We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, kinda noisy”

Havana An American Cafe
Ranked #326 of 1,422 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Pub, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, kinda noisy”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Been going to Havana since it opened. Food is always excellent. Only issue is it is kind of small with the bar and tables in close proximity. So, after about 7PM or so it tends to get rather loud. Mt wife and I try to get there by 5:30 so we're out before the noise elevates too much

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun spot - local knowledge!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been dining at Havana's for over 15 years - it has consistently amazing food, excellent wine list, engaging bar tenders, great service and atmosphere perfect for a fun night with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita23890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Havana Great Neck”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been to Havana many times, but never tried the "small plate" menu. it was terrific - maybe better then the main menu. Service was great as always and it wasn't too full, so the noise level was low.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Havana is Cuban/Spanish/Caribbean restaurant located in a small strip shopping center and is frequented by locals,which is always a good sign. It has a vibrant Bar scene, great drinks (especially mojitos), and exceptional food and service. Lucky for us our daughter chose Havana for her 30th Birthday dinner.
The servers are very knowledgeable and very friendly. The service was impeccable and the owner is often available and assisting his staff with any and all service needs, as he was on this particular night.
The Birthday girl ordered the calamari appetizer and she was very satisfied with the lightly fried rings and lightly spicy sauce.
One person had Paella de Playa a huge dish of shrimp, chicken, mussels, and fish with chorizo over rice AMAZING! Another had the Coconut Curry ( chicken and shrimp) w Jasmine rice an obvious choice as one of the BEST dishes on the menu....oh wait they have too many BEST dishes to count. On any given night it is a difficult choice since the choices and specials are so enticing.. I had the maple grilled salmon over whipped ginger sweet potatoes and it was the best salmon I have ever had anywhere, incredibly fresh & cooked as I requested. Another had the Appetizer tuna fish tacos as an entree and with 2 tacos and rice and beans the portion was plentiful. The tuna was fresh and cooked to perfection! Last but not least was the beef, pork and veal meatloaf over garlic mashed potatoes which rounded out a perfect selection of incredible food. This restaurant exemplifies Variety and Something for Everyone, with perfectly priced tapas full menu items and exceptional service. Unfortunately, none of us had room for dessert. No worries, we will be back soon as this is one of the BEST(and most consistently great) Restaurants in Virginia Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A true gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate there last night, and had one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long, long time.
The service was prompt, attentive and helpful. Our server explained this was only her third day as a waitperson, but she had received a month of training at Havana. When is the last time you heard of a restaurant training their staff for a month?!?
The decor was interesting and comfortable. Modern, but not off-putting, a good balance.
The food was spectacular, starting with an innovative, inspiring menu to the lovely presentation I had the feeling we were in for a treat. My salad was a wedge of lettuce with a terrific blue cheese/ chipotle dressing that has now become my favorite of all time. When I tasted my entree (shrimp and chicken in a coconut cream curry sauce) I was blown away. Flavor? You bet! Texture? Perfect!,
Havana is terrific.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseman281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana An American Cafe also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Havana An American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing