We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eleganct Surprise”

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,414 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 31st Street & Atlantic Ave
Description: As Virginia’s only AAA 4-Diamond Steakhouse and recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Salacia offers an unparalleled oceanfront dining experience featuring culinary delights, artistic presentation and extraordinary service in an intimate environment.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eleganct Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Who would expect... at the beach. In hotel, walk past preparation grill for seafood spot to small door at rear and WOW. Soft blue lighting, table cloths, fine wines, spiffy staff at your immediate call, and superb dining. Steaks were perfect, wine list broad, presentation unique and view outstanding. We were pleasantly surprised and will return often. Kudos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank WmEHSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much for dining with us. It is very nice to hear that you had great time with us and enjoyed everything. We would love to have you back with us. Please le tus know if we could be of any service.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    64
    29
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very calm dinner venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Taken by family for celebration. Good food at reasonable but not cheap prices. Reasonable wine list. Steaks good but you might need to come down a notch on the order by medium was med/well done. Limited veggie menu. Very strange cream brulee best avoided.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for dining with us. I apologize for the steak not being the desired temperature. You should let us know and we will remedy the situation immediately. Next time you are with us you should try the “Crèmesicle” dessert. So far is everyone’s favorite.
Once again thank you for dining with us and your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fittingly for this restaurant, Salacia is sometimes literally translated to sensational.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

In Roman mythology, Salacia was the wife of Neptune and the goddess of salt water. Her name derives from the Latin for salt and, fittingly for this restaurant, is sometimes literally translated to mean sensational.

My wife’s birthday coincides with Christmas, and surprising her with a night out for her birthday is not an easy task. The service provided by the GM (Nikolay) and his staff was beyond sensational. In my wife’s words, it was magical. I had arranged for flowers to be delivered to the restaurant beforehand, and emailed the restaurant to advise them that flowers would be arriving for my reservation. Nikolay replied on his day off to let me know that he would watch for the flowers and make sure they were on the table when we were seated. The flowers were actually delivered Christmas Eve. Nikolay emailed to let me know that they had arrived and advised that he would place them in his wine cellar overnight.

Upon our arrival, we were escorted to our table. When my wife noticed the roses and the card indicating they were specifically for her, Nikolay made it appear as though I’d pulled any number of strings to make that happen. Once we were seated, our waiter (Sean) promptly greeted us with “Merry Christmas” and then to her, “and more importantly, Happy Birthday Mrs. (our last name).” He then discussed our wine preferences with us and started us with a nice Chardonnay.

After giving us a few minutes to enjoy our wine, Sean brought out complimentary butternut squash bisque to “stimulate the palate”. This was followed by our appetizers. Mine consisted of Sewansecott oysters on the half shell. Sewansecotts are my favorites, but paired with the freshly prepared sauces, they were over the top. My wife enjoyed a beet and goat cheese salad with blood orange vinaigrette that she said was amazing.

Salacia is known for their extensive wine list. When asking Sean for his recommendations, he suggested a Pinot Grigio that is one of my wife’s favorites.

Sean had given us a list of three or four of the Chef’s specialties. I chose Yellow Fin Tuna. My wife chose Swordfish. Both were grilled to perfection. Not too dry, nor too moist, the last bite just as delicious as the first. Both were served over a sweet potato puree with asparagus. The menu selections are à la carte, but we were told the sides were large enough to share. As such, we shared roasted Brussels sprouts and bacon.

Finally, Sean brought out chocolate covered strawberries with edible orchids on a plate that had Happy Birthday written in a strawberry sauce.

At the end of our evening, one of the staff offered to have the valet bring our car around so that we wouldn't have to wait in the cold. She also had the flowers placed in the car.

The service and timing was impeccable. Although I’m sure that Sean had other customers, we were made to feel like we were his only table. The restaurant is intimate and the ambiance is romantic. This is everything a fine dining experience is supposed to be. They do not ever allow quantity to overtake quality.

Thank you Nikolay. We look forward to visiting again, especially when it's warmer and we can enjoy your outdoor dining area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gio4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind words and your support. It is a pleasure to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. I teach my staff to create an experience for our guests and sounds like we did what we pride ourselves with. It was a pleasure having you with us! On behalf of my staff and me I want to say a big THANK YOU! We are looking forward seeing you again in Salacia.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Special night kind of place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been looking around for good steak houses in our area and decided it was time to try Salacia. The prices are a bit steep so I would consider this restaurant to be the place to go on a "special" night. It is quite intimate lending itself to romance. You have to journey through a loud and crowded Catch 31 to get to Salacia which is in the Hilton. Our servicer was very friendly and attentive. We got the last bottle of one of favorite wines so we were happy--not this lucky at other places. Amuse bouche was delightful. Oyster appetizer was only 3 oysters--all very small but the accompanying sauces were outstanding. Caesar salad nice and chilled. Ribeye steaks perfectly cooked. Baked potato pretty standard. Manager visited all patrons which was nice. All in all, no complaints. We will return!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank volgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for dining with us and enjoying everything. Unfortunately using some of the best ingredients available and being on the beach ads up to the final price. If you would like to come between Jan 12 and 19th we will be participating in the Virginia Beach Restaurant Week and will be offering Prix Fixe menu at $30 per person. The menu will be great and doesn’t need to be a “special” night. We would love to have you again with us.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way over priced,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The food & service was good, But the value was not up to standards. I will go back to Ruth Chris or Mortons next time
Catch 31 is a much better deal & more fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parris1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for dining with us and your feedback. We pride ourselves with the best food and service on the beach. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t see the value in your experience. Summer time is usually the best time of the year to enjoy the views of the Ocean and the beach. If you give us another chance, next time you are in the area, you should reserve one of our outdoor tables. The best dining on the beach.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing