We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“the perfect hotel experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I can't write enough good things about this hotel. They really go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. I esp. enjoyed the breakfast, which was incl., the beautiful lobby, fast elevators, clean non musty smelling rooms. There is nothing they could have done to make the stay any better, it was perfect.

  • Liked — breakfast incl., lobby, clean rooms, decor of whole hotel, location
  • Disliked — would like a room safe, instead of going to front desk for lock box, but valuables are def. safe
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    331
    144
    46
    37
See reviews for
582
191
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We spent two nights here for a quick family getaway and had a wonderful time! The staff was more than accommodating and our room was nice with a beautiful view. I thought breakfast was great! We have four children so we made sure to be downstairs before it got too crowded. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank 6texansrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in August as part of a week long vacation in Virginia. Our room was on the 12th floor and it had 2 adults and 2 children. My parents were only staying two nights and they were on the 11th floor. They had only 2 adults in their room. We arrived late, well after check-in time because we came from a full day at Busch Gardens. It was late and we were all tired and hungry, so I did not notice too much until the sun came up the next day. Our room was not so clean. To me it looked as if the room was only cleaned for current guests and not for a new check-in, when they clean the whole room, change the bedding, vacuum the room and so on. When I went down to my parents room I really realized our room was never thoroughly done by housekeeping for an arriving check-in. There room was clean, no lipstick stains on glasses, no piles of sand, no trash on the floor from previous guest, a complimentary bottle of spring water and so on.

The hotel did have a good location and all rooms are facing the ocean. The air conditioner is noisy when you are out on the balcony. When the slider door was open, anyone watching t.v. had a difficult time hearing it. Just a design flaw.

The pool was nice and it did have a large crane and other construction items near it for the construction of the new hotel going up next door. Though not a flaw the Marriott has control over.

The breakfast buffet was good. There were many choices each morning. The bad things about the buffet, seating can be difficult to find unless you go very early and unattended children. Not the hotel's fault but where are the parents??

All in all we had a good time. Just wish housekeeping can do a better job cleaning the rooms. It is a shame because the hotel is new, you would think it was clean.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMOF2PRINCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We were excited about staying at a brand new hotel. We were pretty surprised at how "lived in" our hotel room was. The carpeting was surprisingly stained through out, not just one spot. The room wasn't very clean. Housekeeping is pretty lax. The bathroom looked used when we checked in so I thought they would clean it better the next day. They didn't so I had to call front desk. Our maid kept forgetting to leave essentials like toilet paper, soap and drinking glasses.

We stayed at the Fairfield ocean front on our last visit to VA Beach and were pretty spoiled. The Springhill Suites does not compare to the Fairfield, service-wise or cleanliness-wise. If housekeeping doesn't start "cleaning," this hotel will be trashed in another year. The lobby and pools were clean, but rooms were marginal.

I wouldn't advise getting a 2nd floor room because of the extra large patio. People above like to feed the seagulls and you get a lot of bread and food on your patio. Plus lots of seagulls. You also get everyone's cigarette butts from above.

The outside pool is very nice and fun! It's nice to have a restaurant right there, a great place for a late lunch or dinner.

It's a nice hotel but was lacking.

  • Liked — location, outside pool
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewitttraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degau816, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2008
Dear Valued Guests,

I am writing in response to the comments we have recently been receiving concerning the carpet cleanliness and overall housekeeping issues.

Our room decor is designed with very light colors, looks great, however very difficult to maintain, especially when our hotel is full during the summer months. The wear and tear our hotel receives during these times can be very challenging.

I assure you, cleanliness is a priority at this hotel and we have recently reviewed these comments with our staff. We are in the process of having all our guest room carpets cleaned now that we have slowed down and have revisited our expectations on cleanliness with all our staff. I want to apologize for all those who's expectations we fell short to meet. It is our objective to ensure no guest leaves this hotel dissapointed.

Duane Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Fantastic hotel right on a big beautiful beach. VB has a lot of hotels to choose from and Springhill Suites was highly rated on Trip Advisor - it's a great choice. While you might pay more than others, but it's neat and clean with great ocean front views, nice size suites and a very helpful staff.
Free breakfast was a nice added touch, it was a bit crazy on the weekend but that made it fun for the kids - the choices were great and plentiful.
What a beach, go out early (9:30 on a weekend) and rent an umbrella and chairs, it's a bit priced but if you didn't bring your own, well worth it. Fireworks two nights in a row visible from your room was the icing on the cake.
The dolphins swimming in the water off the hotel is true and that was quite special, especially early morning. You got the boardwalk right there (it's a long walk) and plenty of nearby retaurants. All in all we really liked our stay at Springhill Suites.

  • Liked — Location on the beach and condition of hotel
  • Disliked — no beach towels
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay here last year; we booked the week it just opened. The location is wonderful - lots of great restaurants (Mahi Mah's, Rockfish, Waterman's), a playground for our kids, steps from the beach. We also liked the fact that there was a wet bar with refrigerator, microwave and cupboards in the room; very convenient for storing snacks and drinks for our kids. The breakfast buffet was also plentiful, though crowded and not well controlled. So we booked again this year. We had an awesome time on our vacation but I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the hotel room this year. I was surprised that after only one year open, the room looked run down. The carpet was stained and the shower was mildewed. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job either - the sinks were not washed, our sheets always had sand in them, and we never got enough clean towels. There was trash on the balcony from the previous guests. The hotel advertised complimentary bottled water, but the staff only left us one 16 oz. bottle the whole 5 days we were there. The hotel did have some things this summer that were nice for the kids - like movie night at the pool and a kids' show in the hotel. And I agree with a previous poster that the public areas were well kept (we did not try the indoor pool this year because we remembered how cold the water was last year; we really liked the outdoor pool though). We may try this hotel again next year because we love the location, but I am disappointed that things have gone downhill in such a short time. A new Hampton Inn is being built right next door so that may be one we could try instead.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms not kept clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MareAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I stayed here with my extended family in August 2008.
The lifts cannot cope with the amount of guests staying.
Long wait for breakfast so I didnt have any.
Reception staff were unhelpful and not very interested.
Unable to acquire coffee in lobby as never any left.
Rooms were big but carpets and bedding were stained. No toiletries or coffee left in room.
Wasted 2 days of vacation staying here.
Did not feel like a new hotel at all.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Thought it was tacky
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forrestersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing