We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room was great for my wife, 2 teenage girls and myself. House keeping did a great job and EVERY member of the hotel staff was friendly. Ailysha at the tiki bar was awesome! A great waitress and exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was good every morning, and the location was perfect.Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jokerz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the kind words about our staff. We are glad that you had such an extraordinary stay with us while you were visiting the Virginia Beach area. We are lucky to have people like Ailisha on our team to give such great attention to our guests and provide the kind of service that we strive for. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    323
    139
    44
    37
See reviews for
568
187
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I would like to rate this hotel as a 4.7, but had to do a 5 since there is no 4.7.

We stayed a few days the last week of Aug. I hoped that a lot of schools had already started and it would not be crowded, but I was wrong. But even with the crowds, this was a great visit.

The parking garage is great to keep your vehicle cool and dry. It is the best for loading and unloading. When we checked in, the front desk clerk told us to unload, then park. So my hubby unloaded and then I parked. We have a full sized SUV and there was no problems parking. The ramps and corners are a little tight, but if you go slowly there should be no problem. I did notice a few employees parking on the ramp, which leaves only one lane open to passing vehicles. I understand employees need a place to park, but they should be on the upper level out of the way. The lower spaces should be available for the guest and no one should park on the ramps unless there are spaces alotted for parking.

Make sure you always have your room key with you when you go in the garage elevator as it will only move when you use your room key. I do like that added security, but then it became an issue when we checked out. We left the keys in the room and could not use the elevator to get to our car with our luggage. So if you are checking out, take your luggage to your car, then either go back to your room and leave your keys or turn them into the front office.

There is no access to the hotel from the garage. You have to go to the lobby, then go to the hotel elevators to get to your rooms. Not a problem for us - again, I kind of liked that added security.

We reserved a 2 qn studio suite, but we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The front desk said it was due to our rewards status. This was such a nice surprise. The room was fantastic. Lots of storage, and lots of room. The couch was a little run down, but plenty of room. I think we would have been happy with a studio suite as well. When we would walk down the hall, we can see into rooms that the housekeepers were working in and they looked very nice as well. Everything was clean, there were plenty of towels and no problems with noise.

The only problem was the balcony is kind of small. We had 4 people in our room and there is not enough room for all of us on the balcony. When you use the balcony, you need to turn off the ac so the fan does not blow hot air on you. This is kind of typical with fans on the balcony, so just turn the ac off and it is very pleasant.

The beach is outstanding. Just walk out the door and you are right on the water. The rinsing faucet is located right out the door of the hotel. This may need to be redone. When people are rinsing off their feet, there is always people standing in front of the door. It is hard to get in or out of the door without having to step over other people's stuff and bumping into other people. Maybe make the entrance to the faucet on the right of the faucet so people can wait there, then walk to the left and go into the door when you are done. This would keep folks from standing in front of the entrance door waiting to wash their feet off.
The view from the balcony is fantastic too. You just cannot go wrong staying right on the beach.

The only downfall of our trip was breakfast. The first morning we were there, we went down at 9:30 hoping that most people have finished their breakfast and are on the beach. No luck. The line was backed up to the front desk. There had to have been 30+ people in line. We waited for about 10 minutes and the line moved very little, so we just left. I always look for hotels with breakfast because not all my family likes breakfast, and those who do not want to eat can stay in bed. Those of us who do, get up, take a shower and go to breakfast. It is usually very nice. The only thing I can think of is to have breakfast available until 11 instead of 10 for those of us who do like to sleep in on vacation. You could also have 2 lines. The buffet area itself is up against a wall. Maybe pull it off the wall and have people able to go on both sides to speed up the lines. On the next mornings, I got up at 6am and was down in the breakfast room at 6:45. Of course there were no lines then. It was rather nice. The food is typical of a Marriott breakfast with eggs, sausage, fruit, cereals, danishes, juices and waffles. Yummy. I was able to make waffles for the kids. They had trays there so you can take your breakfast to your room -thank you for the trays. I got waffles and eggs and fruit for us all. Thanks for having chocolate milk for the kids. They never get this at home and what a nice treat while on vacation. The pictures of the breakfast area on the website looks like there are 6-7 waffle makers. When I went down early in the morning, there were only 3. That could also be the reason for the slow lines. The line at 7:30 was already backing up. So if you want to eat and not wait in line, go real early. I got breakfast for my family and just heated it up in the microwave when they woke up. I typically do not like to have to wake up so early on vacation, but at the beach it is so nice to enjoy the morning air and sunrise.

We did not use the indoor pool. It looked clean but pretty small. The outside pool was nice. Lots of chairs and loud music.

Overall, this was a great hotel. It may not be the best hotel, but it sure is the best hotel we have stayed in at VA Beach. We will definitely be staying here again next year and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The high rooms have the best view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Your comments are very important to us and greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction during your recent visit. We will use your feedback to improve our service levels. We value you as a guest and we want to make sure we are meeting your needs and exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Location is great and the staff was friendly BUT.....
Housekeeping didn't clean our rooms, didn't take our trash for the whole time we were there, made the bed but never changed the sheets, the towels were thrown up on the rack not even folded, I'm not even sure they were new towels! The line for breakfast was ridiculously long every morning. There is a pool bar which is nice and again staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KHB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our SpringHill Suites. We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. The negatives have been addressed with the team and we are thankful for your input. It is feedback such as this that allow us to improve on a daily basis. Again, thank you for your review and we wish you the best in your future travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of five recently stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of August. At check-in there was a problem with our Amex Bluebird Card, (On Amex's end, not the hotel; ADVICE? DON"T GET ONE!!!), and the front desk crew of Megan and Lacey, and the manager, Heather were very patient until things were straightened out. We had a room on the 14th floor, very clean, no problems at all. The room was plenty big enough for my wife and I and our three sons, ages 21, 20 and 16. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job with the room. My sons got their use out of the exercise room. There is a long line at breakfast, but the food is good quality. The lobby is a great place to hang out, especially on a rainy day. It is a lot less crowded at this end of the beach, which is great. Would definitely stay here again, and from what I understand, there is a renovation in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPH_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and review of your last stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide to our guests and when we hit the mark it is very satisfying. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to the next time you can visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the SpringHill Suites VA Beach Oceanfront for 3 nights (August 7-10) -

Pros:
Location of hotel is fantastic - right on beach!
Free parking, internet and hot breakfast (if you don't mind waiting in a long line)

Cons:
We were assigned Room 606 - closest to elevator (which wasn't a problem for us BUT could be for others.)

Bathtub had MOLD all along the edge - I mentioned it to housekeeping (they never did anything about it)

Air-conditioning unit was soooo loud we had to shut it off in order to sleep.

Breakfast line was soooo long.

Asked front desk where we could rent bikes - Shay suggested "Prise Food Market" located across street at 904 Atlantic Ave.- BIG MISTAKE - while biking on the Boardwalk, the chain came off my daughter's bike three times - the bikes and surreys are old and beat up - pay the extra $$ and rent right on the boardwalk.

Had lunch by outdoor pool (upon check-in you receive a 15% coupon to use at the pool-side grill) - ordered a "Chef Salad" which according to menu included sliced eggs - waitress brought over salad, no sliced eggs - when asked, waitress answered "we don't have eggs, I don't know why the menu mentions it" - she also forgot to honor the 15% coupon - so CHECK YOUR BILL!

Would I stay here again, possibly because I loved the location and size of room (suites) - just not in Room 606!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 606 - It's located directly across from elevator - Bathtub had mold alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h0ckeylaxandcheerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent trip. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. I do apologize that you experienced housekeeping issues and that there was confusion with the pool bar menu. I have addressed the teams in both those departments to ensure such issues do not occur in the future. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Springhill Suites for 4 nights in August. The location is great. The breakfast is good (lines are long later in the morning) and the staff is very helpful. We went back and forth from the beach to the hotel all day and it was very convenient. The bartenders at the pool are great and they do everything to make you feel comfortable.

The outside pool is great! Large, never too crowded. The indoor pool is a little small and the hot tubs weren't working when we were there. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early so you don't get caught in a line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. We apologize that the outdoor hot tub was acting up while you were here however, we have since rectified the problem. We hope to be your home away from home whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Spring Hill Suites last year and this year. We simply loved the room and the view from the balcony was breathtaking. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. The receptionist who checked us in was very nice and helpful. I needed a pharmacy quickly so my MD could phone a prescription and they even dialed the number for me. Love, love, love this place and will stay there again and again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your return visit! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are glad we have delivered consistent service. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Have a peaceful and prosperous year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing