We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View of Beach but Noisy for Off-season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of Beach but Noisy for Off-season”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a very clean and trendy hotel near the southern most end of the VA Beach Boardwalk. It offered a beautiful view of the beach and easy access to everything. While the windows were sound proof, the rooms are not and for off-season this was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I cannot imagine staying in the hotel during peak season. The room-suite was brightly colored, fashionably decorated and spacious. However, the bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small.

The heated indoor pool was pretty chilly and had so much chlorine it burned. You could smell the chlorine odor outside the closed door.

We paid extra for a romantic room package and despite giving the hotel an expected arrival time the champagne, while in the room, was not chilled and we could not enjoy it immediately.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the noise issues you experienced. I appreciate your comments and will use them constructively to improve our levels of service. We do hope you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs when traveling to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    325
    141
    44
    37
See reviews for
570
188
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

ok this hotel cost the 3 of us 2 nights bed and breakfast in a two room suite $680.00. but i wish we could have stayed longer. this hotel had everything. fantastic indoor and outdoor pools . a pool bar serving drinks and snacks. beachfront location. all attractions within walking distance. beautiful clean rooms. we were on the 7th floor. lovely sunrise. everything going on outside on the beach. the best hotel and highlight of our trip so far! 2 and a half weeks to go. you definatly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to being your home away from home whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2011

SpringHill Suites in Virginia Beach has the most wonderful staff there is! Nelly at the front desk helped us out, we had a reservation at a different hotel that was not what it claimed. We stopped at SpringHill Suites to inquire about rates and availability. Nelly was so kind she let us look at rooms she helped us out of a bad situation. She was wonderful! Then when we needed anything all we had to do was asked, Destinee was at the front desk each time we needed an extra blanket, pillow, or just wanted the hot tub heated more! She never made us feel unimportant and anything we ask she helped without a moments hesitation. By far the BEST hotel we have ever stayed at in Virginia Beach and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that Nelly and Destinee were accommodating and that they made such a difference in your stay. We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and look forward to your visiting us again when you come to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were returning from a stressful visit with a terminally ill family member and needed a good night's rest before returning home. We made the right choice in choosing this hotel. It looked like a brand new hotel and the room was very clean and comfortable. It is rare to find a hotel, especially in a beach area, as clean as this one. Breakfast was delicious, and the hotel also offered a room service menu (even though they have no restaurant) during the week for the convenience of guests as most close by restaurants are closed for the season in January. As a retired interior designer, I found the interiors and design amazing and uplifting. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. This is now our hotel of choice in Virginia Beach!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry to hear of the purpose of your trip and will keep your family in my thoughts. We are proud to be your hotel of choice and will do all we can to make your visits as easy as possible through this difficult time. I do hope you also have the opportunity to visit under more positive circumstances when the weather is warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Hotel room was very relaxing with nice sitting area adjacent to bedroom - separate televisions in each room. Also contained a "mini-kitchen" area with refrigerator and microwave. Enjoyed a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. The breakfast included in the price of the room was extensive and well organized -- no complaints. Hot coffee and tea were always available. The service was excellent throughout our stay with a very friendly, accommodating staff. This hotel was the perfect spot to make our mini family reunion a big success. We all had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible, and appreciate your kind comments. Your family was a joy to have at our hotel and we look forward to making your visit an annual event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

If you are planning to stay at this Virginia Beach hotel, be prepared for service beyond belief. I wrote the hotel to thank them, and Nelly (the front desk supervisor) wrote me back within a day. Everyone there is wonderful! If you need anything, and I mean anything, Nelly is there to make sure it happens, then follows up to make sure it happened. You guys rock! If you have never experienced the Atlantic ocean in the winter from a beautiful ocean front room, you have not lived. And if you decide to do so, stay at this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Trust me. Thanks Nelly! - Michael

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikein619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your positive experience. Your comments are very important to us and greatly appreciated. I am proud to hear Nelly's efforts made such a difference in your stay and that you enjoyed the cold and quiet time of winter at the oceanfront. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
page, az
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2011

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TOLD WHAT TO DO BY A COMPLETE STRANGER. A friend of mine had a birthday the other day and got a room at this hotel. That night we all went out to celebrate his birthday. At some point we got separated and he went back to his room and we told him we would meet him there and go get something to eat. We show up the the hotel to go up and wait for him while he got ready. The door was lock, which is understandable for 1 am in the morning. We hit the button to talk to the front desk ladie, told her what room we were here to visit, what his last name was, and asked if she could call him down to let us in.....with a attitude she picks up the phone and calls him down. Doesn't bother to let us know what was said or if he was even coming down. A few seconds later he comes down, she walks over to him and begins to tell him that "it is to late for you to be having people over" and " you look like you are drunk and you have 5mins to get back to your room or I will have you kicked out." Then tells us we have to leave. Granted he had been drinking because it was his birthday but I was the DD and had not. In the first place, she had no right to tell him who he could have go to his room, she really no right to scorn him about he looked drunk and sent him to his room like a child. I would understand if he was throwing a party up stairs but he was just getting ready to go to Denny's. So unless you want to pay a lot of to be told how you should enjoy your room and stay.

P.S. I called today and talked to the front desk manager and she just didn't seem to care and basically said without even knowing anything, "Oh well, we don't alow parties here so she just didn't want to deal with anything."

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodrjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to apologize for not providing you with the experience you have every right to expect when staying at our hotel. It is our obligation to maintain a safe and secure environment for all of our guests, and unfortunately this can occaisionally cause inconveniences. We do take all feedback seriously and will use yours as a learning tool to improve the level of service that we deliver in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
819 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn by Marriott Virgin...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing