We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
WV
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was my 2nd visit at Sprighill Suites. We choose to go in Sept as the rates are down and during the summer months, we probably couldn't afford to stay there.
I love this motel so much I am willing to wait until Sept to go on vacation. For one thing, it is such a pretty motel-everything so nice and bright. Staff is very nice and breakfast is also very good. We like staying at that end of the beach too. Highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank sally1234Wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    331
    144
    46
    37
See reviews for
582
191
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed at three different hotels in Virginia Beach this past week, to maximize our Marriott and Holiday Inn points, at the Spring Hill Suites was by far the best one we stayed at. The staff was more then accomodating to our ever need. We arrived early and the room wasn't ready but they took our cell number, gave us a lobby key and within 15 minutes they called to let us know the room was ready. If you stay here request a room on the second floor. The balconies are about 10x larger on this floor giving the feeling that your room is twice as large. When we got into our room we found the small refrigerator was not working. I called the front desk and within 10 minutes they were wheeling a new fridge, that was already cold, into the room.

The breakfast was one of the best free buffets I had ever eaten at. The kids loved that there were 4 different waffle makers to choose from including a bear shaped maker. Not only could you make regular waffes but they had chocolate waffle mix available also plus loads of whipped cream.

The breakfast lasted until 10:30 and even though it was difficult to find a seat during the busy time (9:30-10:00) we alway found available seating since the turn-over is quick.

We never tried the outdoor pool since the weather was perfect for the beach but when we walked past it it looked very nice.

The breakfast was even better when you compare it to the Fairfield Inn we stayed during our stay. Nothing but reheated "eggs" at that hotel.

All in all this was a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skgdsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowler, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Yes you will pay a little more to stay at this hotel ...but it is so worth it. We had not been to Virginia Beach for 20 years but decided to try it again. So we stayed from Aug16th to the 21st at this hotel. Much to our surprise the beach and the surrounding boardwalk was so much cleaner than we remembered. Spring Hill suites we felt went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We stayed in a queen suite and found that we had enough room for a family of 4 adults and a 3 year old. The price of the room was $300 per night with the AAA discount thats with tax. The balcony view from the 5th floor was wonderful. We got up early and went to the breakfast that had everything hot and cold a person could want with a staff that was very pleasant. If you go before 8am you will not have to stand in line. We then would bring a cup of coffee back to the room and watched thedolfins from our balcony as the others slept.
The Hotel staff was absolutely wonderful from check in to check out. They really went out of their way to be helpful. We got to know alot of them by their first name. I couln't help but notice how the housekeeping employees worked very hard to keep the hotel and grounds very clean. We even saw one employee cleaning the corners of the lobby and the crevices around the indoor pool. Little details make a difference.

The outdoor pool was very nice however it got very crowded in the afternoon as did the beach. The beach club restraunt there had good food and great drinks however a little pricey. The indoor pool was not as crowed in the afternoon and was a nice change of pace to get out of the sun.

We loved the 4 person bikes that you could rent which cost $20 for 2 hours. We rented one and rode up and down the boardwalk stopping to take pictures at the King Neptune's statue, Our little 3 year old loved the amusement park (within walking distance for the hotel) . The price of tickets were $1 and most of the rides took 3 tickets to ride. She just thought it was great ....there was also a nice play ground next to the hotel on the beach. we were there almost every night. On Sunday nights and Wed. nights you can watch fireworks over the ocean from the balconey. We loved it.

We plan to definately return to this hotel...it is the nicest place on the beach!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gd7Fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSVBOAGM, Assistant General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2009
Thank you for posting such nice comments about our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We try hard to make sure every guest who stays with us has a great experience, and I’m happy we were able to meet your expectations.

Keeping the hotel clean and sand-free in the summer is a never-ending job, and we are lucky to have a staff of dedicated housemen who work hard to make sure the hotel stays looking great throughout the day. I will be sure to pass your comments on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Second visit to VABeach. This time with the entire family. Booked an end unit separate bedroom suite. These suites only have double/queen beds, no king beds. Wife and I are tall folks. Not happy with feet dangling over bed edges. Was very unimpressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel overall. In our suite it appeared as if the only clean item was the sheets. Dust, debris, rug stains, mirrors not cleaned, food spillage in microwave, stains on sofa. View was great, but you can't live on the balcony your entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This hotel has a great location, very helpful staff, wonderful rooms, free parking and a view to die for from its balconies. What more could you want?
The outdoor pool is fantastic, the indoor pool so-so and the hot tub never seemed to be working.
We stayed for 3 nights in August, when two would probably be enough and although the hotel wasn't cheap, it was the only placed we would have wished to stay.
Having FREE parking is arela obnus in this area and so good to have a space to come back to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This is the first time staying at this place. I took my family and sister-in-Iaw with her kids. I am not a big fan of the service I usually recieve at VA Beach (anywhere) but will say this is the best place I have stayed in my years of coming here. (I keep coming because the family likes it). We requested early check in when we made the reservations and got to the motel at 11 our room was not ready but they took our cell number and said they would call when it was so we decided to do some shopping. About 11.30 they called and said it was ready. The lobby is really nice. It has a place with 3 laptops incase you need to use one. The breakfast area is pretty big but did get crowded after 8:30ish. I myself enjoyed breakfast there one day while watching the news. The other days we just came down and got what we wanted and carried it back to the room. The breakfast bar has something for everyone and somethings did change daily. The room was nice and clean. We had a 2 bed, 2 room, sleepsofa, kitchenette which had micro, coffe maker, sink, ice bucket with 4 glasses (bring your own plates, utenciles, cups or get them from Daves a few blocks down the street). The balcony was a little small but we had a corner room so I dont know if they are all like that. The placement of the motel is perfect for the sunrise in the morning. It also seems to be in perfect alignment for Oceanas Jet flight path. This was cool at first but got annoying after the 2nd day of hearing them fly over constantly day and night. It also appears that on this end of the beach it is not as crowded as the opposite side of the pier. There are 2 pools each has a hot tub. Was told that the indoor pool was cold all the time so we stayed in the outdoor one. It has a Tiki bar. Drinks are a little steep and weak. Plenty of dry towles. No lifeguards. Our teenagers enjoyed the weight room. The parking situation is kinda funny. There is only one spot per car so if you have a small trailer you might have a problem. There are 4 levels but you cannot get to them from any of the floors. You have to go from what ever floor your on to the elevator to the lobby then to another elevator to the deck. Its probly easier just to pay the bellhop a few bucks to get your bags and car and load up at the lobby door. I know thats what I will be doing next time. The only real complaint I have is the first night we stayed we settled down for bed and found that we didnt have pillows for the sleep sofa. We called the front desk at 10pm and the lady said no problem they would bring some right up. 11pm still not pillows. I called my kids who where on the boardwalk and told them when they came up to stop by the desk and get some pillows. The lady at the desk gave them the 3rd degree and gave them 1 pillow and said they would get the rest to us in the morning. Well they did at 7:15 am they were knocking at the door. I was not pleased or amused. Over all though we had a really nice stay and will be back this winter for the lights on the beach hopefully. One last thing. If your a smoker. They dont have smoking rooms and do not allow it on the balconys either. They actually have stickers on the balcony doors. First time I had ever seen that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family. The suites were nice sized but not a true suite unless you reserved a one bedroom. Room was clean but facility itself i.e .indoor pool, common areas needed more upkeep. I know there are people coming in and out of the beach and the common areas get dirty quickly but so should the hotel.

There are a lot of choices for the free breakfast. My kids liked the waffles you can make. The hotel was very busy but the lines were not that bad. No lines if you went down before 9 am.

Outdoor pool was nice but you have to walk out of the back of the hotel and basically go to an area next to the hotel. The pictures make it look like it is behind the the hotel but it is not.

Free parking was nice and easy to get your car. There was also free internet. The hotel is convenient to boardwalk and rest. in the area. We ate at Watermans a few blocks down and it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marriedwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing