We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Va Beach”

Terrapin Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Terrapin Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street & Holly Road
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Va Beach”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I believe the chef came from Manhattan. New american cuisine. I have been here about 10 times and have never been dissappointed. Great for couples at a special occasion or some time away from the kids for an evening out. A short walk from the Hilton. Great wine list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DJuicebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    40
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and drink.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Loved this place and wish we lived closer. Some really creative items on the menu including the jalapeño margarita which was excellent to start. Fantastic service, nice wine list and from apps to entrees to dessert - just outstanding all around. Highly recommend this place is a must dine in VA Beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amaaaaazing in every way...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stumbled upon this lovely restaurant based on the recommendation from a bartender at the Hilton SkyBar...From the atmosphere to the delicious seafood and martinis made tableside, you will not be disappointed. My girlfriend and I had her birthday dinner here and enjoyed every sip and bite!!! I don't have much desire to return to VA beach, but I would make a day trip just to dine here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyandTinaCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top notch food and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The menu changes often but it is always great and supplemented by interesting specials. The food is very fresh and prepared in creative ways that always work well in combination and with the wonderful wine list. The service is excellent and I love that the servers have and will give opinions on the food and wine. Great special occasion place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best.restaurant.Ever”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Everything, the service is exceptional, the food always fantastic and fun. We go at least once a month, just because!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LARSSandbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrapin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Terrapin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing