We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“sentimental favorite after years of many trips to Virginia Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“sentimental favorite after years of many trips to Virginia Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just love this hotel...from the minute you walk in to check in and can look right out to the ocean. It's nice to have oceanfront views at breakfast in the morning.
We usually get the two room suite, just a little more and well worth it.
Everywhere I went in the hotel I noticed the staff making the extra effort to keep things clean. I was there 3 days and all three days everyone was out there working hard!
The staff was professional and friendly from the front desk to the cleaning personnel.
We also love being able to walk on the paved walk out in front (easier than walking in the sand for my husband and me). Many restaurants within a few miles of the beach including the usual chain restaurants.
The first half of October is a great time to visit as the temperatures were near 80 and the beach was less crowded.

Room Tip: We like the higher up rooms, the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your return visit and another review! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and I'm glad we're able to deliver consistent service. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the fabulous weather while you were here! We look forward to seeing you again next time! Take care and have a peaceful and prosperous year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    319
    139
    43
    35
See reviews for
565
186
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the third year in a row that my wife and I have stayed here while attending the VAVRS convention. Everything went very well from check in to check out. The rooms were clean and well cared for. If we needed anything all we had to do was ask. Three staff members who were stand outs on this trip were Dwayne, Jay and Jessica. Could not even sneak by them without getting a big smile and a greeting. Need some information, no problem, they could guide you to just about any place in Virginia Beach and beyond. Am looking forward to our 2013 convention. Thanks you all for making our stay one that we will remember.

Bill and Janet Hankins

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front with great views. We have never had a problem with any of the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillHankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage year after year. It is guests like you that give us the motivation and the incentive to provide the best service and experience possible. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we can’t wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed three nights here in late October. The beach was pretty much deserted but the weather was still beautiful. The room had two spaces. One was the bedroom and the other was the couch and balcony. It was nice to have the separation. The balcony offered a great view of the beach and you can walk out the back door to the walkway by the beach.

Nice but small pool and large hot tub. Good breakfast with eggs, meat, waffles, etc. It was kept fully stocked.

One complaint was the wi fi was very spotty on the 5th floor and that was annoying.

Parking is free in the attached garage. You can easily walk to the shops on the strip nearby.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent trip. I am glad you took advantage of our amenities and the area while you were here. I do apologize that you experienced issues using the wireless internet in your guestroom. We are actually in the process of surveying the hotel for wireless upgrades that will resolve such problems going forward. We look forward to your visiting again the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
441 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the possibilities of a beach vacation......Breakfast is complimentary and very good. A large buffet awaits you with plenty of choices. There is a nice sitting area as well as a small kitchenette. You can not cook in this kitchenette, but you can heat up in a microwave....clean, well kept up and reasonably priced for what you get...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. I am please you enjoyed your time here. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to your visiting again whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here for our honeymoon and really loved it. The room was beautiful and immaculent, and we had a fantastic ocean view from our balcony. We made good use of the amenities, indoor pool and hot tub..so relaxing. As well as the complimentary breakfast, this was great and unexpected, there was an assorment of hot foods each morning not the typical cereal at most places. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We walked in directly from our wedding reception exhausted and everything was ready for us.
We really had a wonderful stay and will for sure go back.
Thanks to our housekeeping staff too..Melissa even left us a note congratulating us on our marriage. So sweet!

Room Tip: We were on 12th floor in a suite, this was quiet, clean, great view. Stay on ocean side if you enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and honored to be a part of your special day. I am glad Melissa's personal touch made a positive difference in your stay. Thank you for comments and we hope to see you again for your anniversary, if not sooner! Congratulations on your nuptials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

They bill this as an all suite hotel because all the rooms offer an additional sitting area as well as a form of a kitchette. I have stayed in many of these types of rooms before and this one was dissappointing due to it's layout. One walks into the room to immediately face the kitchette area which is mere feet away from the door; in my room to the left was a small sitting area best described as an alcove. Both of these areas held little functionality due to their layout, and were unappealing because they were crammed into the back with no natural light; to me, they felt motelish. Farther in was the bed, before the slider to the balcony. This area was fine, and was the only space really used. I just felt a bit decieved by the all suite billing, as the room would have been fine as a standard hotel room w/o the "suite" area.

The location itself was great. Good beach of course, boardwalk right there. The building did front the water, no obstructions. Ok pricing, though I felt a tad elevated due to it's billing.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and want to thank you for teaching us how to serve you better. I can understand your confusion between the studio suite you stayed in and our one bedroom suites and will forward this feedback to Marriott. We do hope to see you again when you are traveling to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Going in the off season end of Oct 2012, the indoor pool was very important for our family vacation. The ceiling was dripping water, floors slick, I felt that I was in a wet cave. All pool windows were soaked with water. In the hallway entrance the windows were sweating so bad you could not see the pool. You could not see out the windows to the beach. Breeding ground for mold.The rooms are nice but so far I'm disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. I surely understand your frustration with the pool area. As I explained while you were still here, a compressor for the dehumidification system unexpectedly went down and was on order for repair. Fortunately the pool and whirlpool themselves are still functioning properly, and I do hope your family still took advantage of them. Again, I'm sorry we disappointed you but hope you will consider staying with us again in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#28 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#24 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3529
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing