We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ellicott City, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very accommodating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My son and I stayed here July 13 through July 15. I had not visited Virginia Beach for many years and was somewhat overwhelmed by the number of oceanfront hotels, many of which had good reviews on Tripadvisor. I finally chose SpringHill and was very glad I did. My son and I arrived about 11 AM, well before check-in. I asked if our room might be available soon. A very nice young woman explained that several others were waiting for their rooms, but after we explained that we didn't care what floor we were on, she immediately located an available room. I was very impressed and thankful. The room was spacious and very clean (the housekeeper on our floor - I was in 900 - was fantastic!). As others have written, the hotel is located right on the beach and near many excellent restaurants and bars. The employees were friendly and smiling. The outside pool was beautiful, with a nice bar and food service. One of the nicest beachfront hotels I've ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsonfam_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your visit! We appreciate your choosing our hotel and I'm glad we're able to deliver consistent service. I'm pleased you enjoyed our amenities while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    323
    139
    44
    37
See reviews for
568
187
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Our room was spacious and clean. All rooms face the ocean and have a small balcony with 2 chairs. The hotel was super crowded but the only time that was bothersome was at breakfast. We woke up relatively early to try to beat the crowd, but to no avail. They did have plenty of food that was decent. We had never been to Virginia Beach before and we were really surprised at how nice it was, it seems it used to have a reputation for not being clean but we did not find that to be the case at all. Nice stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsVirgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Out the door and across the boardwalk and you are at the beach! The staff was courteous and helpful. The included breakfast had a good variety of foods both hot and cold (eggs, bacon, fruits, cereals, etc) Elevators got busy around checkout time on Sunday so prepare appropriately. It appeared that every room was a beech side room with a small balcony. The AC units blew onto the balcony so it was not really place to sit and relax. You would want one of the 2nd floor rooms with the large balcony for that. The center of the boardwalk events seemed to take place up near 23rd street. This Hotel is located between 9th and 10th.

Room Tip: It appeared that every room was a beech side room with a small balcony. The AC units blew onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to being your hotel of choice whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I have been traveling for over 40 years together. Our stay at this hotel on July 14 and July 15 was at the very top of our favorite trips. I knew it was different the very moment we checked in......Shay and others at the desk made us feel very special. Thanks all for your class and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARobert1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that you were so pleased with our team and the location of our hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and hope you will visit us again whenever you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this ocean roomed property for 4th of July. This place had great customer service . From valet having my car ready every time we asked to re parking it without any hassle. Big thanks ( traffic was awful ) This was our first trip to VA beach and first time staying at this property. Front desk was excellent and shay provided great customer service. Megan also helped us throughout our stay. Always had a smile on their face every time we needed something. We appreciate everything your hotel did for us during our stay and we will be back next year !!! Thank you SpringHill suites on 9th street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMothw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and review of your recent stay with us. We take great pride in serving our guests and when we hit the mark it is very satisfying. I am pleased you enjoyed the holiday at our hotel and look forward to seeing you for your next Virginia Beach experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd time staying at this hotel in the past 3 years and usually I give it 5 stars. I Can't this time. While the Pool/hot tub, breakfast, parking and staff were all great the cleanliness of both the hotel and especially my room have gone downhill. I did complain to the front desk but they said sorry that they were a bit short staffed with housekeeping. I would think the price I had paid for this room housekeeping should have been the least of my worries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikenyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage year after year. We appreciate your feeback and will use it to improve our level of service. I apologize you experienced issues with your room. I can assure you that this is not the type of service we strive to provide and it will be addressed with our housekeeping team. We do hope you will consider visiting us again when you return to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located on the southern end of the beach, which feels perhaps less crowded than other sections. Its right on the beach, with all rooms overlooking the water with balconies - very nice.

Our room was well-appointed, two queen beds with a small separate sitting area and kitchenette (half fridge, microwave, bar sink). The bathrooms are on the small side.

Everything was clean, although they could do a better job dusting throughout as our TV and some other surfaces showed dust. The room also had a very faint weird smell when you first arrived - no quite musty, but something similar.

They have a free breakfast which is really quite good - several hot items, a good assortment of breads and pastries, fresh fruit, etc. The staff at the breakfast, though, was fantastic - friendly and helpful. A real plus.

The elevators can become a little tiresome - one was out of order for a portion of our stay, and even with them all functioning it was sometimes a bit of a wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent trip. I am glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel. I do apologize that you experienced issues with the elevator, but we have since rectified the problem and look forward to your visiting again the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing