We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, the gluttony and the glory!”

Captain George's Seafood VB
Ranked #18 of 1,420 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh, the gluttony and the glory!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Felt like Vegas. Line looks intimidating but moved fast. Very good service. Lacking in fried fish but whatever, there was so much stuff who could really complain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    416
    185
    80
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saegertown, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best crab legs ever”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family of three and our friends (total of 12 people) were at Captain George's on Sunday 8/18 for dinner. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our large group. The food was very good, (my favorite is the crab legs) even for people who are not big seafood eaters. We will be back next time we are in Va Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great selection of seafood and delightful desserts”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We traveled from Tennessee with our Garmin set on Captain George's in Virginia Beach, VA. We arrived right after they opened. I tried fried oysters, oyster's Rockefeller, fried sea scallops, she crab soup, clam chowder and lots of freshly steamed snow crabs. All were well done for a sea food buffet. The surprising thing at Captain George's was the array of tasty dessert. From cheesecake, cobblers and banana pudding to lemon cake, baklava and Beethoven cake. Of course they have a selection of salads, veggies and other fish. Well worth the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Mess with Success”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant had been a tremendous success and destination for our large family gatherings when we would visit Virginia Beach. Up until our most recent visit, I would have given this restaurant a 4 or 4.5 on the five point scale. Variety is great, food pretty flavorful and the wait staff top notch and personable.

The most recent visit we discovered that this establishment had made a decision to no longer offer their fried chicken as an option and have gone with a baked chicken option. The reason behind the change was that they apparently run out in the heavy summer vacation months and couldn't keep up with the demand. Not sure that is the real reason, but if you have the best fried chicken in the area at a seafood joint you must be doing something right!

If you are a manager of this establishment, would strongly suggest you bring back the fried chicken and keep it on the menu regardless of the time of year. Otherwise, I have no reason to return as I am not a huge seafood person. Please reconsider.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in VA Beach”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

They have the best selections, and the buffet is always kept full. The atmosphere is just nice and the waiters are great. I have been to this place close to ten times or more and have never been disappointed. I will be back the next time I visit VA Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood VB also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Seafood VB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing