We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peak-season haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Peak-season haven”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First, this hotel certainly meets the high standards one expects from the Marriott brand. The staff is capable and cordial, all the facilities well-maintained, and the rooms comfortable and clean. Many of the other reviews here verify the great service and attention to the guests.
But top reason to stay is the hassle-free vacation weekend.

We spent the Labor Day weekend here, complete with American Music Festival, the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon, and of course the usual end-of-summer crowds flocking to the beach for one last shindig. Yet with all of that going on, we never had to search out a parking space, a pool chair, or face the traffic to get to a good restaurant.

Location: At the southern end of the beach, it’s close to inexpensive, mid-level and high-end restaurants, right for any style of dining. Plenty of shops and markets along the avenue. Just stroll north on the boardwalk to the more active evening venues, and the headliner stage for the music festival is 3 blocks south – you can enjoy the music from your balcony, but shut it out effectively to get some sleep.

Parking: As easy as it gets. The on-site parking garage always had spaces available, day or night. Much different from the north end hotels, with lots across the busy Atlantic Avenue that seem to always be full. Complimentary Valet available, and met us with a luggage cart as we arrived.

Pools: A large outdoor pool with snack bar beside the hotel, with plenty of lounge chairs. We never had to search out a set of chairs or wait for someone else to vacate. Lots of umbrellas to ward of the afternoon sun. Just across the boardwalk to the ocean to get that salt-water experience. Good-sized indoor pool in case the weather turns.

The one disappointment is the absence of an in-room safe. I don’t want to keep track of cell phones and jewelry on the beach, yet it’s hard to feel secure leaving them in the room.

I’ve visited a lot of the Virginia Beach oceanfront hotels, and this one removes a lot of the minor annoyances that mar the holiday. The hotel is top-notch, and the little things like parking and pool chairs make a big difference.

Room Tip: Higher rooms avoid the beach noise. All rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Your comments are very important to us and greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. We value you as a guest and we want to make sure we are meeting your needs and exceeding your expectations. We hope to see you again next year for the holiday weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    326
    142
    44
    37
See reviews for
571
189
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel recently. Overall it was a good hotel and I'd stay again if I were to go back.

It was overcast the whole time we were there and rained a couple of times, but that didn't stop us having a good time and doing plenty of swimming in the ocean.

Pros: Right on the beach, you can watch the kids in the water from your room balcony. Reasonably spacious room even with 5. Breakfast pretty good. Check in staff and all other staff really nice.

Cons: Breakfast was really busy. If you didn't get there at 7 or 7:15, you had to line up in a line of about 30-40 people to get to the breakfast buffet, and forget about getting a table. We noticed this on our first morning and came down each morning early, got a good table and had no trouble.. but it was a bit of an inconvenience to have to get up so early when on holidays.

Outdoor pool heater was not functioning and the kids said the pool water was freezing, so we didn't use the outdoor pool, only the surf. Pity as it looked like it could be a cool place to swim and hang out for a drink and bit to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at our hotel. I apologize for any confusion regarding the outdoor pool It actually is not heated as the sunshine handles that for us. Unfortunately when it rains the temperature can drop a bit, which was the case during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del haven, nj
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we stay here the week after lablor day with a large convention. the staff are all friendly and eager to accommodate anything you want. 4 pools, gym, movie theatre, restaurants on site, spacious oceanview or oceanfront rooms. bathrooms are recenrly updated. plenty of garage parking across the street. large lobby. kids playroom. free wi-fi. ask to see tonka and tink, the resident tortoises that walk the halls or poolside. kids luv em! my only negative is the somewhat low water pressure in the shower. probably a water saver program. we are coming back next year.

Room Tip: you want oceanfront if possible. the top floor tends to be warm in the afternoon. also avoid the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk31668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy everyone enjoyed their time here. It's so great to read you made the most of your trip by taking advantage of all our amenities! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon! Have a fantastic year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had to stay here for a business trip. The room was spacious with a great view of the ocean. However it was very cold and off peak season. For the summer it would have be wonderful with beach there. There was a huge boardwalk to walk down with lots of restaurants and shops and activities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sd1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently spent 3 days at the Springhill Suites, and I was absolutely pleased with my stay. As soon as I entered, I was greeted by Shay and Lacey at the front desk. They were very helpful with checking me in and alerting me to all of the amenities that are available. I also greatly enjoyed my time at the poolbar, where my family and I had the pleasure of meeting the bartender, Patrick. I am surprised he does not have more compliments on Trip Advisor because he provides excellent service, no matter what the business volume. He informed us of all the specials, and treated my kids absolutely wonderful!! All of the staff at this hotel deserve recognition for the service they provide.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is spotty on most floors, best to use the internet provided in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the kind words about our staff. We are glad that you had such an extraordinary stay with us while you were visiting the Virginia Beach area. We are lucky to have people like Shay, Lacey and Patrick on our team to give such great attention to our guests and provide the kind of service that we strive for. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful three day mid-week stay the last week of August. The room was large and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast bar was very good with a variety of delicious food. The pools were clean and not crowded, day or evening. The beach and ocean were very clean. No seaweed, dead fish or other unpleasantness that we have found on other beaches. The lifeguards were out there until about 8 pm and did a very good job of keeping the swimmers from drifting too far out when the waves were a little rough one day. The employees were friendly, helpful and informative. Housekeeping was happy to provide extra towels, and the valet at the front door was happy to give us directions. The staff that kept the breakfast bar stocked for all the hungry people were pleasant even as they bustled around to fetch more food, or a salt shaker that was requested. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't really need the balcony suite on the second floor unless you plan to entertain. The balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and review of your recent stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide to our and when we hit the mark it is very satisfying. We look forward to seeing you again soon the next time you travel to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel was crowded but you wouldn't know it by the noise level. It was very quiet at night. Every staff member was exceptionally friendly. The pool bar was a nice amenity. The line for breakfast (included) was long if you were not there but 9:00 but the food was fresh and plentiful. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3kids3kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. It's so great to read you made the most of your trip by taking advantage of all our amenities! Thank you for comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing