sister property- we were expecting to have a fabulous brunch and that was not the case. The ONLY thing FABULOUS about brunch was their Bloody Mary's. The wait was about 45 min and when we finally did get out table it was almost ANOTHER 40 mins for our food. Our waiter some how managed to get our order for a Bloody Mary without the vodka WRONG instead he brought back PLAIN tomato juice with vodka..so ofcorse we just declined it and had water instead. When our food finally arrived, it was COLD. I was expecting a nice fluffly omlette and my husband was expecting nice fluffy pancakes..NOT....a cold falt omette and cold flat pancakes. At this point we were just so hungry we ate it. It's really NOT worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeannjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOC Taylor's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DOC Taylor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing