We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Whether you are with or without a family this place is perfect. Something for everyone there and around the hotel. Staff is great, friendly and courteous. Check in and check out was very smooth and quick. Rooms were great size, clean and perfect view of the ocean. Would definitely stay here again the next time in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi Lee H,

Thank you for the "Perfect" comment. We are very appreciative of your business and I will definitely share the kind words with all the staff. We look forward to your next visit!!!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

We started Traveling to Virginia Beach on July 4th of this year. We loved it so much that we have traveled back 3 times since then and will continue to come back. We have had a fantastic time each and every time at the Hilton Garden Inn Oceanfront. The Valet was great. The attendants were even better. An ocean view every morning we woke up was OUTSTANDING even though it rained 60% of the time we were there. The indoor pool was heated and joyful. I could not have asked for a better experience except for the one when we ran into some trouble with the front desk on a Friday evening. We spoke to the front desk clerk named Tony. A nice enough person. We were planning to bring my girlfriends 11 year old, my 12 year old godson and my friend’s 11 year old son back down to the Hilton Garden Inn Oceanfront on the August the 14th weekend. A Thursday check in through Monday check out. Between the Boardwalk, the beach, the boogie boarding, the carnivals, the restaurants and all the other activities that are available by the Hilton Garden Inn Oceanfront, they would have had a fantastic time right before it was time to go back to school. "Tony" quoted a specific price that was incredibly reasonable. He wrote it down on a piece of pink piece of paper. And with my girlfriends AAA discount included he promised us an added value at a fantastic rate. He let us know that we should book the desired rooms once we checked out of the hotel on Sunday. We planned on doing that. The next morning when we woke up and headed to the beach. We got to the lobby and the Front Office clerks were just as attentive early in the morning as they were late at night. Heck, there was even a 3 year old baby that had gotten out of his parents room and was wondering the lobby. The staff was taking extremely good care of him while trying to find out who and where his parents were (turns out they were still sleeping in the room. The little man escaped. Thank goodness for their staff!!!) We hit the beach at 5:00am. The water was GREAT! Did some walking and had some breakfast and went back to our hotel to nap and pack. Checkout time came and we were ready to book our next trip to the hotel at check out. As we went to check out, the hotel desk clerk could not find the price that we were promised. We asked for "Tony". He was not available. We decided that we could call later in the day so that we could get the promised rate. We left at 12, did some shopping and about 4 hours later realized that we had left our laptop at the hotel. We called the Hotel and within 45 minutes they found the laptop and were holding it at the front desk for us. We turned around and traveled 3 hours back to the hotel and got the laptop! Hilton Garden Inn has FANTASTIC customer service. It would be my pleasure to stay there at any time. They were lifesavers! We even asked for "Tony" again. We had just missed him. We asked about the rate again. The front desk said that we should speak with "Tony" We figured we would call the next day and speak to him. We called the next day. We spoke to "Tony" and he said that he would get back to us within the hour to see what he could do. Needless to say you can see where this is going. No phone call was made back to us. We called back. They now claimed that they did not even know a "Tony" and that they did not know what we were talking about. What I can’t understand is when we were trying to get the promised rate from the hotel guest services front desk clerk "Tony" they would not honor it. And now they don’t even know "Tony"? I think it's fair to say that :” Hilton Garden Inn. Except fot Tony, Everything. Right where you need it.” You know if they would just honor the rate that was promised, and they still have a chance to do that then things would be perfect again.

Room Tip: Choose the anywhere on the 9th floor ocean facing room. You get one heck of a fantastic sunrise view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi William P,
We appreciate the comments and rest assured that they will be shared at our staff meetings. I do want to apologize about failing to meet your expectations on the rate discrepancy. If you could please give me a call when you plan on visiting the area again, i would be glad to set up your reservation and ensure that you receive the best rate possible for your stay. Once again thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront as your home away from home.

Stefano Reyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent a week at the Hilton Garden Inn, Virginia Beach Oceanfront and it was absolutely FANTASTIC!!!! The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff were professional and courteous. I most definitely will be back!!

Room Tip: If you have a family, the bedroom suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WashingtonDCJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi WashingtonDCJoy,

Thanks for your "Fantastic" comment!! We definitely want you to come back and look forward to your next stay!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the time we pulled up till the time we drove away, we felt welcomed and important to each and every person who worked there including Chase, the valet attendant, to Khyanna and Amy at the front desk and Victoria, who was cleaning our room. The Beautiful ocean view (we woke up early every day just to watch the sun rise) was something we especially loved. We got free sand chairs for the beach every day we wanted them (umbrellas were extra, but we got them anyway). Lager Heads was fun for dinner and we did a take out for lunch by the pool one day as well. Food was really good! We even enjoyed the music in the gazebo outside while we sat on the 3rd floor sundeck after we came back from dinner. We walked most everyplace and it wasn't that long a walk to other restaurants on 31st Street, which was key - who wants to take out the car every night and then have to find parking? Oh and the lot is around the corner (free) and wasn't too hard to find a spot (expect to park on at least the 4th or 5th level), We ate breakfast downstairs most every morning and the buffet was good value for the $$ especially since they also include cook to order omelets, pancakes, waffles, etc. in the price.

All in all it was a great trip and if we go back down to VA Beach, we plan to stay here again!

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay on the 3rd floor because there is the sun deck and you lose some privacy that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Linda C,

We are pleased you had a great vacation! I will definitely let the staff know about that you mentioned them in your awesome comments. The sundeck is a great place to people watch and enjoy the beautiful beach views. Thank you for choosing us to be your home away from home and we look forward to your next visit.

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Well as everyone knows this is a new addition to the beach. As you can imagine it is clean and fresh in all ways. We had a 2 queen suite and it was spacious and perfect for my family. Of course a location right on the beach can't be beat. We didn't drive out for the 2 days we stayed. Access to location stores and restaurants can't be beat. The north end is a little quieter and ideal for families with young kids. Parking was right around the corner and complimentary in the garage structure.

My only complaint was that they did not have our room ready even though I arrived at 5:30 p.m. Although they made this delay worth while with something complimentary I hope this will be just a hiccup since the property was great. Service was great too but unfortunately turning their rooms were not when we arrived.

I will come back to this hotel when we come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Gojadego,

Greetings Canada! Thank you so very much for your comments and we appreciate the understanding with the late check in. We are definitely working on some of these kinks. We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for choosing us to be your home away from home!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA was a very nice hotel. It was recently remodeled and had many updates. Overall, we are very pleased with our stay and we would stay there again. There were pros and cons, as there are with almost any place that you stay. Below is my review:

PROS:
• Great location – right on the boardwalk and beside the Neptune statue
• Beautiful exterior and lobby area
• Lovely half indoor/half outdoor swimming pool
• New and upbeat restaurant, Lager Heads, with open air feel and pretty good food, a bit pricey, but expected during peak season
• Nice breakfast eating restaurant, a bit tight with space, especially if you need a highchair for a child. It is a breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, muffins, dry cereals, milk, juices, coffee, but you can order a “made-to-order” omelet, French toast, or pancakes. There is a fee for this, it is not a continental breakfast.
• The rooms are mostly updated with nice comforters, KEURIG coffee makers (love this feature), and clean
• ALL rooms are oceanfront with balconies! Great views!
• The rooms were very quiet, we could not hear any outside noise or noise from other rooms
• Nice Neutrogena products in the bathrooms
• Lobby area has coffee until about 11am, then two types off fruity ice water
• Rocking chairs on the patio outside facing the boardwalk and ocean, nice for people to relax


CONS:
• The bathrooms are average, and the door sticks
• The room doors are noisy as they stick and are tight from the paint. They could use a new coat of paint and different paint color (the ugly brown color does not flow with the other updates in the restaurant)
• The air conditioner unit in the room was a bit loud
• The staff “laughed” when I asked if I could get a few more KCups for the Keurig coffee maker.
• We had booked two rooms (four adults) and the one room had a huge clog of hair in the shower drain and the water would not drain. Maintenance did take care of it though and offered us a free breakfast.
• Driveway is a bit tight with small circle, barely enough room to get around other vehicles parked there.
• Parking is across the street in a parking garage

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank angsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hi angsreviews,

Being a newly opened hotel, it is wonderful to receive pros and cons reviews from our guests. Those comments help us to evaluate our progress and where we need to go heading into the future. Thank you so very much for all the items you expressed, which will be brought to the attention of all the staff. Thank you for choosing us to be your home away from home and look forward to your next visit.

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have been coming to Va. Beach for 30 years for a conference always held at the Cavalier. This year for the first time it is down the street at the Sheraton. When I tried to make a reservation, I was directed here, as this was the "overflow" hotel. What a lucky dip! This is brand new and has the most friendly staff - at all levels- I've encountered. The rooms are all oceanfront and very comfortable. The pool is nice - water very warm, semi- submerged lounge chairs. Enjoyed the restaurant and breakfast area - the omelets are huge and delicious. The only thing lacking was luggage assistance, but not a particular problem for us. AC is a bit noisy, as well. But clean, bright and beautiful - no musty smell, and a Keurig coffee maker. Hope I get to return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hi Linda,

We appreciate the kind comments and i will be sure to share them all with the staff. Well it looks like we know where you will be staying next time...with us!! Being a focused service hotel we do not have bellman but our valets jump into assist in between car runs. We are currently evaluating the process. We will always welcome you here with open arms here and we look forward to your next visit.

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
822 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $125 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the popular Virginia Beach Boardwalk, the new Hilton Garden Inn is sure to delight. Contemporary guest rooms offer ocean views from your private balcony, complimentary WiFi, microwave and refrigerator. Relax in one of two on-site restaurants and a bar with al fresco dining. Guests enjoy indoor and outdoor pools as well as a modern fitness facility. Flexible even space is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing