We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service, amazing food, great view of the thunderstorm coming in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill

RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill
Ranked #171 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The oceanfront's only Beatles memorabilia themed restaurant that offers a fun and casual boardwalk atmosephere with inside and outside patio dining and simply prepared fresh seafood for the entire family.
1 review
“Fantastic service, amazing food, great view of the thunderstorm coming in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sam Stephens was a fantastic server! Knowledgable and easy to chat with! Also had the best crab cake EVER!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeubanks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave1897, General Manager at RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am so glad to hear you had such a great time. Sam is an awesome asset to the restaurant and I am glad he took care of you while you were here. I hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    98
    78
    34
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view - loved the steak frites. Live music and the view of the ocean and the pier are tough to beat. Tori makes a tremendous Manhattan. Great place for a beer and a good meal. Definitely worth repeating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Towermikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave1897, General Manager at RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Mike,

So glad you enjoyed your visit to RockFish. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible management / great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

So, first of all - the location is awesome. If it's a nice day you can eat outside just off the boardwalk. That's the best thing the restaurant has going for it.

Pros:
- Crabcake sandwich was good. No complaints here.
- Fish and chips were also good.
- Good, hot, fries
- Good size kids meals and good kids meals selection

Cons:
- This sounds weird, but they were totally out of ketchup. ALL ketchup bottles had a tiny bit of ketchup in them. (We ate at 5:30pm on a Sunday, btw.)
- My husband ordered a mojito and nachos. About 5 mins later, the waitress returned to say that they were "out" of mojitos AND nachos. WHAT?! I remind you, this was at 5:30pm on a Sunday. The waitress even commented under her breath that "this was typical".
- Spinach/crab dip for $12 was absolutely disgusting. My husband and I NEVER send anything back to the kitchen, but this was actually uneatable. The dip itself was like pure melted cream cheese, cheese, and sour cream mixed together, along with the 15 greasiest deep fried tortilla chips you've ever seen. We apologized and sent it back to the kitchen. :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave1897, General Manager at RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I am disheartned we didnt exceed your expectations during your visit. We work really hard to ensure we do everything we can to exceed every guests expectations each time they are with us. I would love the chance to make things right. Would you please contact me at your convenience at dave.edwards@phrinc.com I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect view from the bar,good beach music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are our here celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary,picked the right spot to chill by the ocean,sat at the bar windows, nice sandwich dinner,with a tropical beat of up beat tunes from the band. Lisa the bartender was a gem. Would go to the bar anytime

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Been to Rockfish a few times now... even chose to have my birthday dinner there! The service is always on point. Garrett waited on us and had such a wonderful insight on what to order... everything he suggested was just scrumptious. Definitely go for the lobster mac n cheese, it won't let you down!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rochilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill also viewed

 

Been to RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing