We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beach on a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerca Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerca Del Mar
Ranked #97 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
burke va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here July 9th 2012 for just one night, was looking for something close to the beach and something that fit our budget. We found Cerca del Mar. It was just a one day trip for us, so tried to cram alot of beach in one day, got there at 430 in the morning after a long drive. I stopped at hotel and asked if I wouold be able to park my car there and come back at check in time later- they were very accomodating. Stayed and played on the beach as long as we could trying to pass time before check in @ hotel- which is 2pm. By 11 we would pretty beached out already-shortly after we received a call from the hotel syaing we could come on over and check in any time we were ready- we didnt have to wait for the usual 2pm check in. We were so grateful for that- as the sun was getting the best of us. Check in was easy, front desk had friendly smiles. We had a room on street level next to pool. Upon opening the door we were suprised to see a large and very clean living room/ kitchenette, we walked through to bathroom and bedroom to inspect and I was very happy with what we saw. Though outdated it was clean, checked beds- everything looked great. We were 2-3 blocks from beach, - can walk to 7/11, Mc Donalds and anything you could thing of, location was terrific, and simple to get to from highway. Wish they had tv in bedroom but we survived without one for the night. Pool was clean and someone maintaining it the whole time. The only downside for me was they dont offer any type of breakfast, no danish, waffles eggs etc etc... just coffee. I would go back again for sure, like everyone else says- its not the Hilton, but we found it clean and accomodating and close to everything. Thank you Cerca Del Mar!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamatrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    6
    11
    15
See reviews for
24
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love their slogan: "If you don't like something, tell us. If you do like something, tell a friend.

The owners are great people. They live on site and are available 24/7 to fix anything that's wrong. They are positive, uplifting folks.

It's a safe, family-friendly environment. The pool was clean and perfect every day.

Despite some of these other reviews, our room was just fine--everything was clean and in working order.

A great value: factoring in location, cost, and quality.

I'll happily come back and stay here again every summer.

Scott...

Room Tip: there was no n/a for fitness center or restaurant. But lots of great restaurants within walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last summer with my sister, friend and kids. We had a few issues with the place. The floor was dirty, towels were pretty gross. (I had my own with me thank god). The bed was pretty comfy, didn't have any bedbugs. The fridge and freezer were small and weren't the greatest and the whole place definitely is a bit run down. The elevator was scary and the washers and dryers sucked. The people who were working there were very friendly and the pool was nice. It wasn't far from the beach and the price was decent. We didn't spend all that much time in the room so we weren't that bothered by it. I more than likely would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked a room two weeks ahead which was deluxe suite got there room was nasty bed sheets were not changed oven still had food on pan refrigerator wasn't working keeping things cool the air conditioning was so loud in room. Couch was very nasty nasty. Bathroom was nasty. Didn't want room service they still came in when we were in bed. Not cool I will NEVER NEVER stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed there this memorial day weekend and were pleased with the overall experience. We did not want to spend a lot for 2 days @ the beach and got a pretty good room at a pretty good price. We Liked the fact that the room was quite large for us and 3 kids. The kids loved the pool, but walk to the beach was only a few minutes. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The room I was in has beds and a couch that are worth mentioning, but barely. The hotel had a pool. Those are the only things that were borderline ok/acceptable.

The disappointments are much more numerous. The A/C didn't go lower than a horrible 77°F. The freezer took 2 days to freeze food, and ice from the hotels machine managed to melt in it. They marketed the room as "Deluxe" but didn't it didn't have any cooking pots/pans/utensils, even though there was an oven/stove. No coffee maker, no alarm clock, getting lights to work were hit and miss, breaker frequently kicked turning off power in half the room and the pathetic A/C. The carpet managed to turn the soles of out feet/socks black as coal. The doors on the empty kitchen cabinets doors hit sprinkler heads when opened, which is a disaster in waiting. They advertised having WiFi, but the only place to get a decent signal was ON the check-in counter, in an entirely different building. Signal in the rooms was constantly disconnecting, and took 5-10 mins to load the Yahoo homepage. The elevator felt like a medieval death trap, it was the most rickety elevator I've ever seen, and I cant believe it passes inspection. Laundry facilities were sub-par. Dryer frequently malfunctioned and stopped spinning, which required me to unplug it and wait 2 minutes to reset it. Dryer vented back into room, where the dryer sucked back in the steam filled air and made the whole setup pointless.

Would only recommend this hotel if you were strapped on funds, and was not planning on taking a family, just friends. The price of the hotel was fairly cheap. But, as I learned, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Don't expect much out of a
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DongJohnson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

I stayed there with my spouse, kids and mother-in-law. The room was clean, didn't find any bugs. For the price that we pay it was great!!! The cleaning lady and the people at the front desk were very nice. I was a little worried after I read some of the reviews. But I was surprise that is not like that. My stay was very pleasant, and I am an extremely picky person. Lets be realistic! Don't expect a 5 start hotel, but it was clean, no bed bugs, perfect price and plenty of space. We will stay again in the summer :D

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joa0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#55 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#38 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#15 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#71 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Carousel Motel
Beach Carousel Motel
#70 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerca Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerca Del Mar

Property: Cerca Del Mar
Address: 410 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3325
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cerca Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerca Del Mar Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing