We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrapin Restaurant

Terrapin Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street & Holly Road
virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I dined here recently and it was fabulous. Great food and service. The bar tender is a mixologist who specializes in unique drinks. My wife loved her blood orange margarita. Her beet salad was so so good I even tried a few bites and I do not even like beets. My mushroom stack appetizer and short rib entree were beautifully presented and very tasty. We shared a banana pudding for dessert and supped our perfectly brewed cappuccino. A bit noisy and corkage fee of $30 a bit steep. But who,cares when you have a terrific experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlfraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdw10868, General Manager at Terrapin Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    40
    22
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch across the board”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A fine dining atmosphere with excellent service. The chef sources his food as much as possible from local providers. Innovative wine service and list. Superb blue cheese olives in my martini. Some may think it pricey by VA Beach standards but we feel the food, drinks and service are worth it.
SS

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Foodies take note!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Terrapin is by far the best restaurant at the oceanfront! From Monday night burger nights to Wednesday night Fried chicken and Pinot you can't go wrong. The wine list and hand crafted cocktail selection will make for a tough decision as they are both quite impressive. Give Terrapin a try, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank VBSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdw10868, General Manager at Terrapin Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are thrilled you had such a wonderful dinner with us. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our daughter had bought us a gift certificate for Terrapin when she found out we were going to VA Beach. What a good choice! The staff was wonderful, the atmosphere was great, and above all, the food was fantastic! We did not have anything we didn't love. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Terrapin Restaurant provides a very good dining experience. The main courses are very good, well prepared and presented very nicely. The desserts are not up to the same standard. The drinks are expensive for this area, but very good. The wine selection is very good. The prices are reasonable for such a nice restaurant. The setting and service are very nice, quiet and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrapin Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Terrapin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing