We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor atmosphere!”

Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar
Ranked #31 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rudee's on the Inlet welcomed its rst guest on March 17, 1983, in what was originally designed to be a bait & tackle shop. Since that day, Rudee's has grown to become one of the most popular restaurants and night spots at the Beach. Housed in a replica of an authentic Coast Guard station, the Restaurant & Cabana Bar has grown to include our outside deck with our popular "glider seating" over the water and seasonal re pit tables. Kick back, relax and have a great time. We hope you enjoy our delicious, fresh seafood, specialty drinks and the beautiful sunsets over Rudee Inlet.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great outdoor atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I live in Virginia Beach and I love taking friends here when the visit. MUST sit outside on the gliders--the atmosphere is the best part of this place! The food is good, especially the she-crab soup. At busy times the service can get a little slow, but the staff are always friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennbitt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    233
    125
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Menu Jan 13-20, 2013”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I went here during Restaurant Week Menu Jan 13-20. We both had the Hatteras Chowder and the "Barroll's Point Lobster Roll". It was fantastic. My wife loved it so much she ordered a second Lobster Roll and I thought "Really?" By the time she finished the second Chowder she couldn't eat the rest. That became her dinner that night and she was happy about it. Then the next day she insisted on going and getting take-out for dinner, so we watched TV and dined on Lobster. She was in heaven with two days of Lobster. Now she is watching their website hoping they extend Restaurant Week another week...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“OK place”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had lunch on a cold rainy day, so the deck was not the place to be. Being a local I don't usually eat here during tourist season. The she crab soup was good and could have eaten more. Our server was a tad slow and the place was not busy. Our lunch was good and would have no problem coming back or pointing someone else in this direction.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rudee's was recommended to us by a friend so we wanted to eat there. The seafood was fresh and very tasty. We both had the seafood platter and thought the price was very high for lunch. There was not a very good selection of side dishes; the seafood platter came with a vegetable medley and two small roasted potatoes.

The server was excellent, very efficient and was constatnly checking on us to see if we needed anything. We very much enjoyed the meal and the surroundings; however it was overpriced for the amount of food you received.

If money is not a problem and you want good food, I would recommend you try Rudees. However, if your finances are tight, you might want to try a restaurant further away from the water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The deck is the place to be.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If Rudee's didn't have the open air deck, I would say that it is just an average spot, but the swinging chairs just make the place complete. The drink and food prices are a little high for the quality, but the atmosphere makes up for it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlyNavy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing