We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something's Fabulous Here!!”

Terrapin Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Terrapin Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street & Holly Road
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Something's Fabulous Here!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hummmmm - not sure how to describe this place. YES, the food is beyond fabulous! YES, the ambiance is lovely! YES, the staff consistently exceeds expectation. However, there is a synergy here where the parts combine to make Terrapin a unique and exceptional experience. This was our first visit at the encouragement of our daughter and her family (including 2 young ladies ages 10 and 12). It was lovely to experience a sweet family time at a place where you felt so welcome. The staff seems to sincerely enjoy what they are doing and value each other as well as the customer. THANK YOU, Terrapin! We can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdw10868, Owner at Terrapin Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review and are glad you all had a good time! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    40
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Who Knew Fried Chicken Could Be So Good?!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

With our brother and sister-in-law, my wife and I visited Terrapin on a Wednesday evening for their weekly Fried Chicken and Pinot special outside on the terrace. $20 gets you three pieces of organic fried chicken, a side of incredible truffle mac & cheese, a seasonal veggie, and a glass of Hahn pinot. This was an excellent meal to say the least. The service is fantastic and the location is rather quiet. Perfect place for a mid-week outing, or a weekend special occasion. We will be back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had our anniversary dinner there. We were greeted by the hostess and waiter with anniversary wishes. The menu was varied so we decided to enjoy the tasting menu. The Caesar salad was very good. The mac and cheese is out of this world. My beef and my wife's grouper entrées were fantastic. The wine parings on all courses were superb. If you can't have a great meal here, then you simply can't be pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdw10868, Owner at Terrapin Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks yo for your kind words and taking the time to review Terrapin. We look forward to you joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local, organic, excellent!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Truly exceptional food and service, in a nice if subdued atmosphere (and subdued lighting -- the location offers no views so there are no windows!) with very comfortable seating. The menu items were very creative and interesting, and the staff was knowledgeable in answering questions. One thing I really appreciated and that seems pretty rare these days was that several menu items offered two portion sizes, priced accordingly -- I ordered the grouper (Asian style with peanut sauce and cabbage -- really tasty) and got the smaller portion so I'd have room for dessert. I don't think I would take kids under 14 there or for that matter and I think it's better for a couple or small group than a large one. Our visit was off-season and a Tuesday night so there were a lot of empty tables, so service might not be as prompt when there is a larger crowd, but I would say that even in that case, the meal would be worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KEG0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely high end dining”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Clearly white table cloth status. Small menu done very well. Saw some of the modern techniques we'd only seen on The Food Channel (eg, dehydrated olive oil). Not cheap. Very good. Ask for Michael.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrapin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Terrapin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing