We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, worth the wait.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gringo's Taqueria

Gringo's Taqueria
Ranked #137 of 1,413 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the wait.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I found this well-ranked restaurant on tripadvisor while on vacation. We weren't disappointed. 3 baskets of fresh homemade tortilla chips, excellent homemade salsa and cheese dip, and chicken bowl for me and 2 tacos for my husband left us stuffed. The place is a little dive in a strip plaza. Aerobics, bike shop, and marshal arts next door. Maximum of 12 or so tables and bar seats. Small quaint place. And I only saw 3 people working the tables, so expect to wait awhile for a table and service. 2 of which I believe are the owners, Evie and Billy. Best food for the whole week of vacation. Would go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tacos”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The tacos are fresh, delicious and authentic. They have so many greats to choose from. The fish tacos were delicious and the pork with the pineapple salsa was maybe my favorite. They serve beer, wine, margaritas and sangria. I have to warn about the sangria because it isn't fresh but is some pre-made, store bought version. The rice and beans round out the meal and the chips and salsa were a fresh, delicious way to start things off.
2 Tacos with rice and beans will be enough food for most hungry people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jkucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Fresh Mexican!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I live in Va Beach and I challenge anyone to find a better, fresher or tastier Mexican Restaurant around here. You just cant beat it...The kind of dive you love to visit and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbsunshine610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly- A Local Secret”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Small little place but a hidden treasure! The food is fresh and delightful. The waitstaff was friendly and the service was quick. The Shrimp/Pineapple Quesadilla was fantastic and the portions were very generous. The pricing was fair and definitely worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow_Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome food, amazing fish tacos!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a small restaurant off the beach near Rudee Inlet in Virginia Beach. Friday and Saturday nights are packed, so arrive early - they close at 9PM, so arriving "later" won't help.

When I say small, I mean 4 tables plus a bar that seats about 6. There are also four tables in the 'Alley,' but I recommend trying to get a table inside if you can.

If you get the opportunity, sit at the bar. You can talk with the wait staff & enjoy your food - arrive for an early lunch (they open at 11AM) and you can watch them prepare the fresh salsa and other amazing food served here. Everything is fresh - nothing out of a can. They even make their own sour cream! Tomatoes are fire roasted and combined with grilled serrano peppers to make an amazing salsa. I watch the owner turn a whole pineapple into the best tasting pineapple salsa I've every had (great on the shrimp tacos). Their margaritas are a bit on the expensive side, but when you find out they make their own mix (fresh squeezed limes, lemons, & oranges) you'll be sold. A great selection of Mexican beer plus wine rounds out the drink side of things.

The staff is friendly and does their best to make you feel at home. This is definitely one of the local places you always want to find when traveling.

If you're ever in Virginia Beach, take the time to stop by Gringo's - you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Gringo's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing