We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Every Minute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
OH- IO Buckeye Country USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved Every Minute!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Wow! What an amazing hotel. Every room faces the ocean and has a private balcony. We were lucky and were there during the full moon. Nothing like the sound of the ocean to put you to sleep at night! The free breakfast buffet was outstanding and included hot foods; including waffles, eggs, and sausage, as well as the usual continental foods. The kitchenette area included a mini-fridge and mini-microwave. It had plenty of storage for the snacks foods we brought. The hotel in general was very clean and the staff worked hard all day to keep the floors dry and free of sand and water. The staff were very friendly and courteous and the housekeepers kept our room spotless. We loved the pillows- 5 on each bed- and the sheets were very comfortable-even with sun-burned skin. The only concern we had was all trying to get ready in the morning in the small vanity area, but we consider this minor. We really enjoyed spending time between the ocean and the outdoor pool. There were plenty of towels for all of us. We also enjoyed watching the volleyball games as the courts were right in front of the hotel. The beach was just a short walk away and the boardwalk was right outside the door. The SpringHill Suites helped make our trip to Virginia Beach truly unforgettable. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSVBOAGM, Assistant General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thank you for the kind comments regarding our hotel. Our staff works hard to ensure we meet the expectations of our guests, and comments such as yours are the inspiration for what we do.

We appreciate the time you took to leave feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    325
    141
    44
    37
See reviews for
570
188
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We had a wonderful stay here 5 days in July. Housekeeping was great, nice clean rooms. The breakfast buffet in the morning was convenient, especially if you have young children, and the all day coffee bar! Valet was quick with service and taking our bags. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Our suite was perfect for our short stay. The balcony could be a bit larger but overall it was fine. We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangtrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

I just want to start off by saying that our stay at this hotel was very nice, but like one of the other reviewers our room request was not honored. I booked on-line and requested the 2 Queen bed suite. When we arrived, we were given a one bed King suite. Since I was traveling with two small children, this was not going to work. My husband called the front desk and we were issued another room. It seems to be a pattern if you request specific accommodations or request a charge, that you are given the handicapped accessible room. The room was nice and the bathroom was huge, but there was only one TV and there was no separate seating area as seem in the photos of the hotel. This doesn't help when you have children that want to watch one thing and an adult that wants to watch another. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. The only other draw back was the wait for the elevator around check-out time. You had to let several pass by before one was available to accommodate you and all of your stuff.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again myself.
However, I would view my room before accepting it and probably pack and load my car the night before check-out, in order to beat the rush.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer_tripin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

I made reservations for the July 4th weekend. I called the hotel directly and requested rooms near the North end ..near the pool. They confirmed that my request would be honored. We arrived Friday the 3rd...drove in where the sign said "Complementary Valet" there was no one there. In fact throughout our stay I hardly ever saw a valet attendent there. Upon checking in I found that our request for North end room location was not honored. To make a long story shorter....we were put in a handicapped accessible room. The balconies are very small....and here is the biggest design flaw I ever seen......the exhaust vent for the room air conditioners is located on each of the balconies. When it goes on, it is very loud and blows HOT air onto you...not the place you thought you might relax and view the ocean. You have to turn off your air conditioner. There is not much to do in the hotel. There is no activities desk and the Breakfast Lines can be extremely long on busy weekends. For the price paid.....it was a disappointing stay. Just because it has the Marriott logo, doesn't mean you'll get the premium experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in June 2009. The common areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. Our room was on the 5th floor - perfect for watching the volleyball games on the beach. The room was very clean and comfortable - we loved the linens and the bedding. We had two TVs which was perfect for us. We kept our beach chairs, etc. in our van out front so we had plenty of space in the room. The breakfast was fantastic - eggs, waffles, sausage, fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc. Great nearby restaurants: Planet Pizza and Mahi Mahs. The pool by the beach was great! The weather was so windy that the lifeguards had the red flags up - so the outside pool provided a great place to hang. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite! Perfect mini-vacation!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Ok,, so the truth is this hotel is the best..
1.clean big rooms, with kitchenetts,, sink, microwave, fridge,, and cabinets...
2.all of the second floor have bigger patio's with table and seating for 4
3.this hotel is located in front of the vollyball courts...
4. the staff is so friendly,, you never feel like you are bothering them
5. THE OUT DOOR POOL IS THE BEST...NICE CLEAN, BIG,, AND YOU CAN RUN BACK AND FOURTH FROM THE BEACH AND POOL ALL DAY LONG
6. the continental breakfast is really nice,, they have alot of choices,, and they have trays to take it up to your room and eat on your patio.
7.. they have an all day coffee bar with yes,, flavored cream, and hot tea, and hot chocolate.. the coffee is really good,, and you never have to go out for coffee... it is fresh and looks like you are holding a cup of coffee from a starbucks,,,
8. the dolphens have a show everymoring in the ocean .. about 6-8 am they are jumping out of the ocean all morning.
9. since the navy planes have training , you have an air show that is very entertaining,, to watch,,,
10. everything is in walking distance,,, there is a dairy queen on the strip, a subway across the street,,, and planet pizza across the street which is pretty good... it's kinda like califorinia pizza kitchen pizza,, good salads, and beefs and sandwiches,, we had a philly cheese sandwich one day that was sooo good.
11. we also went go carting,, which if you have a car is 1 mile away,, with a water park,,
12. they have a pool bar that you can charge to your room,, and they have great food,, goood margaritas,,,
13... i would walk everymorning on the boardwalk at 6 am ,, very safe and the beach is so clean they clean the whole boardwalk everymorning,,
14... AND WOMEN,, THERE IS NO COMPETITION OUT HERE,, EVERYONE IS JUST NORMAL,, RUNNING AROUND ,, NO GIRLS WITH THONGS ON,, NO BREAST IMPLANTS,, YOU WILL FEEL VERY CONFIDENT IN VIRGINIA BEACH,,,


I think people rate this hotel to harshly,, and to be honest with you ,,I have researched online where i wanted to stay,, and I had narrowed it down to two hotels,,, and im glad i stayed at the spring hll marriot,, the only other place i would stay would be the BEACH CLUB,, and it is by the hilton,, well enjoy as i have,, and there are not kids running all over the place,, i stayed for a week and it was calm....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faracigomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

My son and I stayed at this hotel, it was a nice room, with a balcony. We stayed on the 11th floor. From looking at the description on the website I thought the bedroom area and the living room area would be seperated by a full wall, but it was only a half wall, so it didnt allow for much privacy. The rooms were ok, and I had a military discount so I only paid about $150 a night. Can't ask for a much better price for a view of the ocean. We didnt eat the complimentary breakfast buffet, but it seemed pretty popular. The hotel has a parking garage, which is pretty convienient and you can pretty much walk every where else. We did have a problem with some noise from our teenage neighbors who were having a party, and had to complain to the front desk. The second night we were there the cops were there arresting the same people that I had previously complained about. Not a good experience for my 12 year old son. Other than that it was in a pretty good location. I dont know if I would stay again, perhaps a quieter floor, or on a weekend when there were less kids roaming the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing