We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Crowded But Accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
IN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Crowded But Accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel and grounds. Outdoor pool very nice. Indoor pool was cloudy and full of sand. Breakfast bar was very crowded I have never seen a longer line in any hotel before. Room was very nice and big however could have been dusted a little bit more often because there was dust all over the furniture and all along the walls. Stained carpet in the hallways and in our room. Anyone could walk in off the beach into the hotel, which they did to use our facilities which made it annoying during the day trying to get to the bathroom in the commons area. Hotel staff was very nice, always willing to help. I know it was summer and peak crowds but we were always having to wait on a elevator. Great location on the beach within walking distance to a lot of stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our SpringHill Suites. We are very happy that you were pleased with your recent stay. The negatives have been addressed with the staff and we are thankful for your input. It is input such as these that allow us to improve on a daily basis. Again, thank you for your review and we hope we can serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    315
    138
    43
    30
See reviews for
559
182
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel was OK. Crowded for breakfast, but just what you would expect for middle of summer on the beach. I felt like we were treated like Spring Breakers, though. They wouldn't give us a key to our room because they said they had already issued 4. I also called ahead of time to put names on the rooms, and they were very confused about that and rude a check in. Room was clean-ish. Splash stains on doors and mirrors were not wiped down. Very expensive for a very mediocre hotel. Next time in Virginia Beach, we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback seriously, and have thoroughly researched this matter. Your comments have been addressed with our team for improvement, as this is not the type of service we strive to provide. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

First the good stuff
1. Awesome staff. Very caring and helpful.
2. Good facility in swimming areas, good access to beach, nice lobby, ample parking, nice rooms
3. Decent breakfast (yogurts, milks, biscuits, eggs (boiled and scrambled), variety of breads, juices, coffee, fresh waffle, cereal, hot oatmeal
4. Free valet parking at hotel! Tips appreciated of course.

Much of the staff are foreign nationals on a summer job and are really caring. Tips are appreciated.

Now the bad:
1. Rooms are dated and not all things work
2. Leaking sink, slow running bath tub
3. Insufficient electrical outlets, and poorly placed
4. Mini fridge door closes in some rooms and not in others. (We had several rooms in the family)
5. Room walls leaked with wet carpets after rain, replacement room also leaked!
6. Slow running tub


Overall, the facility is rescued by their hospitality. This is one of the better hotels on this strip. We had much positive experience with the rooms 2 years ago but the place has lost upkeep.

Also, while they quickly arranged for a replacement room after our room carpets, they didn't respond in any way to my computer and camera bag getting wet. That aspect was disappointing.

Also, another wet room in the family was replaced with a room that leaked within a day and the hotel leased our old rooms to the unsuspecting next client after drying the carpets. The problem wasn't fixed because the replacement room that was under it also leaked within the day! This I did not like.

So, great staff in an aging hotel that's at a great location and has some good things going for it, but for how long?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelreviewer714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our SpringHill Suites. We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay with us last week. The negatives have been addressed with the staff and we are thankful for your input. It is input such as these that allow us to improve on a daily basis. Again, thank you for your review and we hope we can serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have been at SpringHill since last Thursday. I just want to say that whoever does the training here, knows what they are doing! The customer service from the front desk to housekeeping to the breakfast staff is excellent. They always greet you and have a smile on their face. They are happy to get you whatever you need if they can. We rented the second floor oversized balcony king studio suite. The room is very nice. The balcony could use some TLC, but I know that is hard to do during tourist season.
I will definitely consider staying here again! If you want to be treated well, stay here. You will love it!

Room Tip: I know many people want an upper floor, however the second floor with the over sized balcony is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcchesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate your choosing our hotel and I'm glad we're able to deliver consistent service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Another great Marriott beach hotel. If you're looking for a nice place to stay right on the beach in Virginia Beach you can't beat this hotel. It seemed to be almost brand new - lobby looked very modern and updated. Rooms were nicely designed, beautifully decorated and furnished. You get a office/living room area with desk, couch and chair. It has a small refrigerator, sink and microwave. Then in the main room 2 queen beds, large bathroom and balcony. Both rooms have large flat screen TVs. Hotel is right on the beach and the view can't be beat. Also, includes a really nice buffet breakfast. All in all this place is a winner. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a better view of the water - we were on the 12th floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased everyone enjoyed their time here. It's great to read you made the most of your trip by taking advantage of all our amenities! Thank you for comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My family has access to the pool via our family condo. The experience at the pool is what I can speak to though our family has a long history with the Marriott company which is excellent. Sarah A. Is the bartender at the poolside bar. She is amazing. She remembered us from the year before. She remembered us by name the second day we came back this stay and her service is always pleasant and great. We don't drink anything exotic but she remembers our drink, they are well made the way we like them and she makes our visit a great one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I am proud to hear that Sarah made such a difference in your pool bar experience. She will be recognized for her efforts. We appreciate your business as our neighbor and we look forward to the next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend here - facilities are nice enough. Kind of odd that the outdoor hotel pool and restaurant aren't connected to the building and the bar/restaurant is only open until 8pm - even on weekends at the height of the summer! Same deal with room service. Our biggest complaint is, after returning from a long day at the beach, we found our room hadn't been cleaned. Wouldn't have been as big of a deal except the sheets on the bed were too small and kept popping off the corner all night (revealing a stained mattress - ew). We were hoping to at least have a newly made bed so we wouldn't have to fight with the sheets again. Housekeeping had been in the room next to us that morning and we had very briefly put our do not disturb sign out while we quickly changed clothes for the beach. When we returned later that day (around 5:30pm) and found the room uncleaned, we called the front desk to request someone to come up. We were told we had left the do not disturb on all day and it would not be cleaned. We absolutely did not leave the do no disturb on!! We went to the front desk to discuss it with the manager, not to get a discount or complain - just to get our room cleaned. She was incredibly rude and kept cutting my husband off. She assured us that the housekeeping staff always checks and they would not have made a mistake. The situation was handled very poorly - for over $350/night I would expect much better customer service. Too many other options on the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaDebfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback seriously, and have thoroughly researched this matter. Your comments have been addressed with our team for improvement, as this is not the type of service we strive to provide. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#25 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#29 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#15 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3529
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing