We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colony Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$266
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)
$433
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$318
$309
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$374
$363
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$378
$349
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$250
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$354
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
19
12
3
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
12
3
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster bedroomboth bedroomswasher and dryerresort pooldish detergenttime sharefull kitchenbalcony watchingsized bedacross the streetfull sizeflat screenliving areaocean viewcondotimesharecloset
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 45 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First time we stayed at the Colony. Very spacious; kitchen wonderful and full of all necessities. Very clean, especially the bathrooms (that is so important). Plenty of closet space too. Staff helpful in some ways. Thought security could have been more attentive to the guests coming and going. Sometimes, when we walked into the lobby with hands full; the security person made no effort to help with the door. Televisions were not up to "par". Too many stations very snowy. Told staff but nothing was corrected. Nice swimming pool area and very clean along with the changing rooms. Office staff was very helpful and courteous. This place is very nice to have a family together. Parking a bit tight and not able to leave the car there on checkout day to stay at the beach. Also, no additional space for a guest; that is understandable with the limited space. Overall, a very nice place but a bit pricey. However, compared to other places we stayed at a lower price, you cannot beat it. Location great too. We had a lot of fun and this place offers you everything to make the vacation a fun time.

Room Tip: cleanliness and location
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our unit was large, clean and very well maintained. Currently putting HD tv's in all units. Ours had them in bedrooms but not yet in the living room. This part of Atlantic Blvd. has businesses across the street but the more heavily traveled and nightime area is a few blocks away so easy walk there but don't get all the noise and traffic. We walked to most of the restaurants that we went to for dinner. Well equipped kitchen. We did not hear any noise from adjoining units. No fancy lobby but this is a condo builidng and nice to see that they put the money into the units and upkeep rather than wasting it on a lobby that you only use to walk through.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MrDruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The colony had mixed ratings so we were concerned When we arrived check in was suiper easy. Lobby by elavotors needed improvements looked run down. then we arrived at the room. Glad we went, room was great. the room was on the 10th floor with great views. Stafff was always freindly and helpfull. kitchen was well eguiped.

resort provided limited information on the unit and startup samples such as diswasher soap.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place in fantastic! We had room 1004. Our living room and master bedroom have an amazing view of the ocean. It is breathtaking. The unit is HUGE and clean. Beds are super comfy and the place is quiet. I can't find a thing to complain about!

Room Tip: Email them before you get there and ask for a room on the top floors for a great view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bumblebeeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

WHAT A LET DOWNNNNN. i rented unit 402 in Nov 2011.... It was georgeous and fantastic....In fact I enjoyed it so much that I bought unit 602...My week is 51 so I took some of my family there.....This unit is spacious and laid out like 402 and faces the oceanfront....We had a great week, horseback riding on the beach, rode thru the lights and just had a fantastic time.....Our let down on the unit I purchased was the carpet and the bathrooms......The carpet was gross. In fact it was so filthy we would not walk on it barefoot....The 2 bathrooms were dirty and looked as if they had not been cleaned......I sure hope the carpet will have been replaced and the unit given a good cleaning by the time I go next year. I really love the location and the activities in the area....People should not have to spend thier vacation on such nasty carpet and dirty bathrooms......Not only was the carpet dirty, but had stains all over it......Sincerely, Elizabeth Tasker Hayes, Virginia.....

Room Tip: Look at unit in advance for condition before renting or buying...Some units are excellent while others are terrible..
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank taskerhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews