We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing much has changed here in decades....”
Review of Beach Pub

Beach Pub
Ranked #128 of 1,422 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing much has changed here in decades....”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fried Flounder was hot and crispy but not as large or as thick a cut as in the old days. Consequently, by the time I got to the second filet it had dried out. Fries and broccoli with hollandaise were as they've always been. Good. My friend had a taco salad which was huge. She enjoyed it. Hushpuppies were hot and tender, slightly sweet. The place is cleaner and non-smoking now, but that's about all that has changed in the 30 years I've been eating here. A nice neighborhood staple.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiromita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    119
    41
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Steamed shrimp Mondays and Thursdays”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you like steamed spiced shrimp this is the place. Tuesdays and Thursdays are the days they offer a pound at $9.99. Friendly service. Great shrimp. The bar is always open. They also have mostly fried seafood; good portions and good prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatterasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“well kept secret”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are looking for exceptional food, great service, and friendly staff, this is your place. It is a local restaurant with great prices and the best she crab soup! They have daily specials and I guarantee you will not go away hungry. It's nothing fancy but the food definitely makes up for it. We eat here EVERY time we go to VA beach which about 3-4 times a year. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krbnqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upnorth Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Fare!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A nice local place to relax and have a great meal! The food was great. Had a soft shell crab sandwich which was cooked to perfection. Will definately go back when we're in VA Beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst meal ever”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I went here for dinner. We had oysters and should have left as soon as we were given ketchup which they called cocktail sauce. Unfortunately, we did not. Both ordered stuffed flounder which consisted of flounder (with the skin and bones) cut open with crabmeat in between the 2 fillets. The crabmeat was dry and cold. There was absolutely no seasoning. From looking around, their fried food must be better. I'm sure not everything on the menu is bad; however, we spent $70 for 2 people to have 1 drink, 1 appetizer, and 2 entrees and it was the worst meal we have ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ncolieg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Pub also viewed

 

Been to Beach Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing