We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved This Place”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is amazing. Its gorgeous. The beds... OMG!! SoOoOoOooo comfortable. I just wanted to sleep my life away in that bed. The bathrooms were IIIIIIIGHT... kinda small... but still nice. Room service was great. I thought I was a rockstar and they accomodated me like I was. The food was pretty good. The hotel is in a good location if you don't mind having to drive to the beach.
There are lots of restaurants nearby and a movie theater in the mall across the street. If you're looking to party and kick back on the beach then this def isn't hotel you're looking for. The chick at the front desk was rude. I asked what entertainment was in the area and she told me to go online and see... excuse me?? Anyway I'm still going to rate them well... One bad apple won't ruin the pie.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissTopFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Along with our consistent training to continually improve, we also celebrate great comments such as yours with our team. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    179
    100
    54
    25
See reviews for
167
166
42
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here and I would stay here again. The front desk lady was very friendly, she checked us in an hour early before our check in time. The room was super clean. The bed was very comfortable we fell asleep right as soon as we hit the bed. We didn't eat at the hotel because there are so many restaurants nearby - cheesecake factory, PF chang, Mc donalds, Taco Bell, IHOP. Parking is free at the hotel. Its about a 15 minute drive to the beach. I think next time I'll will try and stay closer to the beach to avoid driving and looking for a place to park. Overall - loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We are excited to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your visit with us in Virginia Beach. We will share and celebrate your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I live in Virginia Beach but decided to get some rooms here with some friends for a night out at Town Center...it was fantastic! The hotel is new, very clean and the staff was really on top of things. The location can't be beat...it is right in the VB Town Center. Many good restaurants and a great nightlife.

The rooms were spacious...especially the corner rooms. The beds were very comfortable. It was a great experience overall and we will certainly do this again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMUstu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
First and most importantly, thank you for choosing the Westin for your visit to Virginia Beach. We will share all your positive comments about your stay with our team. Thank you again for sharing your observations. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We arrived Friday, August 5th, and the reservation clerk told my husband that rooms were being cleaned and he would be called when a room was available.

Incident #1 -After waiting 15-20 minutes, my husband noticed that other guests, who had arrived afterwards were being sent up to available rooms. During this time, the clerk never notified us about a room. It was only after we confronted her, that she told us of an available room.

Incident #2 - Saturday, August 6th. We noticed that a charge of $123.00 was deducted from our credit account (this was after checking online through our laptop). We later found out, through the 1-800 # that this Hotel borrows a certain amount of money depending on how many nights you are going to stay. The charges are taken as a "precaution" in case guests decide to use any of the hotel's services; such as renting an in-room movie, but we were never notified of these charges, they only appear on the bill at the end of our stay. [This happened a second time, when we booked an extra night, and were charged an additional $50 as a "Service fee"]

Incident # 3, the rooms were not "cleaned thoroughly". The beds were made "haphazardly", need more details. There were actual "lumps" on the beds, and the same bedsheets were used.
The cleaning service was very "cheap" with complimentary shampoo, soap,etc. During the first 3 days of our 4 night stay, we were not provided with more soap and shampoo/conditioner - erven though we had clearly run out of each. Does the Westin need money that badly? I guess so, because after leaving a $10.00 tip for he maid, we were finally given six cups for coffee, and only one bottle of shampoo. Who is the manager of this establishment?

Incident # 4... On the last day of our stay, the cleaning staff did not clean our room until 4:00 pm. that day. Their excuse was they thought we were checking out. However, my husband had spoken to the maid that morning and told her that we were not checking out, but that we would still like the room to be cleaned. The woman nodded and even entered our room as we were walking towards the elevator. What was she doing during that time?

For the rate that is charged at the Westin, this location was run "very poorly". We have stayed at other Westin locations, and this location needs major improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for sending your feedback concerning your stay in August. It seems as though there is some confusion that we would like to clear up for you.
Incident #1 (waiting for your room while others were checked in)
Many times, a specific room type may not be available earlier in the day, especially when the hotel is sold out the night before. Our housekeeping team still distributes completed rooms immediately throughout the day of all room types. This would explain why it seemed as though others were able to get into their rooms before you. I apologize that our front desk associate did not explain this to you.

Incident #2 (a charge of $123.00 being held on credit card)
A common practice of the hotel industry is to get authorization on a credit card for room, tax, and incidentals. In this case, the amount you saw on your laptop was simple a authorization. The card itself will never be charged unless actually charges are made to the room. When a guest checks out, these authorizations not used are released.

Incident # 3 (rooms were not "cleaned thoroughly")
We actually offer a green program here that allows our guests to elect to have the bed made with existing sheets vs. changing the bed linens every day. There is also a card in each room that allows the guest to elect to have the sheets changed should they wish.

Incident # 4 (the cleaning staff did not clean our room until 4:00 pm. that day - they thought we were checking out)
For future stays, we would suggest that when extending your stay, you notify the front desk, who can communicate to the housekeeping department that you would like to stay over another night.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed in VB a couple of times on business, first time here in The Westin. That was a good decision. I was happy I switched from the smelly terribly-serviced Hilton Garden Inn on the other end of town center. It's not a beach hotel but for business it's very likely the best place in VB.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience, we will share this with our team. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stay here all the time for business and have never had a bad stay. The staff make it feel like home and the bar at night is like being at your neighbor's house. The rooms are always clean and the beds will put you right to sleep. Free parking is a big plus for me being that I hate paying for my car to stay at a place.
Great place and I highly approve. All the restaurants around the hotel have incredible happy hour deals.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are excited to hear that we continue to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon to enjoy the Westin and the entire Virginia Beach Town Center experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I don’t recommend anyone stay here. My wife and I chose the Westin because it is located directly across the street from The Sandler Center. While the staff was very friendly, the quality and cleanliness of our room was not worth the expense. Our room was spacious, but the shower was cramped and we found mold on the tile. Our major complaint is the room’s air conditioning unit. The compressor was noisy, and it woke us each and every time it started; this made our stay absolutely miserable. The one bright spot was the prompt and courteous room service. My wife and I were very disapointed, and we will not stay at the Westin again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDLatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinVAManager, Manager at Westin Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Although it is always great to hear that our staff was friendly, the room was large, and room service was a positive experience; we apologize that you felt the shower was cramped. For your future stays, we would also suggest that you report the issue with the air conditioner. It allows us to move you immediately to another room while we examine and repair what is needed.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
7.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Virginia Beach Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Virginia Beach Town Center

Property: Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Address: 4535 Commerce St, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-2739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Virginia Beach Town Center 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
236 beautifully appointed rooms include Deluxe Rooms and Suites as well as a private Executive Club floor. Able to host gatherings from 20-500; committed to sustainability and eco-friendly practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Virginia Beach Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Virginia Beach Town Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing