We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Gringo's Taqueria

Gringo's Taqueria
Ranked #98 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Must have's include fish tacos and shrimp tacos. One of our party didn't see anything of special interest on menu , so they made a mexican bowl custom to his order. The margarits's, while not inexpensive, are fabulous, made with top shelf liquors and fresh juices. Seating is very limited so better to go early or late.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge PA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Gem off the beaten path!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Gringos Taqueria - va beach My wife and I had traveled several hours from S. C. for a visit to Virginia Beach. Upon arrival, I checked Trip Advisor for Mexican restaurants not too far from our hotel.  We decided to give Gringos a try.   When we arrived we were very skeptical because it looked like a real dive.  After driving around the block twice, looking for a place to park, I was about to give it up but then, at the last minute said to my wife, "Let's go for it".  It is a very tiny place and all the tables were full.  We stood there for just a minute and were about to walk out when a nice young lady warmly greeted us and said that "Those people at that table are about to leave".  The patrons at the table even spoke up, smiled at us, and said they were ready to go.  Everyone in this little room was so nice, almost like family.  This is where the locals go.  We tried for the first time, fish tacos and were very amazed.  Also enjoyed a couple Corona's and tried some wonderful  margaritas. The owner and her husband came to our table and introduced themselves.  We even met her brother who also works there. We had a piece of home made Flom which we never had before and was unbelievable and awesome! We are surely coming back again soon. I highly recommend this little gem,  but be sure to allow lots of time to find a parking spot. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusty610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delicioso!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This little hole in the wall is a real gem!! The outside may be nothing to brag about but the real treasure can be found inside. The food is absolutely delicious and plentiful. The staff is genuinely friendly and the service is excellent. Looking forward to going back again!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1yolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favorite "hole in the wall" restaurant at the beach.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This has been one of my favorite places to eat in Virginia Beach for the last 20 years. Located in a small storefront on Norfolk Ave. Its not the kind of place you would be drawn to from the street. That is the beauty for Gringos. It's for locals! I am not trying to ruin it for us, but we are happy this place is in our hometown. There are only seat about 20 inside the restaurant, with the hallway acting as the overflow seating area.
Their margaritas are famous and deadly (drink only if you don't want your lips to go numb). Beers are varied and cold, the ice tea excellent. They are also know for their fish tacos which can be ordered baja or street style. I also love their carnitas, enchilada with green sauce and chicken in a bowl. This is probably the best food value any any place we go to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zigzagzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best MEX in VA Beach!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Simply the best Mexican food in Virginia Beach! Great food, service and atmosphere. Just can't be beat! Gringo's is Here to serve the locals of VA Baech, not your typical tourist trap! So if you're in VA Beach and are looking for great Mexican food, at a reasonable price, served by beautiful fun people, you need go no farther then Gringo's! It's simply great food!

Helpful?
Thank Aponawave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's Taqueria also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Gringo's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing